Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 19th May 2011, 22:46   #46

Re: Tata Sumo four-wheel-drive

Originally Posted by kaustubh_vaze View Post
Can the Sumo 4X4 underpinnings be taken and fit directly on a 2WD NA Sierra? That way it becomes a good offroader, not the Sumo but the Sierra.
hi Kaustubh.

its not possible.
as the chassis is totally different, along with suspension geometry & engine position.

but just like the normal 650 is converted to cj340 by cutting pasting, you can use 4x4 sumo chassis & cut it short to suit SIERRA body. (BTW i am also thinking in the similar lines )

see this thread http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/4x4-te...4-project.html

rgds,
Nikhil
Old 20th May 2011, 12:37   #47

Thats actually a nice idea Jeepster!! Let me find out more about it!
Thanks for the idea!
Kaustubh
Old 20th May 2011, 23:31   #48

Originally Posted by jeepster View Post
they were available in 2000. (IMO)

i am thinking to buy the white sumo posted earlier. (post no. 35)
Nikhil,
Kuch hamarey liye bhi rakhogey bhai? Though Im sure the Sumo4x4 with you would be in good hands. Have you started the negotiations?
regards
salil

Last edited by khan_sultan : 22nd May 2011 at 18:14. Reason: fixed quotes for better readability
Old 21st May 2011, 12:19   #49

Originally Posted by scphanse View Post
Kuch hamarey liye bhi rakhogey bhai? Though Im sure the Sumo4x4 with you would be in good hands. Have you started the negotiations?
salil ji,

i have not started the negotiations but i will start ASAP , just waiting for a call from PUNE.

you see currently the prices for sumo are very low & in my area a sumo with 4x4 is next to scrap.
so i will buy this if i get it at my expected (low) price only.

rgds,
Nikhil

Last edited by jeepster : 21st May 2011 at 12:24.
Old 21st May 2011, 12:28   #50

salil ji,

i have not started the negotiations but i will start ASAP , just waiting for a call from PUNE.

you see currently the prices for sumo are very low & in my area a sumo with 4x4 is next to scrap.
so i will buy this if i get it at my expected (low) price only.

rgds,
Nikhil
Oh yes I know or think I know about the call from Pune...
regards
salil
Old 21st May 2011, 20:59   #51

Try this link in Tbhp itself for more.
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/4x4-ex...kh-manali.html
Old 21st May 2011, 21:09   #52

was avlbl till 2005

DirtyDan : I have been told that Tata does not sell new 4x4 Sumos to civilians
jeepster : they were available in 2000. (IMO)
Was available till 2005, on order. Victa GX 4x4. OTR price in Bangalore was approx 8L. TCIC engine, A/c, hard-top.

I should have gone for that .. but didnt.
Old 22nd May 2011, 11:51   #53

Re: was avlbl till 2005

Originally Posted by rajeev k View Post
Try this link in Tbhp itself for more.
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/4x4-ex...kh-manali.html

thanks for the link Rajeev.

Originally Posted by condor View Post
Was available till 2005, on order. Victa GX 4x4. OTR price in Bangalore was approx 8L. TCIC engine, A/c, hard-top.

I should have gone for that .. but didnt.

tata never promoted this product for general public.

i got to know about this variant trough Google. (i think in 2007~08 )

do you have any brochures or any detailed information about the sumo 4x4?

if you have it please share it here.

rgds,
Nikhil

Last edited by jeepster : 22nd May 2011 at 11:53.
Old 22nd May 2011, 12:13   #54

Re: was avlbl till 2005

tata never promoted this product for general public.
But then how many of us even looked towards a Sumo as a personal vehicle ? I know just a handful. The interest on part of many of even these people was posssibly an off-shoot of business requirements.

I dont think I have the brochure, but I may have the price chart. Will check it out.
Old 22nd May 2011, 17:39   #55

What kind of proposition Sumo grande will be if its offered with 4X4?
Old 26th May 2011, 22:06   #56

Nikhil,
Any updates on the Sumo 4x4?
regards
salil
Old 12th July 2011, 23:19   #57

Found this video on you tube:

4x4 TDi,
LHD
in 1999.

Old 13th July 2011, 15:15   #58

Thought the Victa was the first Sumo with the TDi engine.
Good to know that it came with the TDi engine as early as in 1999..Or was it specifically for the 4 wheel drive version?

Last edited by jeeva : 13th July 2011 at 15:45.
jeeva is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 13th July 2011, 15:42   #59

Originally Posted by jeeva View Post
Thought the Victa the first Sumo with the TDi engine?
Good to know that it came with the TDi engine as early as in 1999..Or was it specifically for the 4 wheel drive version?
Jeeva,
AFAIK, Sumo 4x4 always came with Safari's TCIC engine which was also used in Sierra Turbo.

Shubhendra Singh
Shubhendra is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th July 2011, 15:48   #60

Originally Posted by Shubhendra View Post
Jeeva,
AFAIK, Sumo 4x4 always came with Safari's TCIC engine which was also used in Sierra Turbo.
Thanks for clarifying Shubhendra. I too was under the impression that the 4x4 sumo came with the TCIC engines from the very beginning.
The above video says its a TDi engine though and its an LHD. Probably for the export markets?

Last edited by jeeva : 13th July 2011 at 15:49.
jeeva is online now   (1) Thanks