Old 11th May 2017, 14:40   #136

re: The Renault Captur SUV. EDIT: Launched @ Rs 9.99 lakhs

Originally Posted by condor View Post
Operating the audio controls when executing a turn ? How often does one do it ?
Come and live in the Niligiris mountains for a while, you will be surprised. I am always taking turns :-).
4x4addict is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 15th May 2017, 16:36   #137

My first ever spy shot!

Was descending from Yelagiri yesterday afternoon when I came across this convoy of 4 Capturs going uphill! Road presence is good, however I felt it didn't look as big as the Duster, maybe owing to the latter's boxy shape.

Pardon the poor quality pic, as the convoy had almost passed us by the time my friend pulled out his phone to click!
The Renault Captur SUV. EDIT: Launched @ Rs 9.99 lakhs-img20170514wa0003edt.jpg  

Last edited by Geo_Ipe : 15th May 2017 at 16:39.
Geo_Ipe is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 19th May 2017, 23:20   #138

Caught on the streets of Chennai, flashing it's C-shaped LED DRLs, by a Motor Vikatan reader.

The Renault Captur SUV. EDIT: Launched @ Rs 9.99 lakhs-renaultcapturspy2.jpg

The Renault Captur SUV. EDIT: Launched @ Rs 9.99 lakhs-renaultcapturspy3.jpg

The Renault Captur SUV. EDIT: Launched @ Rs 9.99 lakhs-renaultcapturspy1.jpg

The Kaptur is scheduled to go on sale during the festive season ahead, and will be pitted directly against the Hyundai Creta.

As for how safe it is (after the Kwid and the Duster NCAP fiascos), let's wait and watch.

Last edited by RavenAvi : 19th May 2017 at 23:22.
RavenAvi is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 29th May 2017, 10:21   #139

This car is being tested heavily on the Chennai - Bangalore route. Saw two of them multiple times in this route. Think the below two pictures is of the same car.

Also saw a Scorpio Getaway undergoing tests, but could not take any pics
The Renault Captur SUV. EDIT: Launched @ Rs 9.99 lakhs-img_2584.jpg  

The Renault Captur SUV. EDIT: Launched @ Rs 9.99 lakhs-img_2586.jpg  

RSimonS is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 29th May 2017, 10:33   #140

The way new launches seem to be showing-up on the 18-25-30L range, I get a feeling that Renault may have to down play the Duster and let Kaptur take its place just on par with Creta. Else I dont see a big play for Kaptur.
ampere is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 29th May 2017, 10:42   #141

Originally Posted by RSimonS View Post
Also saw a Scorpio Getaway undergoing tests, but could not take any pics
I also spotted a heavily camouflaged Scorpio on Saturday while going to Chennai.
Old 29th May 2017, 11:26   #142

Originally Posted by ampere View Post
The way new launches seem to be showing-up on the 18-25-30L range, I get a feeling that Renault may have to down play the Duster and let Kaptur take its place just on par with Creta. Else I dont see a big play for Kaptur.
With the current NCAP score as also the bad reputation for safety, Renault might quietly discontinue the Duster. A new one is waiting in the wings aborad anyway

Last edited by ajmat : 29th May 2017 at 11:28.
ajmat is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 4th June 2017, 05:23   #143

Originally Posted by 4x4addict View Post
Come and live in the Niligiris mountains for a while, you will be surprised. I am always taking turns :-).
You can add the Kumaon, Garwhal hairpins to the list too!
Old 4th June 2017, 14:50   #144

Originally Posted by ajmat View Post
With the current NCAP score as also the bad reputation for safety
I though the one without ABS/Air Bags did poorly but the one with the safety features got respectable/OK score?

Either way, they may eliminate the top variants and keep Duster one segment below the Kaptur.
4x4addict is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th June 2017, 17:41   #145

I though the one without ABS/Air Bags did poorly but the one with the safety features got respectable/OK score?
Even the one with the airbag could not prevent head injury as the size of the air bag has been reduced in the indian version as compared to the international version.

Read in outlookindia today. I am not allowed to post links as of now, hence cannot provide the article link.
mguliani is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th June 2017, 15:47   #146

Originally Posted by mguliani View Post
Even the one with the airbag could not prevent head injury as the size of the air bag has been reduced in the indian version as compared to the international version.
Generally Indian consumers prefer stuff like keyless entry, keyless start, automatic wipers, automatic headlamps, etc, etc. So, renault may have thought our brains are smaller requiring a smaller air bag . I even heard members who are on this forum questioning need for ABS and talking about pumping the brake pedal etc...
4x4addict is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 6th June 2017, 19:07   #147

Originally Posted by ampere View Post
Totally agree with you on this and nice to know that I am not alone with this thought I am also not able to really understand this "Premium" positioning that every OEM is trying to attempt? This "premiumness" is being done to death

I am hoping post GST Auto companies will really start looking at the 10-15 lac bracket for compact and full size SUV's and not pseudo SUV's and <4m SUV's. This is one bracket I believe has immense disruptive potential.
Old 8th June 2017, 08:25   #148

The Renault Captur, which is manufactured in Brazil, and was recently launched in Latin America markets, had solid four star performance for adult occupant protection and three stars in child occupant protection.

The Renault Captur SUV. EDIT: Launched @ Rs 9.99 lakhs-capture.jpg

The Captur offers ESC as standard in all versions as well as 4 airbags (2 frontal and 2 side thorax-head type).

volkman10 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th June 2017, 14:24   #149

Originally Posted by volkman10 View Post
The Renault Captur,
I am not sure if this will be relevant to us since the Captur and Kaptur are completely different animals.
4x4addict is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th June 2017, 14:41   #150

I am not sure if this will be relevant to us since the Captur and Kaptur are completely different animals.
The Brazilian Captur is loosely connected to the upcoming Kaptur for India. Why?

Since the Brazilian Captur is built on the Duster platform while the European Captur is on the Clio platform.

And the European Captur scores 5 Stars and the Brazilian one score 4 and any guess for the Indian rating?

The Renault Captur SUV. EDIT: Launched @ Rs 9.99 lakhs-capture.jpg
volkman10 is offline   (2) Thanks