Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India > Post-War

Old 20th November 2023, 18:47   #331
KPS

The festival of Dasara celebrates the victory of good over evil. It was the day when Goddess Chamundeshwari (Durga) killed the demon Mahishasura, whose slaying by the Goddess gave the city its name Mysuru (Mysore).

The Mysore traditionally has a massive celebration in this festival. The Palace lead ceremonies includes a major elephants procession and is traditionally presided by the Maharaja of Mysore. Cars were always part of the celebrations at the Palace functions, especially during Ayudha puja.

Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-1.jpg
Picture of a painting from the Palace walls at Mysore shows a traditional procession with all the pomp and glory. The King is seen riding on the famous Golden Howdah, which still exists. The Howdah is 750 kgs in weight, including 85 kgs of gold sheets now carries gods idol in the procession.

So when the Karnataka Vintage and Classic Car Club (KVCCC), in association with Advaith Hyundai organised a road trip to Mysore and display of cars at Mysore Palace, I was very excited.

My 1947 DB18 saloon was part of the Mysore fleet and was sold by Mysore Maharaja Jayachamaraja Wodeyar in 1957, to his classmate K N Srinivasan. Hence, she would be returning to the Mysore Palace after 66 years! Another major milestone would achieved under my current ownership!

The DB18 now sports “Mysore” to commemorate this re-visit. On the left is the Gandaberunda, the mythical bird which was the Emblem of the erstwhile Kingdom of Mysore, under the Wodeyar rulers. DLOC and KVCCC badges are flanked by the road trip badges.
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-1a.jpg

The flag-off of this event was very high profile with the senior ministers making their presence felt at the wonderful Vidhana Soudha.

Making our grand entry to Vidhana Soudha, the seat of the Government of Karnataka
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-1b.jpg

Under the watchful eyes at the entrance "Government Work is God's Work"
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-1c.jpg

Slowly the other cars line up
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-1d.jpg

Proudly displays the KVCCC-Advaith Mysore Dasara Badge
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-1e.jpg

Pictures with the magnificient Soudha
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-1f.jpg

Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-1g.jpg

Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-1h.jpg

Dollu Kunitha is a traditional folk dance with drums, from Karnataka
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-1i.jpg

Dollu or drum is associated with Lord Shiva, known for his aggression and fierce dance (bhairava tandava dance). This is a very high enegy dance form
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-1j.jpg

I pose with them, as one of them wants a picture on his phone!
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-1k.jpg

The flag-Off by the Transport Minister, Shri Ramalinga Reddy
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-1l.jpg

In the papers!
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-1m.jpg

We line up after Flag-Off for our depature to Mysore
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-1n.jpg

The departure of the cars to Mysore
https://www.instagram.com/reel/CyqGTpnhkkd/?hl=en

The above reel was liked by more than 65K
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-6.jpg

This was also shared by FIVA (the Fédération Internationale des Véhicules Anciens), The International Federation for Historic Vehicles and acknowledges the views of more than 2.5 lakh !
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-7.jpg

Last edited by Aditya : 20th November 2023 at 18:50.
KPS is offline   (30) Thanks
Old 20th November 2023, 18:47   #332
KPS

We had a good drive to Mysore the new Mysore Road made the whole experience fantastic.

BHPian Kasli, took these pictures of the Daimler in action, passing the famous rocks of Ramanagara.
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-2a.jpg

Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-2b.jpg

Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-2c.jpg

Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-2d.jpg

We drove straight to the Advaith Hyundai, Mysore Showroom for its inauguration. We got a great welcome to Mysore
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-2e.jpg

My buddy and his wife from Mysore, join me on this historical revisit to the Palace
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-3ea.jpg

Negotiating the roads to the Palace with much anticipation
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-3.jpg

Mysore Palace, also known as Amba Vilas Palace, is a historical palace and a royal residence of the Wodeyar Kings. The palace is in the centre of Mysore, and faces the Chamundi Hills in the eastward direction.The Palace has four entrances, main entrance is called “Jaya Maarthaanda” to the east, “Jayarama” to the North, ”Balarama” to the South and “Varaha” to the west

The car would be entering one of the entrances to the main Palace, after 66 years ! Entry through the South Gate, Balarama
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-3a.jpg

We make our way through the crowds and see the magnifcient palace on the left. There is a immense sense of satisfaction as I take car back to it's orginal home!
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-3ab.jpg

Finally made it. Under my ownership, this is one of major items to be ticked.
The setting sun makes a beautiful halo over the Palace.
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-3b.jpg

The halo over Palace gives the impression that this visit is blessed
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-3e.jpg

I proudly stand absorbing this occassion!
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-3c.jpg

Mysore 89 (MYB 89) proudly shows her colours. Seems to be happy to be back to its first home!
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-3d.jpg

With my Mysore buddies
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-3eb.jpg

The halo of the setting sun comes down on the car before disappearing for the night !
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-3f.jpg

During the Dasara Celebrations it is estimated that close to 1 Lakh electric bulbs are used to illuminate
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-3g.jpg

Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-3h.jpg

Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-3i.jpg

The reflections of the wonderfully illuminated Palace is beautifully captured on the car!
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-3j.jpg

Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-3k.jpg

Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-3l.jpg

After a successful visit and display at the Palace we leave, much to the excitement of the crowds as they wave us bye!
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-3m.jpg

The city of Mysore continues to celebrate well after we leave the Palace
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-3n.jpg

We too celebrate at the hotel.

KPS

Last edited by Aditya : 20th November 2023 at 18:49.
KPS is offline   (44) Thanks
Old 20th November 2023, 18:47   #333
KPS

The next day was to drive from Mysore for a day visit to Gonikoppa in Coorg, for the inauguration of the Advaith Hyundai, Gonikoppa Branch.

I took this opportunity to plan ahead and visit my Ain-Mane, which is close to Gonikoppa.

Ain-manés are the ancestral homes of the native communities in Koḍagu, and have an important role in their socio-cultural traditions. Each ainmané belongs to an okka (patrilineal clan) that is identified by its mané péda (name of the okka).

The traditional ainmanés of Koḍagu have a unique architectural style. Those that are still standing today generally date from about 150 to 250 years ago, and have evolved from the simple balyamanés of earlier times. Currently there are about 1720 okkas in Koḍagu (including about 1040 Koḍava, 320 Gouḍa and 360 okkas of other communities). Nearly 60% of them no longer have traditional ainmanés.

Source:
Traditionally all the members of an okka lived in a large ancestral ainmane house, which was also a focal meeting points in the rural landscape. The name of my Okka is "Kuppanda", hence a visit to Kuppanda Ain-mane was planned. Our Ain-Mane is about 200+ years old and is maintained by the extended Kuppanda family.

So the Daimler and the Beetle went on this trip to the Kuppanda Ain-Mane. BHPian's Karlos and Kasli were in the Beetle. They had come down from Mumbai to participate in the event and drive my Beetle

Enroute to Coorg, we stop for a tender coconut break.
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-4.jpg

Weekend traffic is nightmare all over Coorg. Over tourism is a major problem
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-4a.jpg

Off we go across the country roads towards the Kuppanda Ain-mane
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-5.jpg

The cars arrive, even the colours seem to match!
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-5a.jpg

Everything is eye catching !
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-5b.jpg

We explain to Karlos and Kasli our customs and traditions. They even have a sit at the designated place for the guest of the Ain-Mane. Local black coffee made with jaggery was a big hit with them!
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-5c.jpg

Members of the family who had come meet us enjoyed getting to know about the cars as we patiently answered their questions
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-5d.jpg

The stone post "Kal Boti" is seen in every Ain-Mane. On cermonial occasions, oxen used to be tethered . It is considered as an adornment for the yard in front of the Ain-Mane
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-5e.jpg

I feel very happpy to have made this trip with both the cars.
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-5f.jpg

The Kuppanda family members who had come, wish us bye and thank us for having made it to the Ain-Mane. I feel honoured.
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-5g.jpg

Off we go!
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-5h.jpg

Love this shot
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-5i.jpg

Photo shopped to give the photo a vintage look!
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-5j.jpg

Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-5k.jpg

I wanted this picture with the paddy fields, as paddy/rice is used in all our customs and traditions
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-5l.jpg

We reach back Advaith Hyundai, Gonikoppa. We were one of the last!. On the occasion of Ayudha Pooja the Dealership did pooja for the car.
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-5m.jpg

After a sumptious meal, we drove back to Mysore. The Daimler passing the Beetle as we head towards my Mysore
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-8b.jpg

Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-8c.jpg

At Mysore we just relaxed and recollect the fantastic last two days and discuss more about vintage and classic cars!

Last edited by Aditya : 20th November 2023 at 18:48.
KPS is offline   (33) Thanks
Old 20th November 2023, 18:47   #334
KPS

We leave from Mysore to Bangalore, with all the best blessings
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-8.jpg

The new Mysore-Bangalore highway was great to drive. Especially as there was very sparce traffic. BHPian's Karl and Kasli in the Beetle, thebulletboy in the VW Karmen Ghia and me in the Daimler.

The roads to Bangalore as very less traffic!
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-8a.jpg

We could keep good speeds
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-8e.jpg

While we try to maintain speeds around 70 kmph, but the empty roads lulls you and before you realise, you are driving too fast. An occasional indulgence
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-8h.jpg

We made so many people happy as they saw us motoring down the road
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-8f.jpg

We had some good fun.
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-8g.jpg

We end the trip with a celebratory lunch at Bangalore Golf Club, before head to respective our homes or hotel.
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-8i.jpg

Here is a small video on the trip which captures the Daimler in action too!

The car is now ready for its next road trip in February'24!

Hope you enjoyed the journey with me

KPS
KPS is offline   (43) Thanks
Old 21st November 2023, 12:17   #335

Re: Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon

Beautiful Travelogue Sir! I must admire the pristine condition of your Daimler. It looks so majestic in front of the Palace. I am sure it must have been a very nostalgic feeling during and after the trip. And yes, you very rightly mentioned about over tourism, especially on the Mysore-Coorg sector. Weekend drives are filled with cars on highways, therefore killing the enjoyment.
Looking forward to your next travelogue. Happy & safe motoring!
Pkumarblore is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 21st November 2023, 14:08   #336

OMG! No other words to describe! Also congrats on the superbly maintained car just amazing.

The pictures are too nice, specially enjoyed the set with the palace under setting sun and with the lighting reflecting on the car as well as the ones at the Kuppanda Ain-mane

Too good sir!
sach.sri is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st November 2023, 15:22   #337

Originally Posted by KPS View Post
We made so many people happy as they saw us motoring down the road
You made us happy too! I don't know anything about these classics but I admire you to take these cars to where people won't take their modern sedans. The VW Karmen Ghia is really a treat to my eyes. Would love to know more about it.

Thank you for sharing these wonderful pictures with us.
ex-innova-guy is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 21st November 2023, 17:18   #338

I was traveling to Bangalore that day and saw the convoy of classics! Absolutely beautiful old timers
McLaren Rulez is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 21st November 2023, 18:06   #339

KPS sir did see your vehicle in Anechowkur and recognized it as yours. Both the vehicles looked gorgeous and was a eye turner. Did see the jeep convoy of Willys waiting for you in the forest.

Maddy
maddy42 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd November 2023, 12:13   #340
KPS

Originally Posted by maddy42 View Post
KPS sir did see your vehicle in Anechowkur and recognized it as yours. Both the vehicles looked gorgeous and was a eye turner. Did see the jeep convoy of Willys waiting for you in the forest.
Maddy
Hi Maddy,

It was great to meet the Flat Fenders Club of Coorg. I am glad we could coloborate for this meeting and enthusiasm shown by you all was very warming. Yes I did pass you all at Anechowkur, as I was heading to the Ain-Mane. It was sight to see all the jeeps parked waiting for the rest of the cars to arrive from Mysore.

Glad I could spend time with the Flat Fender Club of Coorg. Happy memories

KPS
KPS is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2023, 00:11   #341

Such an amazing history and story of the car. Wonderful to see it visit its home after so many years. Thank you sir for a wonderful read.
Jekyl87 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 15th January 2024, 08:23   #342
KPS

Since I moved to Mumbai in November'23, the Daimler followed me later and was trucked in early January

Mid-Night is always a great time to load the car!
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-1a.jpg

She was safely despatched in an enclosed flat bed
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-1b.jpg

Unloaded at mid-night at Mumbai. She had travelled well.
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-1c.jpg

Every Sunday the Mumbai V & C entusiasts, meet at Horiman Circle, around 8 am. Drive followed by Brun Maska and Chai is the order of the day!

It was decided that we drive on the Atal Setu today and I was not going to miss this opportunity.

At Worli Sea Link on the way to Horiman Circle

The fantastic Worli Sea Link
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-2.jpg

The Mumbai Trans Harbour Link (MTHL), also known as the Atal Bihari Vajpayee Sewri Nhava Sheva Atal Setu, will be open for public commute from Saturday. MTHL, India’s longest sea bridge covering 21.8 km out of which 16.5 km is over the sea, is expected to see the movement of more than 70,000 vehicles every day.

Once a 42-km drive, Atal Setu will reduce Mumbai-Navi Mumbai commute to 20 minutes. Unveiling the six-lane Atal Setu on Friday, Prime Minister Narendra Modi said: “The inauguration of Atal Setu shows India’s infrastructural prowess and underscores the country’s trajectory towards a ‘Viksit Bharat’. This project employed around 17,000 labourers and 1,500 engineers while also creating employment opportunities in the transport and construction industries.”

The Daimler on Atal Setu
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-3.jpg

This bridge is an engineering marvel. What a fantasstic drive.
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-4.jpg

Pictures from the maginificent car about to pass me!
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-5.jpg

Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-6.jpg

Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-7.jpg

Got her pictures too as she passes me!. The 1935 Rolls Roye Phantom II Continental, Ex- Jodhpur ! Pebble Beach Winner!
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-8.jpg

Amir, her owner has maitained this car superbly. He drives this valuable car regularly
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-9.jpg

The Continental rear was a sight to see. What a sight
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-10.jpg

and.... she disappears!
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-11.jpg

Back to Horiman circle for Brun Maska from legendary Yazdani Bakery!
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-12.jpg

Went of Amir Jetha's place at "Jetha Compound" for a music show. Much my pleasant surprise met my cousin and her family. I explained about the car and showed them the features.
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-13a.jpg

Time to windup and head home
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-13b.jpg

Back to base at Goregaon. The round trip was 121 kms!
Daimler Tales - 1947 Daimler DB18 Luxury Saloon-13.jpg

KPS

Last edited by Aditya : 15th January 2024 at 13:00. Reason: As requested
KPS is offline   (62) Thanks
Old 15th January 2024, 11:18   #343

Words cannot describe the beauty of this car. These photos sing its glory, KPS you so and so! Marvellous.
V.Narayan is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 16th January 2024, 10:31   #344

Kudos to you for driving this beauty through Mumbai roads over extended distances. I'd be sweating bullets navigating our unruly traffic from Goregaon to South Mumbai in a car like this. I hope you get extra distance and respect from fellow motorists. Same for the Rolls too. I'm pretty sure I saw the Rolls at Pebble Beach a few years ago when they had the "Cars of the Raj" featured section at the show.
kinetic is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 16th January 2024, 10:46   #345
KPS

Originally Posted by kinetic View Post
Kudos to you for driving this beauty through Mumbai roads over extended distances. I'd be sweating bullets navigating our unruly traffic from Goregaon to South Mumbai in a car like this. I hope you get extra distance and respect from fellow motorists. Same for the Rolls too. I'm pretty sure I saw the Rolls at Pebble Beach a few years ago when they had the "Cars of the Raj" featured section at the show.
Early mornings on Sunday is not very stressful. South Bombay is great without the Auto's.

Yes the Rolls is just superb. Looks and drives great. What a car! Amir drives that car fearlessly. More details of the car here (Pebble Beach Concours d'Elegance 2018 - With Motorcars of the Raj)

My Daimler has 2500CC engine, was no match to speed of the 7668 CC engine of the Rolls, but the sheer sight and elegance of the car overtaking me was an experience!
KPS is offline   (5) Thanks