Team-BHP > Motorbikes
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 7th January 2020, 21:39   #4096
BHPian

Re: The Royal Enfield 500 Classic thread!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashwinprakas View Post
So to put it simply, the possibility of the TPS resulting in this condition simply going by logic doesn't make sense, but then again I'm no expert on FI systems hence why my arguments are suggestive so far.
Cheers,
A.P.
Got curious after reading the following excerpt from the manual. For the record, I find myself very much in ease with carburetor motorcycles

The Royal Enfield 500 Classic thread!-manual.jpg
adrian is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th January 2020, 21:50   #4097
Distinguished - BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by adrian View Post
What is the chance of the TPS being a culprit in the scenario ?
The Throttle Position Sensor is high on my list of suspect parts that could be causing the engine to run rich.

As was mentioned above, it does have an influence on the spark timing but its main job is to tell the ECU how much fuel needs to be injected into the engine inlet. If it thinks the throttle is half way open when in fact it is only one quarter of the way open, the ECU will inject enough fuel to meet the demands of a half open throttle. Needless to say, that would be much more fuel than is needed.

The TPS is just a variable rheostat. A mechanical device that changes the amount of electricity it allows to pass thru it depending on its position.
If something goes wrong with it and it allows too little or too much power to pass thru it, whatever is using that power will not operate correctly.

After checking the electrical connections as I mentioned above, if the problem is not solved, replacing the TPS and setting it to the correct position could fix the rich fuel condition.

Last edited by ArizonaJim : 7th January 2020 at 21:51.
ArizonaJim is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th January 2020, 13:44   #4098
BHPian

Quote: