Old 22nd March 2012, 09:30   #4411

Originally Posted by yogeshnagpal View Post
It seems that Corolla's have better re-sale value.
IMO it could be due to Classic looks of Corolla Altis and Sporty look of Civic.
Also Corolla is having very poor Resale value, Altis is having decent resale value.
Similarly as everyone knows about facelift version is due for Civic since long time, this also affects Resale value to certain extent.
And yes, GC of Civic is notoriously low and AFAIK Altis is having much more features compared to Civic, all this adds up to some more depreciation.
Old 22nd March 2012, 10:39   #4412

re: The "USED" Car Price Check Thread. (Online tool : Page 1)

What is the expected price for Logan Diesel 2007 July that has been run 75000km? It is single owner driven and in immaculate condition with complete service history. No accidents, and recently brake pads and clutch replacement and overhauling done. Tyres were changed once and the current tyres have life for another 20000 kms.
Old 22nd March 2012, 10:42   #4413

I was just doing a comparison of prices of 3-5 year old Corolla's and Civic's.

Would experienced people mind throwing some light on this please?
IMO this could be because
  1. the Civic's contemporary looks is commonplace now.
  2. durability - you'll seldom find a Corolla in which the interior wood finish is off ; this is quite common on the Civic where the silver wears off
  3. Corolla's design is ageless - all Toyotas in India so far are straightforward designs
  4. The T badge carries a whole lot of reliability and solidity with it.
That said,the resale of a Corolla is a shade better ; the max dip in resale now is on the 2008 pre-Altis Corollas
Old 22nd March 2012, 22:22   #4414

Originally Posted by KMohanan View Post
If you wait patiently for 1-2 months, it is likely that you may get a person, who is interested in buying a new beat. In this case, you may get 3- 3.25 Lakhs. This is not bad !
I'm off the Beatie. Don't want to make the figures public as I can't deny a bit of distress in my sale, though the distress was mainly in finding buyers. If anyone need to know personally, please PM me.
Old 23rd March 2012, 10:17   #4415

Originally Posted by BlackRaven View Post
What is the expected price for Logan Diesel 2007 July that has been run 75000km? It is single owner driven and in immaculate condition with complete service history. No accidents, and recently brake pads and clutch replacement and overhauling done. Tyres were changed once and the current tyres have life for another 20000 kms.
If you are intersted in Diesel Logan, a week back i had got a call from Mahindra first choice koramangala for a 38,000 km done logan. It was 4 years old DLS model. Dunno if they still have it . They were quoting 4.5 lakhs negotiable for the same.
Old 23rd March 2012, 23:52   #4416

Here are my 2 cents besides the obvious stated already by fellow Ts-

1. Better mileage on Corolla, mine gives about 12 in City and 14/15 on highway. Friends who had Civic managed only 9 in city.
2. Low Cost of Ownership. My regular Service bills have never crossed 2k.

Another point in favor especially in my case was that Corolla had a higher seating compared to Civic which mattered as I'm 6+. This is also important if you have to seat elders in the rear seat.

Hi T-BHP'ians,

I was just doing a comparison of prices of 3-5 year old Corolla's and Civic's.

I'm just trying to understand, why so ?
Yogesh.
Old 24th March 2012, 00:23   #4417

Originally Posted by ChrisFrancis View Post
Guys!
What would be a good price for a Nov '09 Civic with 45k on the odometer?
Around 8- 8.5 lacs, depending on whether this deal is happening in Bangalore or Hyderabad, and whether it is 1.8S or 1.8V. Also, you have not mentioned if this is the MT or AT variant. Add 1L more if it is the AT variant. Good luck with the deal!
Old 24th March 2012, 21:39   #4418

Hi guys,

What should be the buying price of:

* Swift VXi April, 2011 (1.2 K-Series Engine)
* 17,000 Kms
* Gurgaon Registration
* First Owner
* Insurance is going to expire in one month (April 2012)

Extras:

* 2-Din Stereo with 4 speakers in doors
* Remote Locking.
Old 24th March 2012, 21:47   #4419

^^ me believes that a 30% reduction from the vehicle's then On Road price is fair ; 4.0-4.25

Personally,I'd go for the all new Swift rather than plonk so much cash for an older model ; the new one is refreshing .

OR

Go for a G Series Swift of 2008 vintage
vigsom is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th March 2012, 12:22   #4420

Originally Posted by wanderlustindia View Post
Probable real-world price for:

Ford Fiesta 1.6 S (Aquarius Blue shade)
Nov 2009 registration - Pune
47000 kms
Single Owner
Brand new alloys and tyres (at 45000 kms)
No Accidents
Full service history with Ford A.S.S

Appreciate your responses.

-Subhash
Any answers for this . I have to make a 'sale' decision in the next few days. Appreciate your thoughts.
Old 26th March 2012, 12:26   #4421

Originally Posted by wanderlustindia View Post
Any answers for this . I have to make a 'sale' decision in the next few days. Appreciate your thoughts.

4-4.25, i would think.
youre buying or selling?
If buying, dont let on that youre an enthusiast, else youll get a jackup.
If selling(as i think you may be), well, you know who to sell it to now...
mayankk is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 26th March 2012, 12:30   #4422

Originally Posted by mayankk View Post
4-4.25, i would think.
youre buying or selling?
If buying, dont let on that youre an enthusiast, else youll get a jackup.
If selling(as i think you may be), well, you know who to sell it to now...
I am selling. Is it just me or lately Carwale seems to jack-up prices of used cars? For my car, Carwale gives a healthy 5+ lacs, which I realise is not a real-world price.
Old 26th March 2012, 20:05   #4423

How much can I expect for a just a year old Scorpio MHawk SLE BS IV (with extended warranty and just a day old insurance renewal)? Considering the current price hike of Scorpios, will it be possible to get 10L+ around? Car is in immaculate condition and have almost been baby-seated for the duration of ownership :-), 16k+ on odo.
Old 26th March 2012, 21:05   #4424

What would be a decent price to ask for a 2008 Nov FIESTA 'S' in Bangalore in fantastic condition? It has only run 32,000 km and looks and drives like a million bucks even today. The car is under warranty till this November.
Is it worth going for a trade-in for the new Fiesta. I am being advised to retain this smoking hot car. What do the regulars here have to say? Would appreciate an honest opinion
Old 26th March 2012, 23:52   #4425

Originally Posted by Dushie View Post
If you are intersted in Diesel Logan, a week back i had got a call from Mahindra first choice koramangala for a 38,000 km done logan. It was 4 years old DLS model. Dunno if they still have it . They were quoting 4.5 lakhs negotiable for the same.
I too Checked out a 6 months old Verito here at Nagpur with 18000 Kms on Odo. Scratchless belonging to an MLA.Asking Price was 5.25 Lacs.