Old 13th December 2008, 11:49   #76

Saw new ad for Discount upto Rs 76500/-. Seems they are realizing they are big mess with huge stock
Old 13th December 2008, 12:55   #77

Originally Posted by d_himan View Post
Slightly OT, but its a must-read.

Unfortunately, I respect this website's opinions tremendously (the user/fellow author comments after every article are extremely insightful). It has, by far, the best commentary and analysis on the Big 3 (Death Watch Series) and is Forbes magazine's 'Best of the Web' winner.

Can someone shed some light? :(

LINK:
Review: Toyota Innova | The Truth About Cars
You seem to have focussed only on negative bits and overlooked the positive comments.

Innova isn't TLC and article seems to recommend TLC over Innova. Its like saying don't buy Fiesta 1.6, buy BMW 325i. Duh!

Why do we have to worry about a review from a US journo/author when we have so many Innovas plying on Indian roads and are benchmarks of reliability and dependability under Indian conditions.
Old 13th December 2008, 13:30   #78

I called Grace Toyota (in Gurgaon) yesterday enquiring about the new Innova. They just dont want to hear or say anything about it. They are non-committal about the timing of the release. I spoke to three different individuals and all of them kept harping about how there were such huge discounts currently and were trying to convince me to buy the current model in the next few days before the discounts end. And when I suggested that I will wait for the new model, they weren't too interested any more. I guess they are really desperate to sell the current stock.
Old 13th December 2008, 14:50   #79

Yes , They are desperately trying to sell off the current stock . Even when I had told the sales person (Galaxy Toyota, Delhi) that I wasn't interested in the car any more, He keeps on calling me, giving me updates on the discount .

I did inquire about the same in Ludhiana (punjab) , the dealer is offering a total benefit of about 85,000 off the sticker price (including the Cenvat Cuts). I have told them that I have a cheque ready for them, if they offer me a 1 lac rupee discount.
Old 13th December 2008, 19:21   #80

Originally Posted by car_crazy1400 View Post
Yes , They are desperately trying to sell off the current stock . Even when I had told the sales person (Galaxy Toyota, Delhi) that I wasn't interested in the car any more, He keeps on calling me, giving me updates on the discount .

I did inquire about the same in Ludhiana (punjab) , the dealer is offering a total benefit of about 85,000 off the sticker price (including the Cenvat Cuts). I have told them that I have a cheque ready for them, if they offer me a 1 lac rupee discount.

Sir, 1 lac discount includes the Cenvat cuts or is it on the current new OTR price announced after the tax cut, also pls inform this forum about the max discount u get at the end as i am also waiting for disounts to go higher thank you.
Old 13th December 2008, 20:50   #81

Originally Posted by car_crazy1400 View Post
... I did inquire about the same in Ludhiana (punjab) , the dealer is offering a total benefit of about 85,000 off the sticker price (including the Cenvat Cuts). I have told them that I have a cheque ready for them, if they offer me a 1 lac rupee discount.
Car_Crazy,

What a turn of event? Few days back you were looking at a max of 40'ish something discount and now you are getting more than double of that!
Old 13th December 2008, 21:56   #82

Originally Posted by HappyWheels View Post
Car_Crazy,

What a turn of event? Few days back you were looking at a max of 40'ish something discount and now you are getting more than double of that!
and he still wants more .
Old 13th December 2008, 22:00   #83

I suggest you wait for January 2009, you might get more than 1 lac discount because of 2008 manufactured model sale. This is just my thoughts but in this case you might not get color of your choice but check your luck If you want more discount otherwise 85,000/- is good discount on Diesel Innova.

Ravi.
Old 14th December 2008, 11:37   #84

@ ravibhat, Yup! I think so, but I 'll wait for the month end to buy the car (My Birthday) . Plus just got a call from Galaxy Toyota (Kotla) again, Now they are offering the following :
1. 47,500 Cash Discount
2. 10% off the Insurance (roughly about 3,000), if I get my insurance done from them.
3. About 30,000 off the G4 version due to the CENVAT cuts.

Any one looking for an Innova can ask their respective dealers to match this.

They are Still non committal about the face lifted version.

@HappyWheels, yes the discount has been doubled (thanks to the recession), But the thing is that even though I need the vehicle badly (daily running of 150 + kms on broken roads & national highway), I am just looking to get the best deal out of them 'coz I don't wanna buy a vehicle with 80,000 off the sticker price now & then they offer a even bigger discount , as with this money saved now, I can drive the Innova for atleast 30,000 kms.

Besides, I plan to keep the Innova for atleast 4 years, so the residual resale value won't be affecting me that much,I hope.
Old 15th December 2008, 16:30   #85

For the CNG lovers - Innova CNG

Folks waiting to buy the Innova -- the CNG may be offered with the facelift.

Source - Times of India

GURGAON: World's largest carmaker Toyota on Moday said it has cut production in India by 30 per cent this month, but is not holding back its planned investments of Rs 3,200 crore in the country. The company, which operates in India through a joint venture with Kirloskar Group -- Toyota Kirloskar Motor (TKM), said the slowdown in the auto [COLOR=blue][COLOR=blue! important][FONT=Arial][COLOR=blue! important][FONT=Arial]market[/FONT][/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/COLOR] has forced it to revise its sales target in India for this year.

"Everywhere else in the world, Toyota has put on hold all investments for expansions, except India," TKM Managing Director Hiroshi Nakagawa told reporters here.

The company, which produced 2,886 units in November, has decided to cut its production in the current month due to slowdown in the domestic automart.

"We will be producing 30 per cent less in December due to falling [COLOR=blue][COLOR=blue! important][FONT=Arial][COLOR=blue! important][FONT=Arial]sales[/FONT][/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/COLOR]. We will decide about the future productions for January and February depending on the market condition for this month," Nakagawa said.

He said the company has revised the sales target for this year on account of falling sales.

"Our latest challenge is to reach last year's sales volume," Nakagawa said.

TKM had announced a sales target of 60,000 units for 2008. It had sold 54,181 cars in 2007 in the Indian market.

The company posted a fall of 48.55 per cent in sales in November this year at 2,087 units compared with 4,056 units in the same month last year.

The company is also planning to launch the CNG version of its [COLOR=blue][COLOR=blue! important][FONT=Arial][COLOR=blue! important][FONT=Arial]utility [/FONT][/COLOR][COLOR=blue! important][FONT=Arial]vehicle[/FONT][/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/COLOR] 'Innova'.

"Currently, we are conducting the trial run of CNG 'Innova'. We are hopeful of commercially launching the vehicle by the end of January, 2009," TKM Deputy Managing Director Sandeep Singh said.
Old 18th December 2008, 23:22   #86

Originally Posted by hondadude View Post
You seem to have focussed only on negative bits and overlooked the positive comments.

Innova isn't TLC and article seems to recommend TLC over Innova. Its like saying don't buy Fiesta 1.6, buy BMW 325i. Duh!

Why do we have to worry about a review from a US journo/author when we have so many Innovas plying on Indian roads and are benchmarks of reliability and dependability under Indian conditions.
hondadude, have the greatest respect for the Innova's abilities. Was just saddened that the Innova's build quality, which I always thought was excellent, was panned so critically. I know our auto industry is in its infancy compared to the US, but still, it was humbling to know just how wide the gap is! (in quality expectations for the price, wide choice et al). Anyway, think the discussion is slightly OT!
Old 19th December 2008, 08:01   #87

My friend works in Toyata, some days back he mentioned that face lifted Innova may be lunched in March.
Old 19th December 2008, 15:04   #88

Originally Posted by srinivasmhn View Post
My friend works in Toyata, some days back he mentioned that face lifted Innova may be lunched in March.
ask your friend if there any plans for fortuner next year.
Old 19th December 2008, 17:45   #89

Fortuner is supposed to be launched by 2009 end but because of slowdown I don't have latest news. ALso If Fortuner is launched it would attract premium buyer not mass because it might be above 15 lacs bracket instead of previous rumour of starting at 10lacs ex showroom.

Ravi.
Old 19th December 2008, 21:58   #90

Originally Posted by ravibhat View Post
Fortuner is supposed to be launched by 2009 end but because of slowdown I don't have latest news. ALso If Fortuner is launched it would attract premium buyer not mass because it might be above 15 lacs bracket instead of previous rumour of starting at 10lacs ex showroom.

Ravi.
Well, As per my source from Toyota(a friend who is avid auto enthusiast), Fortuner may be launched as early as in 6 mths. It is a CKD and they have already 3 Fortuners in the Bidadi plant. Expected price is ~17 lacs. He also said the new Innova will not be launched till the existing stock is exhausted and March would be a decent guess. There is a massive cut in the production and the workers have been given compulsory leave for x days in a week.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com