Old 3rd July 2022, 21:56   #766

Re: The 2022 Maruti Brezza, now launched at Rs 7.99 lakh

I wish that this car comes with good power delivery tuning. The same engine in the XL6 is a wheezer, tuned for fuel efficiency. Meanwhile, the Desi automotive market is replete with only AMTs in lieu of proper automatic transmissions. Here comes an Aisin 6 speed from Maruti - great! But the engine seems to be a downer. Every rose has its thorn eh?
locusjag is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 3rd July 2022, 22:16   #767

Originally Posted by locusjag View Post
I wish that this car comes with good power delivery tuning.
I wish the engine is tuned for maximum fuel efficiency. That's what I expect from a Maruti. I wouldn't bother stepping into a Maruti showroom expecting a performance oriented car. The 6 speed auto is indeed an excellent move. Well done Maruti!
kushagra452 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 4th July 2022, 08:59   #768

What would be your pick?
Brezza 1.5 Petrol ZXI+ AT or Sonet 1.5 Diesel GTX+ AT ?

The Diesel is both fun to drive and frugal. I would pick the Sonet any day.
The 2022 Maruti Brezza, now launched at Rs 7.99 lakh-img20220702wa0012.jpg  

amiya.c is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 4th July 2022, 09:30   #769

I wonder what the guys at Maruti are smoking. 17 lakhs on road for a Brezza ? Who are they kidding. I would any day pick the ScorpioN Z4 diesel for that money. The tax benefit for sub 4 metre was lost when they shifted from diesel to petrol engine. Nothing new in that now. The pricing for Zxi and Zxi+ is simply atrocious.
longhorn is offline   (17) Thanks
Old 4th July 2022, 09:46   #770

The Brezza has the priciest petrol-auto variant at Rs 13.80 lakh, which is more expensive than the top-end diesel-automatic variants of the Kia Sonet.

Side by side comparison

The 2022 Maruti Brezza, now launched at Rs 7.99 lakh-20220704_094508.jpg

The 2022 Maruti Brezza, now launched at Rs 7.99 lakh-20220704_094510.jpg

The 2022 Maruti Brezza, now launched at Rs 7.99 lakh-20220704_094513.jpg

The 2022 Maruti Brezza, now launched at Rs 7.99 lakh-20220704_094521.jpg

Last edited by Venkatesh : 4th July 2022 at 09:57.
Venkatesh is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 4th July 2022, 10:12   #771

Originally Posted by Venkatesh View Post
The Brezza has the priciest petrol-auto variant at Rs 13.80 lakh, which is more expensive than the top-end diesel-automatic variants of the Kia Sonet.

Side by side comparison
Clearly, the sheer size of the Brezza along with that amazing design is what takes the cake for me!
Yes the Sonet has more features, could be more fun to drive and might even have better efficiency (diesel). But then, what about the lack of space, safety, comfort, reliability and that design which looks like a hatchback (which it is!)??

Yes the Sonet may appear better on paper to Kia fans, but with the Brezza's sheer presence, Maruti trust, Kia's poor brand value and the fact that the Brezza is better in every way is what will make people pay the premium over the Kia!
theAutomaniac is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 4th July 2022, 10:20   #772

Originally Posted by longhorn View Post
I would any day pick the ScorpioN Z4 diesel for that money.
While the Brezza pricing is super greedy for sure, there are different perspective based on needs of the end user as well.

My budget is similar, yet with the garage space constraint and level of mileage I want from my next ride, I will - albeit begrudgingly - put up the money for ZXI+ MT.
cr4nkshaft is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th July 2022, 10:28   #773

Originally Posted by longhorn View Post
I wonder what the guys at Maruti are smoking. 17 lakhs on road for a Brezza ? Who are they kidding. I would any day pick the ScorpioN Z4 diesel for that money. The tax benefit for sub 4 metre was lost when they shifted from diesel to petrol engine. Nothing new in that now. The pricing for Zxi and Zxi+ is simply atrocious.
There will be still takers who need smaller footprint, reliability of a NA engine plus TC gearbox. And styling of Brezza is also handsome and proportionate compared to other CSUVs, may be other than XUV 300. Yes, both Scorpio and XUV 700 base models are absolute VFM, but those who hate waiting period might still go with Maruti, mainly due to the mass production capacity that Maruti has. That is how they tackled the competition from Carens.

Last edited by sreejithkk : 4th July 2022 at 10:30.
sreejithkk is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 4th July 2022, 10:30   #774

Originally Posted by Venkatesh View Post

Side by side comparison

Thanks for sharing here. This was a diesel Sonet and the owner seemed pretty happy with the compact SUV. At the same time, when I shared these pics on my FB profile, majority voted for the Brezza.
BunnyPunia is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 4th July 2022, 11:51   #775

Look wise i prefer Sonet front look and Brezza rear look in the below pictures. Brezza looks a tad bigger from the side profile. I would love to drive the Automatic version of Brezza and see how it fares against Sonet.
Old 4th July 2022, 15:54   #776

I understand all the sentiments around pricing and myself think it is ridiculous to spend over 12 lakhs for fully loaded variant, anyways, went to check the car out yesterday, loved the styling, they have, like Baleno upped the quality substantially, there are lots of small touches which exeude premiumness as opposed to pretty much Swift like grade of previous gen, atleast at the touch points and especially the interiors.

Doors and bonet feel decently heavy, has a nice road presence, not much worse than Creta, Red looks great on it, notwithstanding pricing it is a rather great compact SUV for most people, the engine will keep me away personally but someone like my dad or wife will love it, electric car like refinement, good drivability, great mileage, good looks, interiors, Maruti's backing are all going for it.

Anyways booked the LXi variant in Red to be used by my wife, exteriors are identical to VXi baring the rear defogger, and matt black wrap on the A pillar (a 2k job), for some reason the wrap is there on the B pillars and all but not the A pillar.

Interiors majorly lack an audio system, have kept aside 30k for Pioneer audio system with Android Auto, Carplay, installation and so so speakers. (Wife does not listen to music at all), it already comes with remote central locking, 4 power windows, proper instrument cluster, one minor miss will be automatic climate control and that too just because of looks of that unit especially compared to the sorta ugly manual AC controls and not the functionality itself, I manually manage all my ACC equipped cars anyways.

Best part, it will be around 9 lakhs on road which is VFM in my books, it would have been a difficult choice wrt to Venue and Sonet but their engine is even inferior to K12 leave alone K15, especially in relatively heavy cars like this.
Rocketscience is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 4th July 2022, 16:53   #777

Onroad price of brezza in my city, mangalore.

The 2022 Maruti Brezza, now launched at Rs 7.99 lakh-img20220704wa0000.jpg
Shonith is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th July 2022, 17:00   #778

Spotted the new brezza on road. I must say it looks pretty good.
The 2022 Maruti Brezza, now launched at Rs 7.99 lakh-img20220704165514.jpg  

The 2022 Maruti Brezza, now launched at Rs 7.99 lakh-img20220704165520.jpg  

The 2022 Maruti Brezza, now launched at Rs 7.99 lakh-img20220704165522.jpg  

The 2022 Maruti Brezza, now launched at Rs 7.99 lakh-img20220704165526.jpg  

The 2022 Maruti Brezza, now launched at Rs 7.99 lakh-img20220704165537.jpg  

saikishor is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 4th July 2022, 17:45   #779

It looks good but not Rs. 14 lakh (ex-sh) good.

I wonder what Maruti were thinking. With a recession in sight, these prices seem atrocious. Just because it now matches the feature list of its rivals, doesn't make it worth as much. Turbos offer better drivability, and if it's sub-1000cc, then some insurance premium benefit as well.

Did someone at Maruti forget to add a front armrest in the ZXI trim? It has sunroof and alloy wheels, though.

Just when most of us think the seller's market is here to stay for the next few years, it will fall flat on its face. Moreover, the SUV craze may also be peaking. Virtus and Slavia sales figures tell me that there are still buyers willing to pay the premium for a good, practical sedan.

The SUV craze, inflation and skyrocketing oil prices remind me of 2008. It killed the hottest SUV brand of the time - Hummer.

Last edited by MaheshY1 : 4th July 2022 at 17:50.
MaheshY1 is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 4th July 2022, 17:59   #780

Originally Posted by MaheshY1 View Post
The SUV craze, inflation and skyrocketing oil prices remind me of 2008. It killed the hottest SUV brand of the time - Hummer.
Good observation. I completely agree. The seller's market will not be here forever. Cars have become increasingly costly over the past 5-10 yrs.

IMO in all this SUV craze, no one seems to be noticing the most value for money car on sale today - 4th gen Honda City. Honda City used to rule the premium sedan segment for years on end. The SV and V variants retail for INR 9.5L and INR 9.9L respectively! Surprised to see no takers for this model.
kushagra452 is offline   (3) Thanks