Team-BHP > Travelogues > Route / Travel Queries

Old 4th February 2009, 20:39   #31

Route Info needed Del-Nainital-Corbett-Delhi

Moradabad Bypass - Bazpur - Kaladunghi - Nainital.
After a few kms, you will see a signboard, with left fork going to Corbett, and right fork to Bazpur-Nainital.
The route is 30kms shorter and the road is awesome forest track.
Originally Posted by Shankyz View Post
I took that route while coming from Delhi, but 10-15 kms from Tandla, the bridge is broken, I didn't see any toll bridge on this route upto the point I travelled, had to turn back and went back to Tandla from where I took a village road and came via Suar, Munshiganj (A small village) and joined the same road (Moradabad - Bazpur) at someplace after the broken bridge.

The route is awesome and I guess after the bridge is repaired, should be the best route for Delhi - Nainital.
Hey guys,
I am planning a weekend trip to Nainital & Corbett
The plan is
Delhi--->Nainital--->Corbett--->Delhi
Originally my plan was to take Delhi-Moradabad-Rampur-Rudrapur-Haldwani-Nainital
But after reading the forums I have found out two better routes.
  • Moradabad Bypass - Bazpur - Kaladunghi - Nainital.
  • Moradabad Bypass – Rampur – Nainital
I have gone to corbett before and understand the U turn after the Moradabad Xpress way.
Which route after Moradabad should I take as I have read quite a few posts and am confused as some roads are closed some bridges are broken. Please advise the best route?

In Nainital I plan to stay for 2 night at Balrampur House. However as it is the low season if anyone who has stayed at KMVN guesthouses please advise if I should stay there as they too are available.
I am getting Balrampur house for 2100 per night and the KMVN are available for 900 a night.
Is the location for the KMVN better than the Balrampur house??
We plan to eat outside hotel.
What about parking at both the places?

After 2 nights from Nainital---Ramnagar—Corbett.
What should be the best route for this.

Plan to stay here for 2 nights in the FRH.

Then come back to Delhi Via Kashipur-Moradabad-Delhi
Also how safe are these routes.

Kindly advise as I plan to leave early morning on Friday and come back on Tues?

Further what would be the weather like these days. Do we need to carry a lot of woolens as I am travelling with my wife and 2 year old son??

Last edited by harjeev : 4th February 2009 at 20:41.
Old 4th February 2009, 20:53   #32

Originally Posted by harjeev View Post

Which route after Moradabad should I take as I have read quite a few posts and am confused as some roads are closed some bridges are broken. Please advise the best route?

In Nainital I plan to stay for 2 night at Balrampur House. However as it is the low season if anyone who has stayed at KMVN guesthouses please advise if I should stay there as they too are available.
I am getting Balrampur house for 2100 per night and the KMVN are available for 900 a night.
Is the location for the KMVN better than the Balrampur house??
We plan to eat outside hotel.
What about parking at both the places?

After 2 nights from Nainital---Ramnagar—Corbett.
What should be the best route for this.

Plan to stay here for 2 nights in the FRH.

Then come back to Delhi Via Kashipur-Moradabad-Delhi
Also how safe are these routes.

Kindly advise as I plan to leave early morning on Friday and come back on Tues?

Further what would be the weather like these days. Do we need to carry a lot of woolens as I am travelling with my wife and 2 year old son??
I have just come back from a 4 day trip to Corbett.
I'd advice. Strictly avoid early morning and night driving. The fog is hell. Had to stop our cars 4 times as the visibility was almost 0.

The roads are good till hapur and after gajraula. But the ones in between are not too good to be appreciated.

The bridges ain't broken but are not made fully and there are clear indications wherever the bridge is not open ( Cars / Trucks are also parked on the bridges)

Do carry woolen as the night and early morning is very chilly and if you are going inside corbett for a safari, then you definitely need good woolens ( especially with the 2 year old child ) . The wind across your hair , and head makes you feel uneasy. So its better to be safe than sorry.

I'd advice you to drop the plan of leaving early morning as I left Delhi at around 4.30 and reached Corbett only by 12 noon.
Try leaving at around 8 ( leave ghazibad at 8) and you will reach moradabad toll bridge by approx 12.

Enjoy and Have a safe trip.
Old 4th February 2009, 20:59   #33

If you are going to Nainital, go via Kaladunghi, otherwise for corbett head via Kahsipur.
Under no circumstances go to Rampur.
Old 4th February 2009, 22:42   #34

Dad is posted at Moradabad and when I went to Nainital he guided me through Kaladungi and Bajpur. I believe its the shortest route and quite scenic too.
Old 4th February 2009, 22:51   #35

Thanks guys
I will take the Moradabad - Bazpur - Kaladhungi - Nainital route
Also was earlier planning to leave home at 6am but now leave at 7. This way I can cross Gaziabad around 8ish,

Any advise on the hotel query in Nainital and the route from Nainital - Corbett??
Old 5th February 2009, 01:10   #36

There is only one direct route to Moradabad & that is throught Hapur-Gajraula. Avoid early morning or late nights because of fog & bad roads between Hapur & Gajraula. And remember the Bazpur route is for day time travel ONLY, do not even attempt to travel on it at late night.
Old 5th February 2009, 11:01   #37

Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
There is only one direct route to Moradabad & that is throught Hapur-Gajraula. Avoid early morning or late nights because of fog & bad roads between Hapur & Gajraula. And remember the Bazpur route is for day time travel ONLY, do not even attempt to travel on it at late night.
Thanks Iraghava
What route should I take when going back from Nainital to Ramnagar??
Old 5th February 2009, 11:19   #38

In the day same route as you came by i.e. Bazpuur-Kaladungi.
Old 5th February 2009, 11:41   #39

Any particular reason why?

Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
Old 5th February 2009, 11:43   #40

It's a deserted forest area GD bhai, running mainly on the outskirts of the Corbett reserve. So if one does have a problem, there'll be no help coming till day break. Not many villages on the route either.
Old 5th February 2009, 11:47   #41

When you come back from Nainital towards Bazpur,you will have to take right towards Ramnagar

there is a huge signboard,you cant miss it.

Regarding hotel stay in Nainital,KMVN mount view hotel is just bare bones.

there are a couple of good ones on Mall road like Alka hotel, or Manu Maharani(2 km before Mall Road)

or you can try this one Nainital Hotel,Hotels in Nainital India,Nainital Resort,Nainital Chevron Resort,Chevron Resort in Ranikhet,Hotels and Resort in Ranikhet

this is a totally off season and you should be able to get the best rooms in range of 2-2.5k/night.
Old 5th February 2009, 12:27   #42

Originally Posted by simply_sunny001 View Post
When you come back from Nainital towards Bazpur,you will have to take right towards Ramnagar

there is a huge signboard,you cant miss it.

Regarding hotel stay in Nainital,KMVN mount view hotel is just bare bones.

there are a couple of good ones on Mall road like Alka hotel, or Manu Maharani(2 km before Mall Road)

or you can try this one Nainital Hotel,Hotels in Nainital India,Nainital Resort,Nainital Chevron Resort,Chevron Resort in Ranikhet,Hotels and Resort in Ranikhet

this is a totally off season and you should be able to get the best rooms in range of 2-2.5k/night.
Thanks for all the help guys.
Just got word that my reservation inside the Corbett NP (dhikala) has been confirmed. So tomorrow I am off to Nainital will go via Ramnagar as I have to pick up my entry pass from Ramnagar Forest Office (i have the reservation letter)
Do you think if i start early around 7ish, that i can make it to ramnagar before 1pm.
They close the booking office at 1!

Last edited by Rehaan : 5th February 2009 at 12:59. Reason: Quote fixed.
Old 15th March 2010, 17:41   #43

Hello Everyone,

I am planning on Noida - Nainital trip starting the 2nd April and coming back on the 4th evening. Based on all the information gathered here so far, I am planning the following route:

Onwards ( Noida to Nainital )
Noida(Start at 6:00 AM on 2nd April) - Hapur - Moradabad Bypass - Bazpur - Kaladunghi - Nainital

Return (Nainital to Noida)
Nainital (Start at 1:00 PM on 4th April) - Kathgodam - Haldwani - Rampur - Moradabad - Hapur - Noida

Any suggestions on the route planned, any dates and traffic condition I should be aware off? Have couple of good inputs regarding the food joints so looking forward to this trip.

Thanks and Regards
Old 15th March 2010, 18:11   #44

Originally Posted by sumitsingh View Post
Hello Everyone,Return (Nainital to Noida)
Nainital (Start at 1:00 PM on 4th April) - Kathgodam - Haldwani - Rampur - Moradabad - Hapur - Noida
Any particular reason you want to take this route. The one which you suggested for onward journey is a far better choice.

\N
Old 16th March 2010, 10:51   #45

Why don't you come back by the same route you went to Nainital. Its more scenic and virtually devoid of traffic.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com