Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software

Old 17th July 2024, 19:39   #3856

Re: The Home Theater thread

Originally Posted by Bass&Trouble View Post
The Denon DHT316 is a great bar and fits all your needs.
To be honest, I have not come across or heard of this brand till now. Thank you for sharing this option. Seems like it is a bit over the budget I am willing to spend as a first time audio system purchase, but maybe I should see if I can get a demo somewhere before deciding.

Originally Posted by Sebring View Post
There is the BOSE TV Bar, and it is amazing. Overseas it costs me just 5K, but in India it was 10K.
Thank you. BOSE products are good. But it looks like the one we are talking about costs Rs.34,400. I might spend this once I get a feel for some lower end versions for a while.

Originally Posted by keroo1099 View Post
A complete dark horse is the Honeywell Trueno U2000.
Thanks for sharing this option. It close to 20K and is not immediately available in Chennai from the quick check I did. I will keep an eye out for this.
Old 17th July 2024, 19:53   #3857

Originally Posted by asmr View Post

Thanks for sharing this option. It close to 20K and is not immediately available in Chennai from the quick check I did. I will keep an eye out for this.
It's 6k on Flipkart. Check if Croma or Reliance Digital has them on display for a demo.
keroo1099 is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 17th July 2024, 20:27   #3858

Not at all. Those are sound bars. This is called TV bar. Mine is smaller than this new model and is called SOLO https://www.walmart.com/ip/Bose-Solo...aker/150424484
Originally Posted by asmr View Post
Thank you. BOSE products are good. But it looks like the one we are talking about costs Rs.34,400. I might spend this once I get a feel for some lower end versions for a while.

Last edited by Sebring : 17th July 2024 at 20:31.
Sebring is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th July 2024, 22:06   #3859

Originally Posted by keroo1099 View Post
It's 6k on Flipkart. Check if Croma or Reliance Digital has them on display for a demo.
Yes, I did check the Flipkart thing. A steep discount but delivery to my pincode is only July 29th or so. Hence I mentioned that it is not available immediately. I visited both the 2 stores earlier this week itself but they didn't have any Honeywell products. I got a demo of a few Croma's own products, one or two from JBL, Sony, a Samsung one if I remember correctly and a discontinued LG one too.

Originally Posted by Sebring View Post
Not at all. Those are sound bars. This is called TV bar. Mine is smaller than this new model and is called SOLO https://www.walmart.com/ip/Bose-Solo...aker/150424484
Got it. This is shown as currently unavailable on Amazon or Flipkart, priced at INR 22K. Bose's India website mentions it was sold from 2016 to 2022. So it may be a discontinued model here?
asmr is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th July 2024, 23:05   #3860

I am also in a similar boat and planning to get a soundbar under 15k INR. I got a demo of LG, Samsung and JBL soundbars with wireless subwoofer at a store and I found JBL to be better between them for my liking.

I am planning to get the JBL SB 270/271 which is available online at Rs. 12999 with some discount available on card.
xenon0025 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th August 2024, 10:25   #3861

Originally Posted by praful View Post
Folks any known places in Mumbai for one stops home theatre needs? Something in or at least closer to South Mumbai?

Looking to setup am entry level setup for my folks place.
Hello Everyone, back on this thread after a bit of a gap, not for which system to get but rather how best to put up the existing system for sale.

Had picked up a Denon AVR 1312 (basic I know!) complete with a 5.1 speaker setup from Denon as well.

Its now been lying unused for a while as my folks no longer are able to use it.

I dont think I'd get the right kind of audience for it on Olx/Quickr type websites. Any ideas how to sell this setup appropriately?

Will be replacing this setup with an ultra simple BT soundbar as I need to simplify things for them.
Old 8th August 2024, 10:53   #3862

Originally Posted by praful View Post
Hello Everyone, back on this thread after a bit of a gap, not for which system to get but rather how best to put up the existing system for sale.

I dont think I'd get the right kind of audience for it on Olx/Quickr type websites. Any ideas how to sell this setup appropriately?
Hifivision- Forum for Hi-Fi enthusiasts.

https://www.hifivision.com/forums/classifieds.77/
Old 8th August 2024, 19:00   #3863

Originally Posted by Roomy View Post
Hifivision- Forum for Hi-Fi enthusiasts.

https://www.hifivision.com/forums/classifieds.77/
You need minimum 90 posts on the forum before you can place a classified.
Old 8th August 2024, 22:41   #3864

I am sharing out of interest and may be it helps some new entrant into home theatre soundbar system.

It was during the Nov-Dec'2023, with lot of holidays at work and great amount of stress free evenings I harbored the idea of an home theater audio setup at home. I visited the general stores like Reliance Digital, Bajaj Electronics, Vijay all selling the same standard stuff except the Reliance showcasing Denon, Onkyo and few others.

It was enough for me ending up with more choices across the brands+budget+5.1's/7.1's or more.

On a normal evening while driving past the Bajaj electronics store in madhapur area, Hyderabad I spotted a classy chic style electronics store called "Audio & Beyond". The public hall display with huge screens and multiple sound systems caught my quick attention. As I entered the showroom, I noticed the minimalist setup with selected equipment.

I started a conversation with the enthusiastic sales person and soon enough I realize the equipment they sell are beyond rs.1lakh and above. I quickly ignore the budget and ask the sales person to start with demo session of the equipment like Devialet, Sony, Sonos, some US based soundbar brand, Ambeo, Sennheiser and few more. Most of these equipment had one or two Sub for the effect.

But, when it came to Devialet Phantom II - there was no separate Sub system.
The speakers had everything packaged into just one system. It looked to me like a rich people art collection. Once the person started demo of this system - I was blown away and felt like I had experience an astral projection of my soul and I went to appreciate how smooth and crisp they sounded with any vibration in their stand.

The person allowed me to play a soundtrack of my liking to test the system, so I took the chance right away and started with "The Beast from the movie Sicario" and "Dream On by Aerosmith" at higher volume. The Phantom II speaker did not even loose a beat. When I tested the same on a Sonos Arc without a Sub the system struggled as the tempo was going higher.

And then I also tried procuring the Nakamichi Shockwafe 9.1.2(2023) model from US as the Dragon soundbar was and is too much $. Now, I dont remember why I had abandoned the plans for the Shockwafe system, but I used spend hours how it would sound in a normal living room.
Kams_cars is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th August 2024, 14:52   #3865

Was at Palladium Ahmedabad last weekend and casually dropped by the JBL store to see their setups. They have a demo room too.

The Home Theater thread-img_9786.jpeg

I demo’d the JBL Bar 500 soundbar and was surprised at the way it emulated 5 channels without the need for satellite speaker behind the viewer. I didn’t quite realise soundbars have become this good!

Played a few clips from movies and music through Spotify (iPad) and I was very impressed with the way the massive 10” sub handled the lows without being overpowered or the output cracking at ~70% volume. Music sounded good too although with a proper input it will be a lot better.

Now I am thinking of selling off my NAD + PSB stereo setup and switching to the JBL. Don’t listen to music much on the setup these days as serials and movies have taken a preference.
Gannu_1 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 17:18   #3866

My 8 year old Denon AVR gave up on me recently and since I now live in Mumbai, with really tiny rooms, I thought its time to move to Soundbar with wireless surrounds. Just don't have the energy ( or the space) to do a wired setup anymore!

So went ahead and bought the Samsung Q990D after demos of JBL BAR, Sony A7000 etc. Samsung sounded the most complete soundbar with all the bells and whistles and massive surround speakers that are bigger than some center channels I've seen . Pretty satisfied with the purchase, if anything, its too powerful and loud for the tiny Mumbai homes and rooms! I usually keep the volume at 25-28 and its loud enough for my wife to keep coaxing me to lower the volume! Clear Atmos effect with very rich soundstage. Its probably the closest you can get to a wired setup with a soundbar!

Familyguy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 19:08   #3867

Originally Posted by Gannu_1 View Post
I demo’d the JBL Bar 500 soundbar and was surprised at the way it emulated 5 channels without the need for satellite speaker behind the viewer. I didn’t quite realise soundbars have become this good!

Now I am thinking of selling off my NAD + PSB stereo setup and switching to the JBL. Don’t listen to music much on the setup these days as serials and movies have taken a preference.
I own the JBL Bar 9.1 ( Now discontinued) which replaced my Pioneer home theater. The Atmos effect is surreal and the detachable surround wireless speakers are small yet powerful. The subwoofer is very powerful , I keep the sub at 30% volume because anything above that makes my neighbour bounce from his sofa

The new range of JBL bars now have app bases support for finer tuning which I miss at times. But soundbars have come a long way
Gotham is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th August 2024, 18:40   #3868

Not exactly a home theater query but this thread seemed the most apt.
Request mods to kindly move the post to the appropriate thread if required.

So finally moved up from a sound bar to what I consider is a pretty decent stereo system meant only for music that was handed down to me by my wife's uncle who has been a audiophile for the longest time.

It's a pretty simple system consisting of a pair of beovox 8402 powered by a jvc rk200 receiver.
The speakers are nearly 50 and the amp is a relatively modest 45. No thats not the RMS power but rather the age, yup 50 and 45 years old respectively.
Right now it's connected to my tv as the source with rca cables.
The tv is connected to a Chromecast and I stream music wirelessly from my phone.

Listening experience wise this is amongst the most detailed set of speakers that I have ever heard. The tonal balance, the sound stage are all superlative as far as I am concerned.
Surprisingly the lower frequencies are also very deep and I feel no need for a subwoofer. This is astonishing since the lower frequencies seem to be handled by a very modest pair of 6" drivers.
From my online research these speakers seem to be rated at 60 watts at 4ohms ( surprising for home speakers) and the amp is rated at 40 watts per channel at 8-16 ohms.

Now finally here is what I need help with.

1. Is it ok to continue pairing these speakers with the amp considering the amp is rated at 8 ohms and speakers at 4 ohms. I have listened to the speakers multiple times for over 3-4 hours and while the amp does get warm it's not really untouchably hot. By the way this wasn't the amp that was running these speakers with the original user and no I will not be able to get that. Beleive me I tried. It was a McIntosh by the way.

2. How do I make this a standalone unit capable of wireless audio streaming now that the Chromecast audio is not available. Those of you trying to order it from reliance digital I would recommend against it. I ordered it 3 times and each time my order was cancelled.
From my research I could understand the following ways to go about it.

Option 1:
Pick up a hdmi audio extractor available on Amazon for rs 750-1000. I can use my existing Chromecast in this scenario.

Positives
Cheap and simple.

Negatives
Most likely loss of audio quality owing to the obviously cheap internals of the extractor.

Option 2:
Buy a smart speaker such as the Amazon echo which has a 3.5mm audio out

Positives
Slightly more expensive but still simple. If anything even simpler than option 1 since there is only one device connected directly to the amp.

Negatives
I have never had a great experience with rca to 3.5mm cables. I still have a high end moster audio cable and you can notice a slight drop in the overall audio quality. While it's not as bad as the cheap cables but there is still an overall loss of quality compared to an rca to rca conection in my opinion unless this has changed in the past 20 years. ( That's how old the moster audio cable is)

Option 3.
Pick up a xiim media streamer or a small cheap decent brand tv(will be used as a middle man between chrome cast and amp basically a replacement for the audio extractor)

Positives
Both alternatives will most likely sound better than option 1 or option 2.

Cons
Pricey. The media streamer is around 10k online and the tv would also be in a similar price range I am assuming. That is if I find a tv which still has an rca audio out.

Will post pictures of the whole system once I am back in town as I am currently traveling.
By the way I also have to pick up a turn table that I have been told that I can have along with a few 70s and 80s rock vinyls as well which I am excited about to say the least.

Sorry for the long post.

Last edited by cooldude1988765 : 17th August 2024 at 18:45.
Old 19th August 2024, 10:45   #3869

I need some help from you guys.:

I have an old Samsung LED TV and Sony Blue Ray Disc/DVD Home Theatre System (5.1).

My previous connection was Tata Play. TV and Tata Play STB was connected using an HDMI cable and STB and the Home theatre (DVD) was connected direct using RCA cables, and it was working fine.

Sometime back I have installed Jio Airfiber connection, and unfortunately the Jio STB does not have an RCA out port hence I had to connect the TV and DVD using an Optical cable. With this connection, I can hear sound from Home theatre front left and right speakers and the subwoofer, i.e. 2.1 channels).

Samsung manual says, if we want to hear sound from all 6 speakers i.e. 5.1 channel audio, connect the Digital Audio out (optical) jack on the DVD/ satellite box (i.e. Anynet device 1 or 2) directly to the amplifier or Home theatre, not the TV.

My confusion is that I have only a DVD with 5.1 speaker system and as such where is the amplifier or anynet as Samsung says.?

Any other alternative set up to get sounds from all the speakers instead of getting sound from 3 speakers now?
Old 19th August 2024, 16:36   #3870

Originally Posted by nairrk View Post
My confusion is that I have only a DVD with 5.1 speaker system and as such where is the amplifier or anynet as Samsung says.?

Any other alternative set up to get sounds from all the speakers instead of getting sound from 3 speakers now?
You will need a hdmi audio extractor.
There are various options available on Amazon starting from Rs750 or less I am also looking at a reliable one albeit for different reasons.
If you do go this route please let me know which one you finalised and if you were happy with the quality.

Here is a link to one.
cooldude1988765 is offline   (1) Thanks