Team-BHP > Road Safety

Old 12th June 2024, 22:58   #12661

Re: Bad Drivers - How do you spot 'em

Originally Posted by Bibendum90949 View Post
Well, this is how I spot them, . Finally, I witnessed MRF Nylo grip in action!
Those are racing slicks for maximum contact with the road.
Old 13th June 2024, 10:19   #12662

Hello All,

I usually encounter Creta, Innova Crysta, Fortuner, MGs, and Thar with all LED projector lights + additional lights often flashing from behind.

This is a menace, if there is a way in front no one would block them. They should have a few seconds of patience.

On Sunday, June 9th I came across a Wagon R on NICE road (between Tumkur road and Magadi road section), he was continuously flashing and it was so bright that for a moment I thought it was lightning. Once he passed, he continued the same with other vehicles; the sky was illuminating whenever he flashed.

The high beams + powerful lights and the audacity to flash for no reason is a menace and makes them a bad driver.

Last edited by Sheel : 17th June 2024 at 16:15. Reason: Please proofread before posting.
URWELCOME is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 17th June 2024, 15:59   #12663

Well, I thought I would count the number of bad drivers but looks like it's impossible. Adding more proof that we are the "leading" private bus operators in India.

naveen.raju is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th June 2024, 16:56   #12664

Barricade was moved by someone that it was longitudinally placed on the highways. The swift dzire could have moved earlier to right, instead, he decided to surprise the motorists at his back with the last moment move.
Old 17th June 2024, 17:16   #12665

Most of times people are bad drivers out of-

1. Haste - like the two wheelers occupying whatever road was there in the wring side too (in the post @naveen.raju has shared above). Believe me, it is the same everywhere & at times even worse when these are joined by rickshaws (electric & ICE). I believe these people assume that they will plead to authorities for forgiveness, if caught, else they can hide their misdeeds behind their poor to average economic background.

2. Inexperience - yesterday I had my heart to mouth moment when I was returning from local grocery market in my Brezza when I took a left turn at a T-point intersection. There was one Tiago, which hastily took U-turn upon seeing me enter the lane. I passed the vehicle assuming the driver would handle the U-turn cleanly. But I was wrong as the driver could not control the steering correction post completion of U-turn & was about to hit my car when I realised his folly & sped up my car out of any danger.
Old 5th July 2024, 20:52   #12666

I got served a challan for speeding way back in April.

I admit I was doing the speed mentioned 109 kmph, but in my defence, I did not know the speed limit was 100. I thought it would be 120.

Bad Drivers - How do you spot 'em-screenshot_20240705_105512_adobe-acrobat2.jpg

Bad Drivers - How do you spot 'em-screenshot_20240705_105536_adobe-acrobat2.jpg
Small Bot is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th July 2024, 10:28   #12667

Originally Posted by Small Bot View Post
I got served a challan for speeding way back in April.

I admit I was doing the speed mentioned 109 kmph, but in my defence, I did not know the speed limit was 100. I thought it would be 120.
Speed limit on ECR was always been 100KMPH. They have put those warning boards strategically just before the speed camera locations. Earlier they were just clicking the violations but it seems they started sending out notices as well now.
Old 16th July 2024, 16:25   #12668

A cop drove into a petrol pump in Kannur, Kerala, on his Maruti Swift and got the desired fuel. He drove off without paying for the fuel. Sadly, risking his life the attendant jumps on the bonnet. The outlaw, this cop drives away with the poor attendant perched on his car's bonnet. He was a police driver and has been arrested and suspended from service, after a criminal case was registered against him.

In #Kerala's #Kannur, a police driver has been booked for attempt to murder after he dashed into a petrol pump employee and drove with the man on the bonnet on being asked to pay for the fuel he filled on Monday.

The accused has been arrested and suspended from service, police said.

Kannur city police commissioner Ajith Kumar said various sections including attempt to murder were imposed against the accused and he was suspended from the service.

The arrest of the accused was recorded on Monday, police added.

The employee, Anil, was attacked when the police driver allegedly tried to leave without paying the amount for the fuel on Sunday evening, police said.

CCTV visuals of the man, clinging to the bonnet of the speeding car as it travelled along a busy highway for nearly one kilometer, went viral on social media platforms soon.

In the video, Anil can be seen having an argument with the accused, identified as K Santhosh Kumar.

As the argument escalated, the driver suddenly accelerated the car, where the petrol pump employee was thrown onto the bonnet of the vehicle. The car with the staff on the bonnet travelled and stopped after covering nearly a kilometer along the busy road.

Anil, who suffered injuries to his hands, later lodged a complaint with the Town Police.
News with the video:-

https://x.com/HateDetectors/status/1813106130630971871
Old 16th July 2024, 19:22   #12669

Just came back from a trip to Amritsar. This was my third road trip to the city, the last one being in 2016. The most frustrating trip I ever had in recent times, not just me all 3 drivers in the convoy had to same experience. I seriously do not understand why majority of the drivers from PB are so aggressive, driving high on their egos, risking their and everyone's life on the road. I can just list down so many instances from the 3-days trip.
  • A 100m red patch, everyone starts making a u-turn on a KM long flyover, can't wait for 2mins, their time is so precious. Driving in the opposite direction with their high beam ON.
  • Can't queue up behind heavy vehicles when navigating internal village roads, bulldozing their way ahead of others.
  • Can't queue up to enter parking, while most out of station cars wait in line, the locals ended up either parking on the road leaving no space for 2-cars to pass or overtaking and aggressively jumping the queue till a car comes from the opposite direction.
  • I can go on and on - tailgating, unnecessary honking, ultra bright leds etc

While most may argue this is common across the country but in PB, 9 out of 10 drivers exhibit aggressive driving behaviour on the road.
sinharishi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th July 2024, 11:23   #12670

Originally Posted by naveen.raju View Post
Well, I thought I would count the number of bad drivers but looks like it's impossible.
This is so frustrating to even watch, let alone experience it daily

Sometimes I think, what am I doing adhering to all these traffic rules etc, why not "while in Rome act like Romans do" !?

But then I think of my guvnor & consider if he would approve of it; if not let me avoid doing it!
KrisTvpm is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th July 2024, 20:04   #12671

This truck was swerving dangerously on a rainy day and showed no signs of slowing down, might be drunk driving or sleep deprived.
Venky03 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th July 2024, 20:56   #12672

Auto with 6 Men Swerves Across Lanes on Bengaluru Mysuru Highway!

Last week, I was driving from Sullia (574239) to Bengaluru. After having lunch in Mysuru, I resumed my journey on the Bengaluru-Mysuru highway. My usual speed on this highway was around 95-105 kmph. Thanks to the new AI-powered speed cameras, I kept the speed around 85-95 kmph.

After crossing Bidadi, two cars overtook me,
Bad Drivers - How do you spot 'em-img_5977.jpeg

and 15-20 seconds later, I noticed an auto rickshaw in the right lane.
Bad Drivers - How do you spot 'em-img_5979.jpeg

I initially treated it as just another vehicle, not immediately realizing that autos are prohibited on this highway. At 3:52:55, the auto was in the right lane, just a touch away, and by 3:52:57,
Bad Drivers - How do you spot 'em-img_5980.jpeg

it had zipped past me, cutting sharply into the left lane.
Bad Drivers - How do you spot 'em-img_5981.jpeg

With shock, I slammed on the brakes and moved to the left lane to increase the braking distance, coming to a stop very close to the auto. I felt a huge sigh of relief as my family was with me in the car.

Normally, I consider myself very patient, but this incident left me furious. The auto then moved back to the right lane, causing a significant traffic buildup. As I overtook them, I was shocked to see six men inside the auto—three in the front and three in the back—looking very much like goons. After overtaking, I was watching them in my rearview mirror and saw them repeatedly changing lanes and creating chaos on the road. Fortunately, the other vehicles were not travelling at high speeds.

Here is the full video of the incident:

From this experience, I would like to share a few important points:
  1. Stay Alert: Highways like these can make you feel less engaged. Just half an hour before this incident, I was feeling bored driving at 80-90 kmph and thought the speed limit should be increased to 120 kmph. Now, I believe the 100 kmph limit is appropriate.
  2. Expect the Unexpected: The highway is access-controlled on paper, but not in reality. Be prepared for anything you might encounter on a normal road.
  3. Better Enforcement Needed: Despite significant toll collection, there should be patrols at entry and exit points to enforce restrictions more effectively (or consider closing some entry and exit points).
  4. Maintain Your Vehicle: I changed my brake pads a month ago, and the old ones were almost worn out. Don't delay the replacement of critical parts, as they can be crucial in unexpected situations.
madhukarmohan is offline   (17) Thanks
Old 20th July 2024, 21:36   #12673

Re: Auto with 6 Men Swerves Across Lanes on Bengaluru Mysuru Highway!

Originally Posted by madhukarmohan View Post
Thanks to the new AI-powered speed cameras, I kept the speed around 85-95 kmph.
Thanks, I am not sure how an AI-powered camera keeps the speed at 85-95 km/h? Could you elaborate please?
Jeroen
Jeroen is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th July 2024, 22:06   #12674

Originally Posted by Jeroen View Post
Thanks, I am not sure how an AI-powered camera keeps the speed at 85-95 km/h? Could you elaborate please?
Jeroen
I meant that because of the speed cameras, I kept the speed in check (<100 kmph).
Old 20th July 2024, 23:02   #12675

Originally Posted by Jeroen View Post
Jeroen
Usually, one can spot the speed camera, slow down, and speed up afterwards till you spot the next one. Now, there are sectional speeding cameras, which check the time you have taken from one camera to the other one installed several km ahead and then send you a message with how much fine to pay

There is not much awareness about them so much so, that policemen in the tourist city of Mysore are standing at various junctions to scan specific outstation vehicles like the ones from Bangalore and then collect the fine before they go back to their respective places.

Last edited by Aditya : 27th July 2024 at 07:15. Reason: Grammatical errors
Kosfactor is offline   (6) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com