Old 29th December 2014, 10:10   #76

re: Hyundai ix25 Compact SUV caught testing in India. EDIT: Named the Creta

As per following article in ET, Hyundai is expected to launch i20 crossover and compact SUV in the second half of 2015.

It says "Hyundai has put in Rs 1,000 crore to develop the compact SUV, which is based on the ix25 SUV platform and is codenamed GS. The SUV will be built with 90% components sourced locally, which should help keep cost and price low. It will be pitted against the Ford EcoSport and Renault Duster."

Chinese version of ix25 is 4,270mm long so maybe for India we will get to see a sub-4 meter ix25 thereby making price competitive.

http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/...w/45671898.cms
Old 29th December 2014, 11:22   #77

Hello to all

Does someone has any information or idea that what would be launched first:-
i20 cross OR ix25.

And when do we expect the launch to happen.
Old 29th December 2014, 12:25   #78

Originally Posted by damager21 View Post
As per following article in ET, Hyundai is expected to launch i20 crossover and compact SUV in the second half of 2015.

It says "Hyundai has put in Rs 1,000 crore to develop the compact SUV, which is based on the ix25 SUV platform and is codenamed GS. The SUV will be built with 90% components sourced locally, which should help keep cost and price low. It will be pitted against the Ford EcoSport and Renault Duster."

Chinese version of ix25 is 4,270mm long so maybe for India we will get to see a sub-4 meter ix25 thereby making price competitive.

http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/...w/45671898.cms
I hope this news is not correct, that to at a time when we are expecting i20 pseudo cross launch 2015 Jan end (though speculation). IMHO Hyundai does not need that long time (2015 second half mean at least six months from now) for cosmetic upgrade of Elite i20.

Very difficult to digest that SUV based on ix25 is going to be sub 4m. Hyundai, please do not spoil the good looking ix25

Originally Posted by FidoDido View Post
Hello to all

i20 cross OR ix25.

Elite i20 pseudo cross over will launch first and I still feel 2015 Jan end is possible
Old 29th December 2014, 12:49   #79

Originally Posted by ampere View Post
To a certain extent, I also think Hyundai is capable of undercutting the Duster and Terrano very nicely. And at the same time, they are equally capable of providing a good quality product. From that point of view, yes, they are very capable of getting some brilliant pricing. With that as a backdrop I am expecting the top end diesel to land bang in the top end Verna/City segment. (11-13 OTR as you initially said). Hyundai wont mind it eating into the Verna sales, if it also eats into the City market as well. If they can do that, then as you claim they price their MPV in the Innova range (or a bit lower as well! 15-18 )

I think that is the "shocking" part of what Hyundai's claim is in their press release. Because then that would force Duster/Terrano to come down.
Indeed.

And they will have THREE more volume players in the sub-20 lakh segments - the "Elite" i20 Cross, the ix25, and the coming-soon MPV (dare I say the Innova "killer"?):

The i20 Cross in the 6L to 9L range,
The ix25 in the 7.5L to 14L range,
The MPV in the 10L to 16L range.

(all estimated prices, ex-showroom Delhi)

Originally Posted by damager21 View Post
Originally Posted by hillsnrains View Post
Very difficult to digest that SUV based on ix25 is going to be sub 4m. Hyundai, please do not spoil the good looking ix25
I doubt it. I am confident we will see the FULL 4.2m ix25 in India, that too with competitive pricing.

Consider this:

Renault Duster = 4315mm x 1822mm x 1695mm (1598 cc petrol, 1461 cc diesel)
Starting Price (petrol) = 7.86L (ex-showroom, Delhi)
Starting Price (diesel) = 8.70L (ex-showroom, Delhi)
Highest-priced AWD variant = 13L (ex-showroom, Delhi)

Hyundai ix25 = 4270mm x 1780mm x 1630mm

Engines = Most probably the same as the Verna (1.6L petrol & 1.6L diesel)

And this spyshot of the ix25 being tested against the Duster & the EcoSport should clear all remaining doubts about who the ix25 would be going up against:

Hyundai ix25 Compact SUV caught testing in India. EDIT: Named the Creta-hyundaiix25spyshotindiawithecosportandduster720x495.jpg

Source - MotorBeam

You can have a good guess about the expected pricing now. If you ask me, it should be in the range of 7.5L to 14L, ex-showroom Delhi. (if with an AWD option)

Originally Posted by FidoDido View Post
i20 cross OR ix25.

The i20 Cross will be coming first (within the first quarter of 2015).

According to my sources, the ix25 won't be hitting showrooms before the second quarter of 2015 (July-Aug 2015 launch is being targetted right now).

Adding some more info, the Hyundai ix25 is codenamed as the "GS", as per ET sources, and is being developed at a cost of 1,000 Crores.

Hyundai has put in Rs 1,000 crore to develop the compact SUV, which is based on the ix25 SUV platform and is codenamed GS. The SUV will be built with 90% components sourced locally, which should help keep cost and price low. It will be pitted against the Ford EcoSport and Renault Duster.

The company has also decided to develop a crossover, either on the Verna or Elite i20 platform, with an investment of Rs 500 crore for India, the person said. That vehicle is also slated for launch in the second half of 2015. It will be followed by a multi-purpose vehicle in 2016, which will likely compete with the Maruti Ertiga, Toyota Innova and Honda Mobilio.
SOURCE - ET

Last edited by RavenAvi : 29th December 2014 at 13:02.
RavenAvi is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 29th December 2014, 12:58   #80

I believe the sub 4 m Urban SUV's will stop pulling in he numbers as the novelty wears off. The Ecosport is a case in point. This vehicle is ok till a price point of 7.5- 8 Lakhs but when you are talking about 12-14 lakhs , you need a bigger vehicle than an oversize hatchback.
Old 2nd January 2015, 12:45   #81

Originally Posted by rajneeesh View Post
I believe the sub 4 m Urban SUV's will stop pulling in he numbers as the novelty wears off. The Ecosport is a case in point. This vehicle is ok till a price point of 7.5- 8 Lakhs but when you are talking about 12-14 lakhs , you need a bigger vehicle than an oversize hatchback.
Look at your options in "12-14" lakhs. You get C-2 segments sedans, a few Tata/Mahindra UVs and that's about it. For someone looking a good vehicle in "12-14" lakhs price bracket, either has to going a level up and consider Jetta/Octavia etc or go a level below, looking at City/Verna etc. If neither make sense, in comes a city focused UV, that can do that on-and-off weekend trip, loaded with gadgets, a bit of premiumness and low ASS problems, there's be takers for that vehicle. Hyundai is best positioned to cash in on that !
Old 2nd January 2015, 14:31   #82

Mod Note : There are several spelling & grammatical errors in your posts. This negatively affects the forum experience for other readers.

Kindly ensure that you proof-read your posts prior to submission. Also, it would be a good idea to use spell-checkers.

Last edited by GTO : 12th January 2015 at 14:39.
rajneeesh is offline   Received Infraction
Old 5th January 2015, 11:33   #83

Hyundai IX25 scores 5/5 in C-NCAP test. Related news article
http://indianautosblog.com/2015/01/h...d-china-163376

Hope they do not do any structural modifications or compromise on safety features when introducing in India.
Simhi is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th January 2015, 18:22   #84

Chinese site Auto 163 has posted a huge gallery of over 100 hi-res pics of the ix25.

Hyundai ix25 Compact SUV caught testing in India. EDIT: Named the Creta-a6vso4ct5gvt0008.jpg

Hyundai ix25 Compact SUV caught testing in India. EDIT: Named the Creta-a6vso5665gvt0008.jpg

Hyundai ix25 Compact SUV caught testing in India. EDIT: Named the Creta-a6vso5qq5gvt0008.jpg

Hyundai ix25 Compact SUV caught testing in India. EDIT: Named the Creta-a6vso9s95gvt0008.jpg

Hyundai ix25 Compact SUV caught testing in India. EDIT: Named the Creta-a6vso8oi5gvt0008.jpg

Hyundai ix25 Compact SUV caught testing in India. EDIT: Named the Creta-a6vsnff45gvt0008.jpg

Hyundai ix25 Compact SUV caught testing in India. EDIT: Named the Creta-a6vsnfgj5gvt0008.jpg

Hyundai ix25 Compact SUV caught testing in India. EDIT: Named the Creta-a6vsnn2m5gvt0008.jpg

Hyundai ix25 Compact SUV caught testing in India. EDIT: Named the Creta-a6vsnnbh5gvt0008.jpg

Hyundai ix25 Compact SUV caught testing in India. EDIT: Named the Creta-a6vsnntp5gvt0008.jpg

SOURCE (and complete gallery) - Auto 163

Enjoy!
RavenAvi is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 5th January 2015, 18:52   #85

Front = ugly (mix of Honda+VW)
Rear = elite i20
side profile = swift+evoque

Looks like nice package overall. If they can sell i20/elitei20 why not this one? whatever price it will sell well.
Latheesh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th January 2015, 19:54   #86

One department that I've always seen Hyundai excel is safety. Same is the case with the ix25. It got a full 5 star rating from Euro NCAP which is praiseworthy.

Unlike we've seen for other manufacturers, only Hyundai's i10 had been tested for the Indian NCAP. So, I am not sure if Hyundai essentially retains the same structural strength of its international variants, or indulges in petty activities that include reducing structural integrity in order to reduce weight. Cars like the Elantra, Verna and i20 have also done excellently in crash tests worldwide..
prakhar1998 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th January 2015, 09:02   #87

Originally Posted by RavenAvi View Post
Chinese site Auto 163 has posted a huge gallery of over 100 hi-res pics of the ix25.
Enjoy!
Thanks a lot for the pics. IMO ix25 is really a beast and looks awesome in this colour especially. Good to know about 5/5 C-NCAP ratings and stage is well set for Hyundai to conquer compact SUV market. Hope Hyundai does not compromise on safety in India model as well and follow the footsteps of VW and Toyota by putting Airbags in all their variants.
Hyundai just put right price tag to ix25 (as you said will surprise the market with pricing), you are set to rule this segment by toppling Duster.

Last edited by hillsnrains : 6th January 2015 at 09:05. Reason: minor typo
Old 6th January 2015, 09:19   #88

So it would be getting cruise control as well. The feature list and interiors should blow everything else away, specially the Renault-Nissan.

Which Diesel engine would be used in the ix25? I hope it's the 1.6 from the Verna and not the 1.4 from the i20.
Old 6th January 2015, 11:28   #89

It looks like space is premium from the pictures. The trunk seems okay, need to see when rear seats folded though.
I don't see reverse parking sensors? Is it only me.
Old 6th January 2015, 12:47   #90

The highly awaited Hyundai ix25 has been crash tested in China. Tested under C-NCAP (China New Car Assessment Program), the compact SUV scored a 5/5 safety rating. The car's ranking was ascertained after putting it though 4 tests. Namely, the 100 percent overlap frontal impact test, 40 percent overlap frontal impact test, side impact test and whiplash test.

Link to Team-BHP news article

Hyundai ix25 Compact SUV caught testing in India. EDIT: Named the Creta-24152404jl4o.jpg

Hyundai ix25 Compact SUV caught testing in India. EDIT: Named the Creta-25150121zluk.jpg

Hyundai ix25 Compact SUV caught testing in India. EDIT: Named the Creta-24152423glu9.jpg

Hyundai ix25 Compact SUV caught testing in India. EDIT: Named the Creta-25150134yi72.jpg

Hyundai ix25 Compact SUV caught testing in India. EDIT: Named the Creta-25150158tdsc.jpg

Hyundai ix25 Compact SUV caught testing in India. EDIT: Named the Creta-251502116kyp.jpg
Tushar is offline   (10) Thanks