Old 22nd January 2008, 20:25   #61

The diesel engine is pretty good. Peppy,yet fuel efficient.

I'd prefer this to the Laura anyday.
Old 22nd January 2008, 20:38   #62

Gotta love the understated muscular VW designs. Simply amazing!
Old 22nd January 2008, 21:09   #63

Originally Posted by AMATMO View Post
one thing that i would admit is that it would be easier to digest a VW jetta for 17-18lacs than a skoda laura
I do agree. However Jetta is a Civic category car. So given the premium image the VW wants to command, it would be nice to leave Laura fight the Civic head-on and price the Jetta between the Laura and the Accord. Diesel or No-diesel, Accord otherwise would still rule, as an owner in that category would care less about running costs than a bigger car and its associated stature.

But seems Skoda would like to maintain the Laura at a position where I would want the Jetta to be in, and price the Jetta above the mighty and faultless Accord.
Old 22nd January 2008, 22:24   #64

do you think VW is capable of pricing Jetta in the price range of camry,skoda superb?

this happens to be my fear
Old 23rd January 2008, 00:57   #65

do you think VW is capable of pricing Jetta in the price range of camry,skoda superb?

this happens to be my fear
That price range now has the Camry, the Superb and the Passat so VW would definatly want to place this car in a segment below.
Old 23rd January 2008, 02:31   #66

I dont really see VW pricing Jetta anywhere below 15 lacks expect 13-14 to be a mouthwatering price but looks Highly unlikely We should consider our selves lucky to have what ever competitors we have in form of BMW Merc and Audi ( though VW Group) only that they have not price Passat above 25 lacks other wise these guys wanted to take on what ever benefit they get in form of duty reduction by assembling there car here back to the balance sheets in Europe
Old 23rd January 2008, 09:28   #67

Originally Posted by khanak View Post
That price range now has the Camry, the Superb and the Passat so VW would definatly want to place this car in a segment below.
khanak what i meant was that a passat can go upto 28lacs onroad(if i am not wrong)
then jetta can maybe touch 20lac mark
Old 23rd January 2008, 09:46   #68

khanak what i meant was that a passat can go upto 28lacs onroad(if i am not wrong)
then jetta can maybe touch 20lac mark
Isnt the Passat more in the 23-25lakhs region? 28 is pretty close the the A4.
Old 23rd January 2008, 10:01   #69

Originally Posted by madan80 View Post
Skoda should have ideally phased out the old octi and brought in the "new octi" read: Laura, but decided to be greedy and kept both. I wonder where else in the world would 2 generations be selling together, and better still at a premium.
Hi Madan, yes this is a shame... However, it's been done before, by Maruti-Suzuki. The M800, Zen, & Alto are all successive generations of the same model - the Suzuki Alto

But in India, all were sold at the same time as 3 different cars, in different price ranges !?! Guess, Skoda were inspired by Maruti's business acumen...
Old 23rd January 2008, 11:46   #70

How old is Jetta?

Jetta undoubtedly a fantastic car. I travelled several times on it a car with very good legroom and nice finishing running without much noise even @ 100Kmph. My american friend told me that he owned a second hand jetta fifteen years ago. I just wanna comment on this car is that it has ver large front and more rear luggage room. To be rationale today we need small size with more luggage room and shoulder room.
Old 23rd January 2008, 13:46   #71

Originally Posted by khanak View Post
Isnt the Passat more in the 23-25lakhs region? 28 is pretty close the the A4.
Passat is 27.xx Lakhs on-road Delhi, 30+ on-road Mumbai.
Old 24th January 2008, 17:50   #72

I understand the Jetta is going to have a 1.6L Petrol Engine in India. Though I cannot compare this with the Civic, I would like to know if the Jetta is worth the wait till the first week of July 2008 or Does it make sense for me to buy the Honda Civic by the end of Feb2008.
Old 24th January 2008, 19:55   #73

Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
Passat is 27.xx Lakhs on-road Delhi, 30+ on-road Mumbai.
see, thats what i meant in my earlier post
if they are placing the passat at 28-30 lacs
then even jetta is likely to cost around 20-22(i just hope this doesnt happen)

do you guys think it can happen?
Old 24th January 2008, 20:12   #74

VW make excellent Cars but their prices in India are too high to own one! :(
Old 24th January 2008, 20:20   #75

I still feel that VW has a long way to go,before its cars get the attention & the fan-following of other car makers today. Apart from the Golf & the Toureg,I've never really liked any of their cars. They may be good alright,but it lacks the punch & the reliability.