Old 6th June 2008, 18:25   #661

Originally Posted by manish7 View Post
They said they have already done that, but second time leakage problem was due to some loose nut bolts. :( This time the battery has gone kaput. They inform us that some circuit has blown (short?) and they would replace it & test it and would deliver the vehicle today evening....let's see! I can't believe that just one rain can cause so much damage!!!
weird stuff man, it supposed to be good enough to bear the elements....
Just goes to show kine's quality.
Talking about the battery batteries.....last time we got a new battery for the kinetic honda 3years ago,the exide guy didnt have the drainage pipe so didnt install it....now the leaking battery water collected on the chassis, eating it up and finally a month ago the chassis broke from under the battery (but was still intact) the stand was grazing the road, still could sit at the back & push the handle forward forward to drive to the mechie. 18.5 years the chassis lasted
Bought a new chassis the next day, and the kine quality was surprise....The old chassis was about 19Kgs, the new one is only 13 kgs, weight reduced to increase mileage but the quality is an issue. Knock on the old chassis and it feels like gun metal, almost no sound, this new one sounded like a hollow metal pipe. And all the side and corner fitting were bend beyond recognition, took a lot of art to bring them back to place while assembling the bike.
Even a friend with a nova has been facing persistent problems....the company guys change the rectifier and blame the battery, change the battery blame the rectifier and wiring.....its a never ending thing, he's also got the bore-piston changed twice through warranty b/c of failure.
Best is to stay away from kinetic, one can do with a overbooked A.S.S but not a problematic product, if one has kinetic they should seriously think about using after market service.
Old 6th June 2008, 20:21   #662

The fuel tank problem is a design flaw in Flyte that was rectified in newer Flytes - Abhinav, you probably have the newer one.

I am consulting one consumer forum activist to know how can we file for exemplary damages against Kinetic.
Yes, you are right Manish, i bought my Flyte on May 5th if i remember right. But it was surely in May. So i guess the design flaw was rectified by then and i dont have any issues with the fuel tank (so far!!)

Dont let the Kinetic guys lightly and you have taken a good decision consulting a consumer forum activist. All the best!!
Old 7th June 2008, 00:06   #663

I purchased my Flyte on 6 th April on Gudi Padwa Day. Dunno if the Fuel Tank on my Flyte is the Problem one or the rectified one. But have not experienced any Issues as such. Just that after 1st Servicing the Mileage has dropped to around 30 while it was around 35 before 1st Servicing.
I have not driven my Flyte in Heavy Rains till now but in mild rains, have not experienced any Issues as such.
Old 9th June 2008, 13:07   #664

The vehicle was delivered on Friday evening and worked fine on the weekend; but again today while my wife was taking it to the hospital; it refused to start and horn was not working either. The vehicle is again taken by Kinetic engineers to the service station!!!

Annoyingly - Mr. Mahajan called up from there and told my wife that everything is working fine....he had audacity to tell her that probably she doesn't know how to start, and she should come there (and her patients would go to hell!) and show him how she starts the vehicle!

Don't know what crap these Kinetic people put in their vehicles!!!

Note from mod: do not use more than 2 smileys per post

Last edited by tsk1979 : 9th June 2008 at 16:26. Reason: more tnan 2 smileys
manish7 is offline   Received Infraction
Old 9th June 2008, 15:54   #665

...tell her that probably she doesn't know how to start, and she should come there and show him how she starts the vehicle!
Thats typical authorised serivice centre,"the user knows little or nothing" attitude. Some guys talk like its the first 2/4 wheeler ever made and they are introducing us to it. I can never forget my experience with the Honda service guys!
Old 10th June 2008, 10:41   #666

Originally Posted by gendarmee View Post
I can never forget my experience with the Honda service guys!
gendarmee; can you please share your experiance with Honda?

My friend is happy using Activa for past 4 years and i am an enthu owner of Aviator for last 3 months. My experiance, the Honda bikes has solid built quality and attitude of the service guys doesnt matter much !

Dhruvdesh Honda gives very good service if you happen to reside in bangalore !
Old 10th June 2008, 13:23   #667

Honda makes better products man....we are quite happy with my sister's 4 year old Activa, even my wife's 7 year old Scooty starts fine in this rain.

The vehicle was delivered to us yesterday evening without fixing anything (there is no problem Mam, it started fine in our service center, but it didn't start yesterday morning when my wife was trying) -- after charging for petrol (on Friday they ran it for 67 kms. whereas the service center is approx. 7-8 kms from my wife's hospital). Today it did start fine and as of now running...I have asked my wife to perform Puja everyday before starting the vehicle!

We are planning to buy lemon & chilly to tie to our flyte, it might help a bit - for Kinetic engineers don't seem to figure out the problem why battery is getting drained overnight.
Old 10th June 2008, 16:13   #668

Originally Posted by sary View Post
gendarmee; can you please share your experiance with Honda?
Well yea, quality is not an issue with activa it the humbug attitude.
Plus after every service half of the fenders, handle, bolts are changed that pisses me off.
There are many things but this one particular trip worth typing out
Trip to the honda service station

Honda makes better products man....we are quite happy with my sister's 4 year old Activa, even my wife's 7 year old Scooty starts fine in this rain.
Man, its not about honda or better products. Even the kinetic honda is a Honda product, but when kinetic independently manufacturers the product, it completely screws up on the quality, thus effectively screwing a good quality product.
Thats why one has to stay away from Kinetic, even if the initial lot's quality is good it gets bad with the newer lots, more importantly with spares.
Check the quality of the paint job on a new "body kit"
and please try out a non authorized mechanic once, may be he can diagnose the electric issues, some times these authorized service centre guys have no experience and are only used to the servicing drill.
Old 20th June 2008, 17:28   #669

Sorry mods - please delete.

Last edited by Proxima : 20th June 2008 at 17:32.
Old 23rd June 2008, 15:45   #670

Hello Team...

This is my first writing in this forum..and i have been a silent reader for all these months...thanks to the gr8 reviews..and i go through all the post everyday..and have become adited to this.....

Now iam planning to take a Auto gear Sccoter to my wife and am planning to take the Suzuki Access 125. Had test driven it and found it good with a powwerful 125CC engine..Ride was comfortable and the suspension was smooth...

Now to my question is i have got the qutation and was priced as follows: Please guide me if the pricing is given reasonably... I am in Hyderabad...

Condition: New
City: Hyderabad
Color: Black

Estimated Pricing (Rs.):
Ex-Showroom: 41,210 Reg:750RTO:3,710Insurance:995Other:(T/R, Accessories: 9 Items Buzzer, No. Plate, Seat Cover, Rear/front guard, Mudgard Bumper, Mat, Side stand, Ladies footrest)2101Estimated On Road Price 48766

Kindly tell me if this pricing is ok and can i go ahead and book the scooter. And it also has a 60 day wating period.

Thanks to all in advanced, wating for your valued suggestions.
Old 24th June 2008, 10:25   #671

I would suggest you go with either an Activa, Dio or Aviator. Honda is proven and has good service back up. Access the waiting is too much and the company is still confused about indian market and its requrements. I hardly see any Access on Bangalore roads... Also chk if there is a service center of Suzuki nearby. Only 2 or 3 of them shouldering whole volumes.

Happy Riding!
Old 25th June 2008, 14:35   #672

I am in the market for an ungeared scooter, for use by me, as well as the family in general, for running short errands. Have zeroed in on the Activa, for now. Any inputs on what to expect on the service front ? How is the service centre they have in Kothrud, because thats where I live..
Old 26th June 2008, 16:08   #673

Originally Posted by vito_parry View Post
And it also has a 60 day wating period.
Access is a good one'
Book it through a district distributor, you'll get it within 5 days or bribing will get you the bike in a week or 2 at the city place.
Old 27th June 2008, 19:20   #674

2 wheeler for my wife

Hello Everyone,

I have been driving cars for since 1995 and 2 wheelers since 1997. Unfortunately my wife is too scared of driving herself ever since she lost her father in a bike accident. It has taken me 4 years to convince her to learn riding and later driving.

What would be suitable for her first lessons? I am not keen on purchasing a second hand vehicle.
For a new two-wheeler, I need:
1. Light weight machine yet sturdy
2. Easy to learn (Anything that scares wifey is a no-no)
3. Reliability. I will keep it for 5yrs atleast.

The expected ride is about 10kms/day. Please come up with suggestions on what scooter to buy. She is 5'4"
Old 27th June 2008, 19:28   #675

Considering the background, I suggest she learn driving a car first, and then move to a two-wheeler.

An accident has left a deep impact. While your wife may start learning after you buy the scooter, she may hesitate after the initial steps. A car is safer any day, and she should feel more confident driving a car. If she can learn driving a car, and gets used to the traffic, it will be much easier for her to then move into traffic on her own.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com