Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Ride Safe
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 3rd June 2022, 21:45   #4096

Re: The Riding Gear thread

I bought a Signals Marsh Grey Classic (Reborn) 350 last year for touring. I was resuming motorcycling after close to 10 years (used to ride a second hand 1st generation Pulsar 180). I am vertically challenged so the bike actually intimidated me at first. So this time I did invest in some riding gear. Jotting down my opinions below (I am a newbie as would be shortly evident):

Axor Rage Warfare Carbon Fibre Helmet
  • Pros: Snug fit, D ring protectors, decent wind noise protection
  • Cons: Not sure if it really is carbon fibre given the price (Rs 8700)
I had bought a Royal Enfield Escapade helmet along with my bike However the the beak caused a lot of wind noise and I did not want to add a windscreen to the bike. Learnt my lesson and went for another helmet with lesser “protrusions”

Royal Enfield Streetwind V2 Jacket (Brown)
  • Pros: RE’s online Make It Yours program which allowed me to add L2 Knox protectors for elbow, shoulder and back. Pricing (Rs 7213)
  • Cons: Heavy and feels less airy than it appears
Bought this within a week of my motorcycle purchase and I admit it wasn’t the best researched decision. But it offers decent bang for your buck and seems like it will last (have done multi-day tours to Goa and Pondicherry in 30+ degree weather).

Rev It Eclipse Mesh Jacket (Dark Blue)
  • Pros: Lightweight, airy, nice color
  • Cons: Comes with L1 elbow & shoulder armor, back protector missing, pricier (Rs 13500 @ Orion Motors) inspite of the missing protection
Knox L2 back protector from the RE jacket fits in perfectly. However, the jackets for the elbow and shoulder protectors seem insufficient in size to accommodate the Knox armor

Was an impulse purchase because it was light and felt more suitable for shorter rides. Plus I love the color

Solace CoolPro V3 riding pants (Black)