![]() | #31 | |
BHPian Join Date: Feb 2015 Location: Chennai
| ![]() Quote:
EVs are super-efficient in slow-moving traffic because of their regen functionality. About using AC, there are YouTubers abroad who have camped in their ZS EV overnight with AC running, it usually drains 10% to 15%. You can assume you will drain 1% of the battery every hour. In the case of Nexon, even if you assume double the drain, it's still 2% per hour which is still very good. One reason I want to get an EV is to sit in the car for hours worry-free without the guilt of burning fuel. | |
![]() | ![]() |
|
![]() | #32 |
BHPian Join Date: Oct 2021 Location: New Delhi
| ![]() The reviews are now ending abruptly, I really like small tits/bits team uses to add at the end of section after every review. In the car, it's a complete package in itself, but could not fathom why Tata cannot rule this tiny irritant like miss-aligned pieces, crude aux button etc. |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #33 | ||
Senior - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Oct 2007 Location: Seattle/Pune
| ![]() Quote:
![]() | ||
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #34 | |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Jul 2015 Location: Bangalore-Kochi
| ![]() Great review as always ![]() Hope Tata brings out more and more models & tech to common people at affordable prices. Wishing them all the success. Quote:
Whenever a review comes up in Team-BHP, I used to read the "Other points" section first. Missing it now a days. | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #35 | ||||||
BHPian Join Date: Sep 2019 Location: Bengaluru
| ![]() Quote:
in MAX, the onboard charger supports 7.2/50 charging rates, so you are good there. | ||||||
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #36 | |
BHPian Join Date: Dec 2008 Location: MYS-BLR
| ![]() Quote:
My wishlist for MG is as follows - a. Raise the equipment levels in the Excite model to include everything which Exclusive has, except for the sunroof and self driving features. b. Bring in the full-fat self driving feature (for which the hardware already exists), auto-dimming IRVM, front parking assist etc to the Exclusive model. Toss in ventilated seats to be atleast on par with Nexon. c. Slash pricing of both Excite and Exclusive by 2 -3 L. d. Definitely bring in the long range model, and price it where the Exclusive currently stands. e. Smart pricing such as charging separately for the fast charger for only those who need it. Without these, MG will find it really hard to push ZS EV against a competent Nexon EV Max. Last edited by qaqa : 17th May 2022 at 18:16. | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #37 |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Jan 2020 Location: Chennai
| ![]() Great going Tata motors !! I think the success of Nexon EV is more to do with its looks, especially the front, where it looks more or less like a traditional car than plane jane EV looks. I use a Verna P AT and get a mileage of 9-10 kmpl. I pay 14k EMI for the car and 15k petrol every month. I think Nexon EV max makes a perfect sense for me considering 1 Rupee/km running costs. But the EV scooters burning frequently makes me think 10 times before making any move. I will wait for at least another 2 years before making the EV move. |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #38 | |
BHPian Join Date: Dec 2008 Location: MYS-BLR
| ![]() Quote:
However, I do notice that the official reviews on Team-BHP nowadays tend to be shorter and less in-depth than the reviews of old. Not sure if this is a stylistic choice to cater to the preferences of the changing user-base. I for one do miss the details which used to get picked up and reported. For example, the review does not go into how exactly the much larger battery pack was accommodated - did the floor height increase, or did the GC reduce? Is the new motor any more noisy when compared to the original (ZS EV's new motor apparently is much quieter?). What was the WH / KM for sedate and aggressive driving..etc etc. If the test drive was part of a TaMo media drive event, I suppose there would also have been opportunity to discuss with the TaMo team. It would be nice if the reviews could also have a section capturing inputs that were obtained from the manufacturer Eg: whether a GNCAP rating for the EVs is in the works, how Tata intends to meet the 6-airbag rule etc. | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #39 | |
BHPian Join Date: Mar 2008 Location: Bangalore
| ![]() Quote:
On a side note - there are no front cup holders now. | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #40 | |||||||
Senior - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Sep 2004 Location: Bangalore
| ![]() Quote:
![]() Quote:
Please do not compare electric scooters to electric cars, most players in the former market using cheap Chinese component without any regards to safety and quality assurance, and getting their license suspended in the process. Electric cars are very safe and I do not recall any untoward incident being reported on these of late. I have been using EVs for 6+ years now without any issues. Please do consider getting one soon, as it fits your use case to the T. Last edited by Turbanator : 17th May 2022 at 21:13. Reason: back to back posts merged. | |||||||
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #41 |
Senior - BHPian ![]() Join Date: May 2009 Location: Chennai
| ![]()
Wow! That itself is at least 1.2 crore litres of fuel, 1 lakh litres of engine oil and 50k litres of transmission oil not consumed per year! (@ 40 litres of fuel a month, 4 litres of engine oil per year and 4 litres of transmission oil every two years per ICE car). |
![]() | ![]() |
|
![]() | #42 | |
BHPian Join Date: Dec 2012 Location: bangalore
Infractions: 0/1 (5) | ![]() Quote:
When you look at the prices in UK, the MG ZS 51kwh costs £27745 for SE variant (equal to our exite) and the trophy variant (equal to our exclusive variant) costs £29995, the long range 72kwh SE version costs £29995. So by that logic, I think MG should either drop the price or get the long range version and price it the same as current exclusive version. All the tit bits like panoramic roof, 6 speakers, rain sensing wipers aren't worth the Rs 4 lakh price premium of the exclusive variant. Last edited by aim120 : 17th May 2022 at 21:02. | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #43 | |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Dec 2019 Location: TN37 / KA01
| ![]() Quote:
But, unless and until the vehicle is crash-tested and gets a poor score, I don’t get the idea of having it in the Cons section. Regards, Vaishak Murugesan Last edited by Sheel : 17th May 2022 at 21:32. Reason: Please do not quote an entire post. Please quote selectively. Thanks. | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #44 |
BHPian Join Date: May 2022 Location: Noida
| ![]() A really point on and crisp review as always ![]() TAMO has launched the Nexon EV max at the price of 18-20 lakhs (approx Ex-showroom) . Now , i wonder where will the Tata Curvv be placed . Will we be seeing the normal range Nexon EV being discontinued ?? Will the Curvv be priced above the Nexon EV Max ?? OR some much wilder speculation 1 - TAMO will kill the Nexon and replace it with the Curvv , first they will discontinue the Nexon EV and then place the Curvv EV version in place of the Nexon EV and then the ICE Nexon will also be replaced by the ICE Curvv OR 2 - TAMO can rebrand the Curvv as the new Nexon , this looks as the most viable choice . The Nexon name sure carries trust nowdays and is TAMO,s one of the best sellers in the sub 4 meter space . I hope they utilise that name and not ditch it . What are the thoughts of other Bhpians on this ? ![]() |
![]() |
![]() | #45 |
BHPian Join Date: Jul 2021 Location: tirunelveli
| ![]() Test drove the Nexon EV for the first time ever today! Must say me and my better half were speechless about the car and the tech it came packed within. We’re contemplating on selling our I20 diesel and making that switch to an EV. We were blown away by the manner in which the vehicle did its job silently at the same time delivering that kind of instant torque for some fun drives. Since the dealer had only the standard Nexon EV and not the EV max, we’re now in two minds whether to go for it or to take the TD of the Max and then take a call. We were really awestruck with our TD experience today being first timers for EV and must say that we’re rather convinced that the time to make that switch from ICE has come. Since the EV (if we get one) won’t be our primary car, we need to decide on signing the dotted line . Is it going to be the EV or the EV max? The dealer promised a waiting period of atleast 3 months for both. PS: The EV will be primarily used for city commutes and school pickups plus we have a private parking facility with provisions to install a charger. Any sort of expert opinions welcome Last edited by pradheepsr : 17th May 2022 at 21:12. |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() |