Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 1st February 2011, 14:45   #4381
BHPian

re: The TV Thread - LCD, Plasma, LED etc.

Guys, I need a 32" LCD fast, and cheap.
I think the cheapest non-grey market option might be the Sony BX300 after bargaining, say Rs 25000 (estimation). Do you think I'll be able to get one for cheaper? About cheaper models from Panasonic, Philips Toshiba etc., how reliable are they? Which one is the most reliable with the longest warranty.

The thing is, my parents will be buying a Bigger TV after probably an year, but I need a decent, at least 32" LCD for now. As I'm a student and don't earn, I'm also contemplating -
1) Buying old stock. Could someone please tell me where I could get old stock/models?
2) Buying used. How much would it cost and where could I get one?
Old 1st February 2011, 15:20   #4382
Senior - BHPian

raihan: EEEEEWWW.. I paid 10K more @?!$%#. Now you are making me jealous. Had NOT read your earlier posts so didn't knew that you had already bought the LCD.
I also got Airtel digital tv with HD channels FREE for 3 months with it. This scheme was included for the upcoming WORLD CUP & our own IPL.
Though I have dishtv from last 4 years, but will now get chance to compare the services. Then will keep the better one of both.
But seems you still got a SWEETER deal than me. 10K saved is 10K earned.

scooby05: The new generation LCD do not have limted viewing nagle. Atleast not the ones I checked at various showrooms. Plasma lacks in backlight & thus the darker pictures become little too dark. You have to adjust higher rate of contrast & colors for clearer picture. LED's are way too "THIN" (& expensive as yet) but IMHO do not offer anything much better than LCD's except their Kareena Kapoor type, size ZERO.
If I'm not wrong then LED's dont come any siz above 40" & that can also set you back by 80K.