Old 11th October 2021, 12:15   #496

Re: MG Astor Review

Prices revealed for the Astor. Quite competitive I must say.
MG Astor Review-screenshot_2021101112122706_f9ee0578fe1cc94de7482bd41accb329.jpg  

Last edited by JJ1991 : 11th October 2021 at 12:20. Reason: Typo
JJ1991 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 11th October 2021, 12:16   #497

Some screenshots from Launch event video,

Interesting comparison to see when they shard the price range for competition.

MG continues the trend from Internet inside to AI inside.

MG Astor Review-screenshot_20211011121426.png

MG Astor Review-screenshot_20211011121231.png

MG Astor Review-screenshot_20211011120821.png

MG Astor Review-screenshot_20211011120724.png

MG Astor Review-screenshot_20211011120621.png

MG Astor Review-screenshot_20211011120612.png

Last edited by saikarthik : 11th October 2021 at 12:19.
saikarthik is offline   (30) Thanks
Old 11th October 2021, 12:18   #498

Originally Posted by neoonwheels View Post
Did they talk about the option pack (ADAS) pricing? It would be on top of the ex-showroom pricing I believe
They have only lane change, blind spot and rear cross traffic as standard on Sharp

Rest driver assistance are optional. I wonder what the price would be for optional.
KapilD is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th October 2021, 12:20   #499

Originally Posted by KapilD View Post
They have only lane change, blind spot and rear cross traffic as standard on Sharp

Rest driver assistance are optional. I wonder what the price would be for optional.
So as I expected, this would be in Creta/Seltos/Kushaq/Taigun price bracket once you add the ADAS pack (Assuming 50-70K). In Pune post ADAS add-on (50-70K est), the pricing on road should be 20.5-21L OTR.
neoonwheels is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th October 2021, 12:21   #500

IMHO, excellent pricing. Not disruptive for sure, but not greedy too. The Kushaq and Taigun have tough times ahead and this might even dent Creta/Seltos' Petrol chunk.

Did you guys notice how crisp and organized this price reveal event was? MG has done a fantastic job so far with the build-up and lead-up to this event.

Last edited by shibulijack : 11th October 2021 at 12:23. Reason: typo
shibulijack is offline   (18) Thanks
Old 11th October 2021, 12:22   #501

So ₹16.78L ex-showroom for the Turbo Petrol. Will roughly be ₹21.5L OTR in Bangalore WITHOUT ADAS.

Given the better drive and comfort the Creta offers, I don't really see this as a Creta competitor at all. Yes, it has a turbo-charged engine but also has one less cylinder than the Creta.

Overall, the Creta wins this contest in my books.
ashwin.terminat is offline   (22) Thanks
Old 11th October 2021, 12:25   #502

Wow, the base Style variant seems excellent VFM. Just the right kind, with almost all essential features under 10L Ex-Showroom price. Might seriously consider upgrading from my humble Swift. Would wait for 6-8 months or so for initial batches and niggles to be sorted out though.

Good job MG.

Last edited by abhijeetd_swift : 11th October 2021 at 12:26.
abhijeetd_swift is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 11th October 2021, 12:26   #503

Guess pricing these days is completely based on Demand vs Supply, manufacturers who know they have some cars to sell are pricing it accordingly.

I have a mixed feeling about this pricing, veering more towards negative then positive, I think if staying in same segment, VW is a better choice. Creta anyway is hardly available. If I move to next segment, you are better of buying the hector. I guess what this will do is help MG sell some more hector then Astor itself. Some one who steps into showroom for Astor will end up thinking it's better to buy a hector, by just missing out on ADAS I get much more car and a segment jump too, by shelling out almost same price(I am guessing a premium of around a lac on ADAS features), I get one variant below of top of the line hector.
AtheK is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 11th October 2021, 12:27   #504

MG Astor launched.
Via- Powerdrift's Youtube community post.
Appreciate their pricing, would recommend this over Seltos/Creta primarily for better safety.
MG Astor Review-screenshot_2021101112263189_7a4090f09f6554852d748ee9fd6f40d3.jpg  

Old 11th October 2021, 12:27   #505

Originally Posted by ashwin.terminat View Post
So ₹16.78L ex-showroom for the Turbo Petrol. Will roughly be ₹21.5L OTR in Bangalore WITHOUT ADAS.
I don't think the calculation is correct. Creta's SX Turbo (not the Opt top-end) costs 16,83,000 ex-showroom which translates to 20,92,486 on road. So Astor should cost a little less than that, around ~20.8L.
shibulijack is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th October 2021, 12:29   #506

After a few days of thought, here is what I feel -

1. MG Astor though is a lovely car in a small package (emphasis on small), does not feel like an upgrade for my Verna. Especially the boot space is a bit too small.

2. I did not like Hyundai Creta, XUV 700, Skoda/VW twins either.

3. Kia Seltos is OKish, but does not feel like the one that I can drive for another 8 years.

4. Jeep Compass is above 30L OTR and not sure if it is value for money at that range.

5. But what MG Astor has done is - It pulled me to an MG showroom and I did check out the MG Hector for all the space it offers. Especially the MG Hector Plus with captain seats. MG Hector seems insanely value for money product. My wife is sold on the Hector.

I do understand it is not a driver's car. But it makes the most sense as a family car at the price point and also feels like an upgrade for my 2014 Verna. Watched a number of youtube videos on the Hector and was surprised to know the maintenance costs. Also, of late have been observing the many Hectors on the road, which until now have been invisible to my eyes for some reason.

I will wait for a few more months to see, if MG brings in an upgrade for the Hector with ADAS features. And a diesel automatic may the icing on the cake. But I know - the diesel AT is probably not in their plans.

So thats it wil MG Astor for now. But some misses in the price reveal - I was expecting details of the ground clearance, boot space, etc. And no details on the Sharp Options pack as well.
Naetik30 is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 11th October 2021, 12:29   #507

I’m waiting for the drive reviews off the CVT variant, for a fairly sedate driver that should be the one to pick, I’m happy it comes in below 15 Lacs on road in Delhi, with decent enough kit.
armaan_singh is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th October 2021, 12:30   #508

I hope the CVT drives well. If it does then I would definitely go for an upgrade from my Baleno. Although space would be less(somehow I have this feeling) , the safety and automatic at this price point is really good.
Old 11th October 2021, 12:30   #509

Originally Posted by ashwin.terminat View Post
That is my thinking as well and with ADAS it will be 23 lakhs or more OTR in Bengaluru. XUV7OO seems to be a better deal for me at this price point.
Old 11th October 2021, 12:32   #510

Pricing seems good for sure. I couldn't understand exactly how much the ADAS will cost extra. Maybe have to look a bit more in detail. Perhaps they are not yet clearly decided on how to offer it? Could have handled a bit better IMO.

Also worth noting - the pricing is applicable for DELIVERIES IN 2021 by the looks of it. That's a bit cheeky by MG isn't it? Its not for say "First X customers". How many actually get the car at this price - is completely dependent on how many cars MG decides to deliver this year. Not very confidence inspiring is it? They should have gone the M&M way IMO - given the car actually seems very very good overall!

Last edited by Reinhard : 11th October 2021 at 12:33.
Reinhard is offline   (3) Thanks