Old 8th December 2011, 16:42   #91
J.Ravi

Re: MapMyIndia Navigation - Review

Originally Posted by maheshramaling View Post
Oh. That's going to be difficult and I have to sit somewhere outside the building & map everything for good 2300+ kms
No. You don't have to. You have to stand in an open area until your navigator connects to the satellite and locks. Usually, this will be done within a few minutes. After that, you can come indoor and do the needful inside your home. Similarly, if you know the route, you don't have to store it in your navigator. For example: from Bangalore to Chennai, your navigator will guide you via Krishnagiri [NH 7/46/4] if you set it for the fastest mode. But, if you wish to go via Kolar and know the route, you do so ignoring the navigator's guidance, and it will change its route automatically and start guiding you via Kolar! Normally, I store such routes with which I am not conversant.

Last edited by J.Ravi : 8th December 2011 at 16:44.
  (1) Thanks
Old 26th December 2011, 22:51   #92

Just bought and downloaded the MapmyIndia for Andriod phones from their website(Cost Rs1990 ifyou are downloading and Rs 2400 if you want a CD shipped)

Installed it in my Samsing Galaxy SL without any issues. Got a phone car mount and a USB charger and I was all set. Unfortunately the app takes for ever to lock to satellites and frequently loses the locks. So most of the time I was staring at a 'waiting for a valid signal' screen. But when it did work, it worked great. I used it on a Bangalore-Calicut trip. Only time I get confused in this route is the way through Mysore city. During this time, the App worked perfectly. Looks like this is an issue due to the GPS receiver in the Samsung phone. Trying to find a solution...
Old 29th December 2011, 13:54   #93

Originally Posted by Rajeevraj View Post
Just bought and downloaded the MapmyIndia for Andriod phones from their website(Cost Rs1990 ifyou are downloading and Rs 2400 if you want a CD shipped)

Installed it in my Samsing Galaxy SL without any issues. Got a phone car mount and a USB charger and I was all set. Unfortunately the app takes for ever to lock to satellites and frequently loses the locks. So most of the time I was staring at a 'waiting for a valid signal' screen. But when it did work, it worked great. I used it on a Bangalore-Calicut trip. Only time I get confused in this route is the way through Mysore city. During this time, the App worked perfectly. Looks like this is an issue due to the GPS receiver in the Samsung phone. Trying to find a solution...
Congratulations on your new MMI App. It has been almost 6months now since I am using MMI and it has never let me down till now. Its giving me 98% accuracy which is quite good especially in a country like India.

Happy navigating!!
Old 29th December 2011, 14:38   #94

I tried using the MapMyIndia navigator to go from HiTech City to the Chilkur temple. At first, it led me down an unpaved road (which I'm okay with, as long as it gets me there... I'm running on Bridgestones so that gives me a little more confidence), then pointed me the wrong way at a T-junction. The latitude/longitude search doesn't work either so I have a hard time dragging the map to go to where I want it to so I can mark my destination.

Comparatively, the Ovi Maps supports latitude/longitude search. On the way to Chilkur, it did come close to pointing the way, but I didn't look at it while at the T-junction. However, the MapMyIndia GPS lock time is way better than Nokia's - MapMyIndia takes under 2 mins while Nokia takes upto 10 mins.
Old 31st December 2011, 22:05   #95

Last week over a drive of 1400 Kms i saw the MMI was missing some of the bypass and ring roads and only showed the moving arrow in the wilderness moving towards NH7. Checked online the version launched is 6.1 not sure how to check the version of MMI SD card that is inserted on my Caska? Anyone has any idea.

Other then this we got lost on NH7, not sure because of Caska or the road widening/repair work going on, we were on a different NH and then later merged back onto NH7 ~300Kms before reaching NGP. Will be able to check on my return leg.
Old 31st December 2011, 22:37   #96

I wish we get GPS makers like Garmin, TomTom in India. I used my OVI maps on my Nokia E5 to good use during my drive from chennai to sirkazhi which is slightly interior part of TamilNadu. The OVI maps application does work like a charm and it did a great job recalculating the route once you miss a particular road/exit. I do feel that there is a chance for OVI maps to improve the experience and come out with options like faster routes and map ring roads and fly overs. The GPS did not detect the ring roads. I guess this could be owing to the non updation of the latest roads/developments. What should also be added to the GPS is around tracking one way routes etc which definitely needs regular sync up with traffic department.
Old 1st January 2012, 07:18   #97

Originally Posted by Rajeevraj View Post
So most of the time I was staring at a 'waiting for a valid signal' screen.

Looks like this is an issue due to the GPS receiver in the Samsung phone. Trying to find a solution...
So how does the whole thing connect? Does it uses mobile network to connect? Will it work in areas where mobile connectivity or signal is non existent. On our drive through the NH7 we lost mobile connection/signal for about an hour (Not sure why). In this time the MMI/Caska GPS was able to connect and was able to show us the way.
Old 2nd January 2012, 13:34   #98

Originally Posted by mayankjha1806 View Post
So how does the whole thing connect? Does it uses mobile network to connect? Will it work in areas where mobile connectivity or signal is non existent. On our drive through the NH7 we lost mobile connection/signal for about an hour (Not sure why). In this time the MMI/Caska GPS was able to connect and was able to show us the way.
MMI for mobile also uses only the GPS in the phone. It does not use the mobile network in any way. Hence it will work even if there is no mobile network/signal. Other Map software (like Google Maps) also use the Mobile data connection in addition to the GPS. So it can eat up your Free Data quota. I think Nokia's OVI maps has an option to use only GPS.

I also re installed the app once more and now it is working fine. Locks the GPS signal in a few seconds.
Old 4th January 2012, 12:11   #99

New MapmyIndia Navigation system to be launched at Auto Expo

MapmyIndia has announced that it will be launching its next-gen in-dash navigation system at AutoExpo later this week. This new navigation system runs on Android and will feature Auro, company’s 3D navigation software with house-level search.

Source : MapmyIndia to launch Android powered in-dash navigation system at AutoExpo 2012 | AndroidOS.in
Old 6th January 2012, 19:57   #100

I recently bought a Vx140 MMI navigator and found out that it is not compatible with Mac OS! Even the digital user guide provided doesn't run on mac. I called up the customer support and they told me that it's not compatible(duh) and since the file is too big, they can't even e-mail me the manual!

Is there any way around it ? I only have a mac and need to find a PC even if i wanna add or remove a song from the device, which is ridiculous! Any help?
Old 19th January 2012, 00:09   #101

I just got a Witson Head Unit for my Polo 1.6. AFAIK, its running the same OS as a Caska unit.

Does anyone know which version of MapMyIndia I should be ordering? Does it need to be compatible with WinCE or Windows Mobile versions?

And is the Garmin version of MMI SD card compatible with Witson?
Old 24th January 2012, 10:10   #102

Originally Posted by sids911 View Post
I just got a Witson Head Unit for my Polo 1.6. AFAIK, its running the same OS as a Caska unit.

Does anyone know which version of MapMyIndia I should be ordering? Does it need to be compatible with WinCE or Windows Mobile versions?

And is the Garmin version of MMI SD card compatible with Witson?
A bit offline but where did you get the Witson unit in India or did you get it directly from witson shipped ?

Witson comes with wince and you should get the wince version on MMI , load it into sd card and insert it in the sd card slot for map.
Old 24th January 2012, 11:30   #103

Originally Posted by sixthsense View Post
A bit offline but where did you get the Witson unit in India or did you get it directly from witson shipped ?

Witson comes with wince and you should get the wince version on MMI , load it into sd card and insert it in the sd card slot for map.

I got the unit directly from Witson in China. Apparently no one in India sells it. Witson is reliable - they ship on time and DHL is impeccable with tracking and all.

I did ask for WinCE maps from MMI, and if you buy it from them it will cost INR 7000, which is a bit steep IMO. Funny thing is, my installer at Pune told me he could get me the same maps for INR 4500.

Now I am out of budget for buying anything for car now so put my map purchase on hold.
Old 12th March 2012, 12:12   #104

Yesterday, my daughter playing with the Caska and MMI unit pressed some buttons and it went into an exciting feature which i had not explored all this while.

It showed me all the trips that i had made, distances covered, speed graph, average speed, and host of other things. I am thinking how can i get this log/graph on my laptop.

Has anyone done something similar with MMI could help me figure this out?
Old 12th March 2012, 13:35   #105

I have been using MMI for the last couple of months. I am extremely unhappy with it:

1. It took me through a narrow one-way in Aluva, Kerala, and I almost got hit from other vehicles. I could not back off as the road was narrow and I was already into it for some distance. Please note that the maps are recent as I bought the gadget recently.

2. The user interface is bad. I find google maps good.

3.It does not give an option to select from multiple routes routes, unlike google maps.

4. Even if you ignore the MMI route and take a different route, the MMI route does not get updated with the new location. For e.g. While coming from Coorg to Bangalore, MMI wanted me to take the shortcut to Srirangapatanam. I chose to come via Mysore, even after getting into Mysore ring road it directed me to the road from Hunsur to Srirangapatanam. The same happened while going to Coorg when I wanted to come via Mysore city instead of Ring Road. It directed me to ring road from eventhough I chose to go inside the city.

5. The worst: no option to add via routes by searching. Adding via routes manually by pointing on the map is extremely difficult, considering the screen size. It is a breeze using google maps.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com