Old 2nd July 2019, 15:49   #1126

Re: MG India's first SUV named Hector. Edit: Launched @ 12.18L

Originally Posted by RaghuVis View Post
I was trying to imagine a conversation between two normal Customers, not auto enthusiasts or BHPians. It would be something like this. (No Offense at anyone, just for fun)
Hilarious! But very much true. It could be a Hyundai or a Suzuki or Honda. Its all the same.

Indian customer is always cautious to put his money into a car. And many times its a deadlock situation. People don't trust some good car makers just because either they do not know them well or they do not know the product well. And such car makers not able to invest more as they fail to attract customers and make sufficient money to show interest in the market.

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 2nd July 2019 at 16:37. Reason: Trimmed quoted post for readability.
Crank is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 2nd July 2019, 21:51   #1127

Here is the full maintenance schedule for all variants. Managed to arrange this somehow.
AGwagon is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 2nd July 2019, 22:08   #1128

Originally Posted by AGwagon View Post
Here is the full maintenance schedule for all variants. Managed to arrange this somehow.
SAIC as a whole does not use spell check, I hope the car manufacturing process has good quality control.
Old 3rd July 2019, 01:11   #1129
AYP

The comparison video between the Hector and the Harrier by SVP-

Though for all practical purpose, this looks more like a review of the Hector with a mini comparison with the Harrier. I agree with the verdict though after going through the video.

SVP complained about the poor handling and excessive body roll in the Hector. While many reviews mention it, the way it is mentioned here is quite affirmative unlike some other reviews which I have seen.

Last edited by khan_sultan : 3rd July 2019 at 10:48. Reason: typo
AYP is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 3rd July 2019, 02:48   #1130

Originally Posted by ArvindMaveric View Post
The Petrol AT is great as well, but there is an initial lag. When I asked the MG guys, they mentioned that it is due to them not want the Turbo to open as soon as the throttle is pressed for the sake of mileage. I did not quite understand their logic but nodded anyway.
For those who have booked the petrol hector, check this out

I think what this guy is saying is the Wuling Almaz Petrol CVT gives around 8.3 kmpl in the city and 12.8 kmpl on the highway. Link below, from 17:45 to 17:59

What do you guys think the mileage will be? Theirs is CVT and ours is DCT. My guess would be 7 kmpl in the city and 10.5 to 11.5 kmpl on the highway.

Last edited by sreejinair : 3rd July 2019 at 02:49.
sreejinair is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd July 2019, 09:04   #1131

Originally Posted by sreejinair View Post
What do you guys think the mileage will be? Theirs is CVT and ours is DCT. My guess would be 7 kmpl in the city and 10.5 to 11.5 kmpl on the highway.
When i test drove Venue DCT, it was showing 6.9 kmpl driven for 1700 kms in Bangalore Venue claims 18kmpl. So i guess your prediction is correct..
shamanth is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd July 2019, 09:32   #1132

MG Hector waiting period soars to new levels.

- Longest wait time of 7 months for petrol-AT for Noida buyers.

- Hector readily available in Kolkata irrespective of powertrain choice.

- Longest average waiting time of 6 months across powertrains for buyers in Ahmedabad and Hyderabad.

- Wait times for a Hector in the other cities range between 2 to 6 months depending on the variant.
MG India's first SUV named Hector. Edit: Launched @ 12.18L-1.jpg

volkman10 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 3rd July 2019, 11:54   #1133

^ Why is Kolkata showing a stark difference as compared to rest of the country? Any specific reason? Perhaps their narrow lanes and by-lanes with extremely limited parking space is whats going against a large SUV? It would be interesting to see the sales figures of other SUVs there.
Old 3rd July 2019, 12:40   #1134

Originally Posted by shamanth View Post
When i test drove Venue DCT, it was showing 6.9 kmpl driven for 1700 kms in Bangalore Venue claims 18kmpl. So i guess your prediction is correct..
7 kmpl for the petrol automatic seems to be very low for the MG Hector, of course we dont know it yet. All we know so far is even lesser figures 3 and 4ish on the TD vehicles.

Do you guys think 7 kmpl is acceptable? What do you think the Seltos 1.4 turbo petrol 7 speed DCT will give. For some reason I think it will be more than the Hector.
Old 3rd July 2019, 12:45   #1135

Originally Posted by shamanth View Post
I wouldn't worry about that too much. Back when I was scouting for an AT sedan, the corresponding numbers on the TD vehicle were 5.8 for the Honda City and something like 4.8 for the VW Vento (which I ended up buying). TD cars are left idling for long periods, driven through narrow downtown streets, ripped along highways etc. and this is not the best barometer for real-life FE assessment.

ARAI mileage where available is a good proxy for highway FE, e.g. my car is rated at 14.3 kmpl by ARAI and I get around that on highway runs. Inner city driving could reduce that by 40% or so (my car gives around 8 kmpl in moderate traffic, worse in bumper-to-bumper).

Honestly, if "kitna deti hai" is very high up in your list, you shouldn't even consider a petrol AT .
noopster is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 3rd July 2019, 13:00   #1136

Originally Posted by sreejinair View Post
Do you guys think 7 kmpl is acceptable? What do you think the Seltos 1.4 turbo petrol 7 speed DCT will give. For some reason I think it will be more than the Hector.
To predict what the Seltos 1.4 turbo may give, we may look at the real life FE of the Venue 1.0 Turbo DCT (and extrapolate). All the Hyundai AT cars have been pathetic with their FE so far.
7 kmpl is realistic if not an acceptable number (I wouldn't be happy with anything less than 9-10 kmpl at least) Modern ATs are supposed to be as fuel efficient or even better than manual counterparts. But that has not been the case with Hyundai ATs.
I am going to test drive the Hector automatic soon. I may get a better sense after that.
Old 3rd July 2019, 13:14   #1137

Originally Posted by Guna View Post
To predict what the Seltos 1.4 turbo may give, we may look at the real life FE of the Venue 1.0 Turbo DCT (and extrapolate). All the Hyundai AT cars have been pathetic with their FE so far.
7 kmpl is realistic if not an acceptable number (I wouldn't be happy with anything less than 9-10 kmpl at least) Modern ATs are supposed to be as fuel efficient or even better than manual counterparts. But that has not been the case with Hyundai ATs.
I am going to test drive the Hector automatic soon. I may get a better sense after that.
My guess of 7 kmpl was for the Hector AT, the numbers of the TD cars are below 5 kmpl which of course is not to be considered since they are TD cars. The hector if i'm not mistaken is 6 speed and not 7 like the Venue. Of course the weight is going to matter here, but man 7 kmpl. I've been driving a manual diesel beast (sedan) which gives around 9 kmpl in the city and 12 on the highway. It needs a new head gasket but thats a different story. For me going from 9 to 7 kmpl and pay more for the fuel per litre (diesel/petrol) is not making sense. But when I do the math my other options of the diesel automatics costs 7 lakhs more than the Hector. 7 lakhs is definately going to give me a lot of petrol

Last edited by sreejinair : 3rd July 2019 at 13:16.
Old 3rd July 2019, 13:25   #1138

The best way to gauge mileage during a TD is to reset to trip meter and average consumption reading in the MID. I follow that for all the TD vehicles. I insist on getting the TD at my residence, and I follow more or less the same route in similar'ish traffic conditions. The TD loop is around 8-10 KMS so that gives me a good idea on how much I can expect in real life terms.

I don't think MG will be sending Hector for a doorstep TD's any time soon though. I recently TD the Harrier and it returned around 11 KMPL over my route.
Old 3rd July 2019, 13:58   #1139

After a lot of dilly-dallying, finally booked the Hector Diesel Super variant on-line. Opted for Starry black, I think the Hector looks best in this color.

I am looking for a replacement for my 6 year old Ecosport and this seemed like one of the last opportunities before BSVI kicks in and pushes price tags up.

Despite all the flaws, the Hector Diesel Super variant offers simply incredible value. At 14.18 ex-showroom (around 17 lakhs on-road in Chennai), there are simply no other alternatives which provide such a complete package for my needs. I am not a fan of gimmcky features like remote controlling the car etc. But I need essentials like a good Diesel Engine/Tranny combination, decent build quality, low maintenance/service costs. Plus, important to me are features that ease long distance driving like cruise control, Android Auto for google maps access etc. The Super variant seemed just right for me - It has all these essentials, plus added safety features like ESP/TCS/Hill-hold, front and rear disc brakes, a reverse parking camera, front parking sensors etc.

I have looked at the Harrier and XUV closely, both disappointed in terms of the price to value they delivered. The essential features above were only available in higher variants that were pricey.
84.monsoon is online now   (10) Thanks
Old 3rd July 2019, 14:52   #1140

^ Why is Kolkata showing a stark difference as compared to rest of the country? Any specific reason? Perhaps their narrow lanes and by-lanes with extremely limited parking space is whats going against a large SUV? It would be interesting to see the sales figures of other SUVs there.
Slightly off topic, but if congested or narrow roads were the determining factor, I highly doubt that Bangalore would see such insane demand for new and huge SUVs In fact, roads in most parts of Kolkata now are way, way better than lot of other big cities, including the pathetic road conditions in Bangalore.

Kolkata in general is a very price sensitive market, and people are slightly lesser inclined to splurge huge amounts on cars, especially the earlier generations of middle and upper middle class families (as compared to other metros). In general, you would see a much higher percentage of smaller/ lower segment cars in Kolkata, as compared to other big cities, though that trend has changed quite a bit in recent years. Perhaps that is the reason for the comparatively lesser demand for the massive Hector in Kolkata.

Last edited by arindambasu13 : 3rd July 2019 at 14:55.
arindambasu13 is offline   (2) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com