Old 18th December 2007, 18:32   #196

Navin ji, is the box good after the correction i made?
Old 19th December 2007, 09:56   #197

Originally Posted by amit_sound View Post
Navin ji, is the box good after the correction i made?
yes but I'd suggest adding some bracing.
Old 19th December 2007, 11:04   #198

bracing? Sorry, i did not get it..
Old 19th December 2007, 11:11   #199

bracing? Sorry, i did not get it..
Lol.

He means you'll need to fix your teeth once they get crooked from the bass.
Old 19th December 2007, 11:25   #200

Originally Posted by Bass&Trouble View Post
Lol.

arey, the box neeeds to be braced. I woudl suggest bracing the longer panels so that they dont flex as much.
Old 19th December 2007, 14:46   #201

Originally Posted by Bass&Trouble View Post
Lol.
Paisa vasool if this happens
Old 19th December 2007, 14:51   #202

amit, if this happens I would not worry about your dental health as I would of your mental health. exposure to loud noises for extended periods is very dangerous.
Old 19th December 2007, 14:57   #203

You're nuts, seriously. I'm rolling on the floor laughing. But I understand what you mean.

But do consider what Navin said above. I'm beginning to think those two GT15s have taken their toll on you already.
Old 19th December 2007, 15:56   #204

Originally Posted by navin View Post
exposure to loud noises for extended periods is very dangerous.
Got this sheet with 3512 woofers. Read the last lines....Sorry the image is not very clear.

Dont know how i forgot to upload the image earlier!!
Old 19th December 2007, 16:02   #205

Really, pair of GT4-15 on a 601.1 is really a killer. It had awesome bass.....and very very good value for money. Gives a good bang for buck.

Originally Posted by hydrashok View Post
I'm beginning to think those two GT15s have taken their toll on you already.
Yes, but not permanently. Play them loud, and till 10 mins after the drive...you still have the tuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu..... sound in your head.

Hope Didi kuch aacha kare..
Old 21st December 2007, 09:42   #206

Hi Amit
When is install gonna start , would love to see the install

Chao
Old 21st December 2007, 16:36   #207

Ok guys, i have received mail from DD tech team about the spooky spider thing. Here it goes.

"The suspension of DD woofers was developed over the past 20 years, with a large influence from our experience building proaudio studio monitors and reinforcement speakers. These speakers are tools for professionals to do their business and they often use their equipment 12+ hours per day. We learned how to build suspensions that lasted longer, maintained sound quality for the long term.

One of the main components of the suspension is the spider system. We use mutliple layers of cloth, with lighter resins impregnated. After the resins break down, the suspension has to rely on the cloth. Most speakers use single layer heavy cloth with heavy resin, when the resin breaks down, the suspension keeps loosening with loss of control and sound quality.

Our suspension system can only be done by hand assembly, so it isn't comparable to mass produced methods. These machines can only place glues in certain ways, so single spiders or double spiders with spacer rings are used, its fast.

The 3500 speakers actually have 6 layers, but we don't count it this way, we are engineering for a specific stiffness after break in."

Hope it clarifies things..
Old 21st December 2007, 16:51   #208

So it means that it has a single spider but with 4-5 layers in it.
Old 22nd December 2007, 00:45   #209
JPL

Gurus what do you think of the response from DD, sounds reasonable to me!
but then why charge extra for them rather then make it standard on their high end series?

And the response does not mention about multiple spiders, just multiple layers of cloth !
Old 22nd December 2007, 11:10   #210

Firstly I must say, for a couple of woofers and an amp thats fabulous technical support. Especially for someone who's pestering them during season time and just before the holidays.

Hope it clarifies things..
I was asking from the point of view that why would you want to add one more spider? How was another part since I didnt see where the additional spiders go since there isn't enough room there. This is clarified by their explanation (seems like they would've made a custom spider for you!). But by adding a spider you would've had very different specs from the production 3512. I thought that it must be perhaps another variant with higher Fs and lower Vas that they offer on request to suit some special application.