Old 1st December 2012, 16:26   #376

Re: Queries in 'Ask the gurus' section

Originally Posted by 97_Octane View Post
...infinity kappa perfect 12.1 subwoofer... Is it good for sq? Does it give that 'precise' and controlled bass?
Absolutely. I have one and I find it the best in the ones that are available in India. I had to reduce the internal volume of the box a bit to get the best. And it can go pretty loud if one uses a good mono.
Old 1st December 2012, 20:42   #377

Need some advice.
My current setup in I20 has a 4 channel amp powering a Sub (bridged) & front Components.However the rears were totally overshadowed by the fronts.But I fine with this setup for 2 years.

Now Im getting a used 2 channel JVC Amp from a friend at a very cheap rate so plan to power the sub through this & the front & rears with the 4 channel amp.
Just want to shift the sound stage to more towards rear now.

Would it be okay?
Old 2nd December 2012, 22:26   #378

Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
Absolutely. I have one and I find it the best in the ones that are available in India. I had to reduce the internal volume of the box a bit to get the best. And it can go pretty loud if one uses a good mono.
Oh great! But the sad part is I was a couple of hours late and the sub was sold to some guy in a Fiesta

I sooo wanted that sub

Which is the best equivalent currently?
Old 3rd December 2012, 06:42   #379

Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
Absolutely. I have one and I find it the best in the ones that are available in India.
Is it really available in India?
Old 6th December 2012, 00:26   #380

Want some help from The Experts here.
I recently Bought a Ford Figo Exi.
Initially i got a JVC KW R400 HU fitted in it with Pioneer (G-Series TS-G624) speakers in all the 4 doors. The sound i got from the setup was bad.
So i went back to the Accessory guy for a change in speakers and replaced all the 4 Pioneer speakers with Kicker KS Series - KS60, I experienced a totally changed quality of sound. The sound is now much much better. But the problem i am facing is with the rear speakers. The quality of sound from the front speakers is really very good but from the rear ones is awful. I have tried doing all the settings in the HU but to no effect. What could be the possible reason for this? How can i eradicate this problem? Any further mods required?
Please guide.
Thanks in advance
Old 6th December 2012, 13:36   #381

My i10 has a very basic setup Sony HU + 4 speakers (all Co-axial). It used to sound fine for the last 4 months, but suddenly the sound on the left front speaker goes off when the left side Window is up. Also the rear speakers makes a Shrill sound, especially with more Bass. I think an upgrade is due.

The question is whether to change the HU and the speakers or retain the HU and add a Amp + Component speakers?
Old 6th December 2012, 14:15   #382

Originally Posted by shabash View Post
... suddenly the sound on the left front speaker goes off when the left side Window is up. Also the rear speakers makes a Shrill sound, especially with more Bass. ...
Shrill sound with more bass? Strange, one is not associated with the other - perhaps you can rephrase your observation?

Definitely something is wrong with the cable going to the speaker due to the window movement. Quite likely either the speaker cable is frayed or the connector is loose. Please get that checked first, instead of enduring it.

In your situation, perhaps the best would be putting in an external amp and good components in front. That would give you the most gain, till you feel the HU lacks features that you desire.
DerAlte is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th December 2012, 21:25   #383

a query regarding Alpine PDX v 90 for my linea

For people having trouble with their system:

1. Your car: Fiat Linea Emotion pk

2. Your current setup (Please mention details with model numbers if possible): Blaupunkt tha 555 PnP, focal components, RF coax, RF sub

3. Description of the problem: this is my second 555 gone bad in 2 yours, pretty much a life of one year. Now after all due diligence i am planing to put an Alpine PDX v-90 5 channel amp. Would i need a auto turn off/on Line out converter, as regular Line out converter would not switch off due to linea's HU ( i want to retain blue and me).

a. what are the other possibilities

b. what converter should i get if i need one at all

c. Alpine PDX has some different kind of input connections, would it have built in auto turn off feature? i read somewhere that speaker level input can help solve turning off problem
Old 9th December 2012, 11:41   #384

Hello gurus,

Need a moderate upgrade for my i10's ICE

Presently I have -

1. HU - Sony Xplod - CDX-GT505U/Q1IN ,
2. Rear Oval speakers - Rockford Fosgate Prime R-1693 (6' x 9' ) ; presently mounted on parcel tray.

The whole set up was done at a local accessory shop. Personally I think it is not worth the 12k I have spent. There is no bass. I tried fiddling with the set-up on the HU, but to no avail. It lacks the bass punch.

I listen to all kinds of music, but predominantly Tamil / Hindi film songs when wife is around and Rock (old gen.) when alone.

I would love to get a bass boost, but then I cannot afford to lose the little luggage space that I have.

Can I shift the ovals to my rear doors and install a sub on the parcel tray ? What money should I be prepared to shell out ?
Old 11th January 2013, 00:19   #385

Hey Gurus...
I got an Astar A/T for a test drive which had a USB port in it right next to the Hazard indicator switch.. it was a November manufactured car. Later on when i got my car the there was no port but the space for the port is simply covered with a cap. My car is October manufactured.. And the amazing thing is that NoNE of the guys in the showroom or Service area know about this.. Its almost as if it appeared there by MAGIC..
Is there an aftermarket cable which can be fixed to the back of the Inbuilt stereo system to connect a USB??
Whom can i contact in MSIL to get detains about this?
Also is it possible to have a double din HU fitted in ASTAR?
Ive also attached a pic which was taken from a site... Couldnt take the interior photo of the car they bought for testdrive but it looks exactly the same
Queries in 'Ask the gurus' section-marutiastar30011205jpg_031858.jpg  

Old 11th January 2013, 11:05   #386

Originally Posted by living_fossil View Post
... Is there an aftermarket cable which can be fixed to the back of the Inbuilt stereo system to connect a USB?? ...
Depends on whether the OE HU has a port that can be extended to the dash location. To know whether there is, or not, you need to take out the HU and read the sticker on top of the HU.

Doesn't matter if the showroom guys didn't know, just ask them to take the HU out (a simple task) so that you can read the sticker. If there is a provision in the HU, you would need an extender cable (plug on one side, socket on the other) that you can use to connect it to the dash location.

If the car came with the HU manual, you *just might* find details in that. Of course, the snafu is that the manual may be common for a group of HUs. To be sure, you have to check the HU model number anyhow by taking out the HU and reading the sticker.

No idea whether a 2DIN HU can be mounted in the place of the OE HU, unless you post a pic of the dash of *your* car.

Last edited by DerAlte : 11th January 2013 at 11:10.
DerAlte is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st February 2013, 09:56   #387

Can anybody guide me to set up the xover for illusion carbon nd6.1. The xovers have two sets of jumpers. one for the tweeter level control, and other for use of xover with standard/bi-amp option.

I have both the jumpers for wiring in the open position. The jumper for tweeters is in the 0dB position.

I am using a two channel amplifier for powering the speakers.
Queries in 'Ask the gurus' section-xoverrear.jpg

Queries in 'Ask the gurus' section-xoverinternal.jpg

Last edited by deepfusion : 1st February 2013 at 09:58.
Old 1st February 2013, 10:36   #388

Originally Posted by deepfusion View Post
I have both the jumpers for wiring in the open position. The jumper for tweeters is in the 0dB position.

I am using a two channel amplifier for powering the speakers.
Attachment 1045786

Attachment 1045787
for 0db J1 and J3 need to be closed but in your picture I see only J1 closed.

For biamp both jumperns on the left need to be open. But then you need a 4 channel amp to drive the speakers. If you are using a 2 channel amp then leave the jumpers where they are.

BTW I would try -2db position for the tweeters (closing J1 and J2).
navin is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 1st February 2013, 10:49   #389

Originally Posted by navin View Post
for 0db J1 and J3 need to be closed but in your picture I see only J1 closed.

For biamp both jumperns on the left need to be open. But then you need a 4 channel amp to drive the speakers. If you are using a 2 channel amp then leave the jumpers where they are.

BTW I would try -2db position for the tweeters (closing J1 and J2).
Navin, the xovers are presently jumped at 0dB, i.e. the middle, or J2 jumper is connected.

But for the wiring, both connections are open. No jumper is there. The pics are slightly misleading to that end.

xover-internal.pdf

Last edited by deepfusion : 1st February 2013 at 10:59.
Old 1st February 2013, 12:08   #390

Originally Posted by deepfusion View Post
Navin, the xovers are presently jumped at 0dB, i.e. the middle, or J2 jumper is connected.

But for the wiring, both connections are open. No jumper is there. The pics are slightly misleading to that end.

Attachment 1045801
I believe (from memory alone) that both jumpers open are used when biamping and both are closed when using a single 2 channel amplifier.

I would PM Bass and Trouble (Ajay kamath) as he has some knowledge here.
navin is online now   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com