Old 28th March 2013, 13:14   #436

Re: Queries in 'Ask the gurus' section

Originally Posted by navin View Post
did the JBL shop see the faulty 7001?
The sales guy connected the amp to the existing setup and noticed the noise in the speakers. I showed him that there is no issue without the 7001 .So he said he will get me a new one but i am on work today and hence could not check up with him.
Old 30th March 2013, 14:46   #437

Got 11000/- Inr back after deduction of 600/- Inr for handling charges. The shop was unable to arrange a replacement.I am not sure when will i jump and decide to upgrade now .

Thnks for all the help.
Old 5th April 2013, 17:08   #438

Re: Queries in 'Ask the gurus' section for a Toyota Innova ICE plus Mods

Hello Gurus,

My friend is buying an Innova GX(Skipped the VX so that the remaining 2.5 Lakhs can be spent on the mods).Approached a well known shop and he suggested the following:

Pioneer 5590 BT DVD 7" --25000/-
Diamond Audio D6 6.5 " component Speaker --15000/-
Diamond Audio D3 6.5 " component Speaker --12000/-
Diamond Audio D300 4.4 channel Amp --16500/-
Diamond Audio D3 12" Subwoofer --9500/-
Diamond Audio D400.1 monoblock Amplifier --18500/-
Overall Wiring -- 6500/-
MDF RIngs X4+MDF Subwoofer Box --1900/-
All 4 Door Dampings -- 10000/-
reverse camera + Installation --2000/-
Toyota Harness + 2 din Install kit --750/-
Internal FLoor Ambient Lighting --1600/-
Bi-Xenon Projector Headlamp FXR4(with angel eyes plus HID) --25000/-
Art leather seat covers+gear Knobs+Steering + Gear Boot(in leather) --16700/-
Skoda Horn with relay and fitment -- 950/-
Side door beadings in Body Colour -- 1900/-
Imported Taiwan Door Visor -- 3200/-
Fog Lamps --3800/-
HID Kits for Fog Lamps ---7500/-
Side mirror indicator --2500/-
Map My India Blackbox for Pioneer(BX 200) --19000/-
Innova Skirting Body Kit + Spoiler --30000/-
Alloy Wheels(15" set of 5) -- 22000/-
Kagu 3d mats Innova --5000/-
Michellin Primacy LC 2256015 Tyres --48750/-
Chrome Nuts plus fittings plus balancing --1800/-
Exchange for the tyres -- bridgestone --25000/-
Goodyear --20000/-

Other than this, Boot space Light,Side judgement rod,Luggage Carrier

Please let me know if the audio system components are the best available.
We were thinking of going with focal speakers And Pioneer 8490BT.
How is 5590 compared to 8490.Also, Focal speakers compared to Diamond Speakers.
Old 5th April 2013, 18:55   #439

Originally Posted by InControl View Post
... Approached a well known shop and he suggested the following: ...
Looks like the charter given to the "well known shop" was "best equipment possible". The other stuff seems to be OK price/performance/benefit wise, but they seem to be making a killing on the audio stuff. There are far better sounding options available at half or less.

1. Tell him to look separately for a 2DIN touch-screen HU with built-in Navigation - will cost ~35K, instead of the Pio+MMI box at 45K. Kenwood, JVC etc.

2. Buy the speakers only after auditioning them. He will realize the Diamond Audio or Focal speakers are no better than JBL, Infinity or Morel etc. that cost 6K for 6.5" components

3. The damping quote for 4 doors is much higher than what 4+1 doors would cost (about 40% higher)

4. "Toyota Harness + 2 din Install kit" is either free or costs <200. He might need the fascia to adapt the HU, which is not accounted for

5. A JBL or Kenwood monobloc would cost slightly more than half that of the Diamond audio mono - and would give the same performance. Ditto for a JBL or Infinity or Polk sub. There is no problem with mixing and matching amps and subs - uni-brand is usually much costlier

6. No headrest monitors???

Get the audio done at someone who knows audio, not from a "well known shop". Check the Bangalore Installers directory on the forum.
DerAlte is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th April 2013, 20:32   #440

Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
Looks like the charter given to the "well known shop" was "best equipment possible". The other stuff seems to be OK price/performance/benefit wise, but they seem to be making a killing on the audio stuff. There are far better sounding

Get the audio done at someone who knows audio, not from a "well known shop". Check the Bangalore Installers directory on the forum.
Thank you very much for the response.
The navigation black box is optional so we may not go for it.
Headrests screens are definitely in contention.
Yes,you are right, we asked him for the best.

Now it seems we got a bit carried away. :-P
so would definitely research some more.
Can you please pass me a link to the bangalore installers.
Thank you once again.
Old 5th April 2013, 22:51   #441

Originally Posted by InControl View Post
... Can you please pass me a link to the bangalore installers. ...
Check here: http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/bangalore/
Old 7th April 2013, 15:07   #442

Just wanted to thank DerAlte for helping me tune my amp(a Focal Solid 4) perfectly, the sound stage is now completely in the front and almost on top of the dash! Another query I have is that in the bridged mode AFAIK the amp makes 200 watts rms, what I want to know is that what should be the appropriate power rating of the subwoofer for best results. Because I know for sure that a 400 watts rms sub wouldn't be able to perform with just a 200 watts rms input. Gurus please help!
599gto is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th April 2013, 19:55   #443

Originally Posted by 599gto View Post
... in the bridged mode AFAIK the amp makes 200 watts rms, what I want to know is that what should be the appropriate power rating of the subwoofer for best results. Because I know for sure that a 400 watts rms sub wouldn't be able to perform with just a 200 watts rms input ...
That is IMHO not the right way to look at it - it is not a numbers game.

If you want to make your subs go as loud as our dear old Bhai LBM Freedabadwale (Low_Bass_Makker) does, the method and design is different. If you want to enjoy bass in moderation (it can be quite loud even at this level), it is different.

Usual bass content in music pushes about 60-110W RMS from the amp into the sub for normal listening. The amp would be well within it's limits in supplying this level of power. Subs are passive elements - they don't demand power. The Amp will give it as much as required based on the music passage. The Sub rating is to do with it's self destructive limits, NOT with it's ability to be loud. From your example, the 400W rms sub is likely to go kaput after that - it will start sounding bad well before that.
Old 8th April 2013, 19:46   #444

Diamond Audio D6 6.5 " component Speaker --15000/-
Diamond Audio D3 6.5 " component Speaker --12000/-
Diamond Audio D300 4.4 channel Amp --16500/-
Diamond Audio D3 12" Subwoofer --9500/-
Diamond Audio D400.1 monoblock Amplifier --18500/-

OR

Ground Zero Radiotive -- 8500/- (480W) -- 2 sets
Amplifier 4 Channel Ground Zero 70 rms x 4 -- 7800/-
Monoblock Amp Ground Zero -- 13500/-
Subwoofer Ground Zero 12 inch 1400 watts -- 4200/-

Pioneer 5590 BT (25000/-) or Pioneer 8490 BT(26500/-)

Also, we would be definitely auditioning the speakers before plonking it in ...

Last edited by InControl : 8th April 2013 at 19:50.
Old 1st May 2013, 17:03   #445

Originally Posted by navin View Post
did the JBL shop see the faulty 7001?

I recently bought a Kappa 12inch Infinity woofer for friend.The Manual says in free air / infinite baffle install the power handling is only approx 50% .So in sealed box it will be 350Watts RMS and in free air it will reduce to only 175watts.

Going by this logic i think i figured why i am not blowing up the fuse with my 3501 inspite of wiring it in 1 ohm load profile with twin POLK MM1040DVC . Also i think any bigger amp will not do any good since power handling is not there. Also i am getting enough clean bass after i changed the bass to + 2 level from 0 in the settings and moved the Equalizer for low frequency to +8 from +4 before. Upto 50% of volume i get extremely clean audio and punch after which the punch starts sounding muddy due to woofer excursion .

thnks
Old 19th May 2013, 20:42   #446

I recently bought pioneer DEH -1590UB,it comes with two RCA output. I want to use both RCA out for twin amp & full range speakers. No sub woofer.Guide me to achieve this. Thanks for the help.
Old 19th May 2013, 23:35   #447

Originally Posted by narendra.vw View Post
I recently bought pioneer DEH -1590UB ...
1. Which car?

2. Do you have any speakers at all in the car or not yet?
Old 20th May 2013, 11:48   #448

I am looking for a simple HU which also has the ability to connect to my phone via Bluetooth to enable me to take calls. I have the first generation of the Swifts. I don't need a CD/DVD player in it but it should be able to accomodate a SD card or a USB drive to be able to play music from an external medium. Haven't come across anything simple (without a gaudy display) to meet my requirements. Any suggestions?
Old 21st May 2013, 22:23   #449

2. Do you have any speakers at all in the car or not yet

Sorry for late responce. I have four JBL round (s1, I think model no should be)speakers, 35w old OE two pioneer amps. I tried fixing these with two RCA output provided. Rear output acts like sub only base.
Old 22nd May 2013, 14:38   #450

Originally Posted by narendra.vw View Post
... Rear output acts like sub only base.
You have to access settings (please refer to the manual) and set SUB.W to OFF. This should bring back all the frequencies on the 'Rear' channel.

If one has a sub, the 'Rear' channels are used to drive it. For this, SUB.W setting should be set to NOR (Normal) or REV (reversed phase output to sub).

Last edited by DerAlte : 22nd May 2013 at 14:41.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com