View Poll Results: What price do you expect?
15 to 21 lacs 191 20.34%
16 to 22 lacs 168 17.89%
17 to 23 lacs 177 18.85%
18 to 24 lacs 184 19.60%
19 to 25 lacs 219 23.32%
Voters: 939. You may not vote on this poll

Old 22nd May 2021, 00:22   #151

re: Mahindra XUV700, now launched at 11.99 lakhs

A quick question for this thread to consider which has not been discussed much here is the approximate price of this vehicle. Any comments from experienced BHPians having insider information would be highly appreciated. My take is 15-22 ex-showroom, considering the competition. What's yours?
Old 22nd May 2021, 07:52   #152

Originally Posted by Moto_Bear View Post
My take is 15-22 ex-showroom, considering the competition. What's yours?
I'd think they will like to compete with higher Safari variants only but with additional features so my guess is 18-24 lakhs ex-showroom. And they'll compete with Harrier and Creta with XUV 5OO so that could be 12-18 range. Anyways just guesses at this point and I'm sure they are also waiting for Alcazar pricing because if Hyundai goes aggressive then Mahindra will have to adjust.
CoffeeBeans is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd May 2021, 08:39   #153

Originally Posted by landcruiser123 View Post

On a lighter note, I hope Toyota doesn’t learn from Mahindra and rename the current Innova to “Fortuner” and call their re-badged Ertiga as “Innova”.
The internet is already abuzz that the next gen Innova will have SUV'ish looks rather than like the current van like exteriors.
There is a 20 lakh difference between the Innova (at nearly 30L on road) and Fortuner(at nearly 50L OTR).
I wouldn't be surprised if they slot the new Innova right in the middle price band of 40L OTR.
End goal is to just keep jacking up the prices.
for_cars1 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 22nd May 2021, 09:50   #154

A quick question for this thread to consider which has not been discussed much here is the approximate price of this vehicle. Any comments from experienced BHPians having insider information would be highly appreciated. My take is 15-22 ex-showroom, considering the competition. What's yours?
Considering the current Adventure variant of Safari costs 21.86L ex showroom Pune, I believe Mahindra will plan to go aggressive and the equivalent (non AWD variant) will cost about 21-21.5L ex showroom. Mahindra will have the features advantage, and honestly IMO Safari is not a product that should ideally cost 21.86L ex showroom. So it won't be too hard for Mahindra to undercut them.
07CR is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 22nd May 2021, 10:06   #155

@ram87pune, that is a lot of insider news. As of now Mahindra is going through a refresh cycle for Scorpio/TUV and XUV so it makes more sense going forward to focus more on these cars and put vehicles aside that are not making up good sales numbers.

Will the next gen Scorpio and XUV use the same AISIN 6 Speed AT or 8 Speed. Moreover I agree with you, pushing above 180BHP will also depend on the Suspension/Gearbox. To me 210BHP is like an overkill but if you look at it from another perpective, it puts itself above in specs when compared with the Engines from Ford Endeavour or Toyota Fortuner.
Old 22nd May 2021, 17:23   #156

The basic idea behind the OG XUV was to make it a "Santa Fe Killer".
Dr. Goenka had told his team to make a product that would ensure that the Santa Fe doesn't make a dent in the market, and the XUV was largely successful in that aspect (aided ofcourse, by the Santa Fe's shortcomings)
I guess with the new XUV, Mahindra has set it's sights on the Endeavour, Fortuner and maybe even the Compass.
The engine ratings are a league above the Harrier and so are the rumoured features. I just pray that they don't do a XUV300 on the pricing..
Would be interesting to see the Scorpio Z101 and 'new' XUV500 take on the Harrier and Alcazar..
RobotMan is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 22nd May 2021, 22:08   #157

Originally Posted by RobotMan View Post
The engine ratings are a league above the Harrier and so are the rumoured features. I just pray that they don't do a XUV300 on the pricing..

No matter how I try to avoid the fact of Mahindra's repetitive price fiasco, first with the Alturas G4, then with Marazzo and the XUV300, I feel that XUV700 is on the same path. According to me, since Mahindra has gone overboard with the features and engines and is aiming to be the sales killer of even higher segment cars, I believe that they're going to be overambitious with the price as well, and Mahindra currently does not have such a brand value to justify anything north of 22 lakhs OTR in my opinion.

So eventually looking forward to how Mahindra positions itself with the W601, and whether it'll be a success like the Thar, or go down the way of overpriced ones such as Alturas and Marazzo.
Moto_Bear is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 22nd May 2021, 22:15   #158

XUV700, Pratap Bose, the new Scorpio and other so many reassuring signs from M&M point towards one thing my friends. It’s high time to accumulate shares of the company, as I can surely see it having a Tata Motors phenomenon in the share market pretty soon
QuentinTino is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 23rd May 2021, 08:52   #159

210 bhp, if real is a great plan to cannibalise Endeavour, some of fortuner and probably X1? Look at few drivers bragging on highway by smocking a german - I smell danger

For us/enthusiast, Mahindra should improve the stopping power, suspension and AT gearbox for anything beyond 180 bhp.
noufal.ps is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd May 2021, 09:56   #160

Originally Posted by CoffeeBeans View Post
...so my guess is 18-24 lakhs ex-showroom.
The current Scorpio is sold at 13-16.5L ex (excluding the very base S3+ variant that they launched just recently). Now if we have to go by how new Thar was priced w.r.t old Thar, the new Scorpio might be seated at 16-23L. Now if XUV7OO with a definite premium on it might end up at around 19-25L.

Last edited by balenoed_ : 23rd May 2021 at 10:01.
Old 23rd May 2021, 13:41   #161

Originally Posted by balenoed_ View Post
The current Scorpio is sold at 13-16.5L ex (excluding the very base S3+ variant that they launched just recently). Now if we have to go by how new Thar was priced w.r.t old Thar, the new Scorpio might be seated at 16-23L. Now if XUV7OO with a definite premium on it might end up at around 19-25L.
In my honest opinion, 19-25 lakhs means giving direct competition to the mighty Toyota Innova. Given Toyota sales and the goodwill associated with the brand, if your price prediction does come true, we have another failed Mahindra product at our hands, with overambitious pricing. Mahindra tried to compete with Innova once as a people's mover with Marazzo and right now, discussions are underway as to if that car would be discontinued or not.

It's just based on a basic fact that for anything to sell above 20 lakhs in India, and have good number of sales, you need a strong brand value that exists with Toyota as being reliable and the Germans with their premium offerings. Mahindra is considered to have a poor aftersales service, a bunch of niggles at early months of every car that's launched(that's why the golden rule of buying a Tata/Mahindra exists) and a history of poor response to anything north of 20 lakhs(Alturas G4).

Additionally, Tata used Safari nameplate on its SUV initially named Gravitas, Why? Because nameplates like these have a strong brand recall value as well as nostalgic value for a lot of customers. Mahindra on the other hand, has created an altogether new nameplate for the existing XUV5OO, which had a strong brand recall value as well. But where Tata focused on the existing Safari tag, Mahindra went ahead and created a new tag having no brand recall value and aims to price it higher. That's why pricing is essential, it needs to be aggressive in order to sell a product that has no brand recall value except the XUV tag.
Moto_Bear is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd May 2021, 14:57   #162

19-25L could be suicidal for XUV 700.
MaanSingh is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 24th May 2021, 09:07   #163

Now if XUV7OO with a definite premium on it might end up at around 19-25L.
I too think that it might fall into this bracket with the move to the higher segment. I expect the top end AWD variant in Bangalore might touch 29-30L OTR.
Old 26th May 2021, 16:37   #164

An existing owner's take - Fully loaded + AWD + AT, on road in Bangalore, I am happy to spend 27lakhs or below. Do we have a deal?
abirnale is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th May 2021, 18:10   #165

We should do a poll for price
MaanSingh is offline   (2) Thanks