Team-BHP > Shifting gears
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 20th October 2015, 17:38   #1351
BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by PatchyBoy View Post
Thanks. I am sure, as long as I am aware that I am addicted to nicotine, I wouldn't dare try again, lest I have a relapse. It would be like someone telling a recovering alcoholic to have just one drink. It doesn't work.

BTW, I can never be a non-smoker. Only an ex-smoker
Congrats, the trick is your ego who is stronger your willpower or your habit. Best of luck
Old 18th January 2016, 09:24   #1352
BHPian

Re: Help smoking Team-BHP members quit smoking

Finally, after 20 years of smoking and graduating to 20 a day in the last 6-8 months, quit cold turkey. Used the long weekend to grit up and sit at home and overcome all the withdrawal pangs. Went for walks, cooked, did some DIYs at home and ATE to get over the boredom of not smoking. This is my first attempt at quitting in all of the 20 years and I always told myself, if I can avoid a smoke for 24 hrs, then I will never touch the stick again and I hope that is true.

Of course I did some preparation over the last week by listening to our dear friend Alan Carr's audio book while driving, while smoking, while eating... till I finished the book and I had the help of another friend without which I am not sure I would have been able to pull off this feat. Will reveal if I can pull through the next 4 weeks without any temptations.

It is no almost 96 hours and feeling happy, proud and comfortable. Been sleeping like a baby over the last 2 nights. I used to sometimes wake up 2-3 in a night and have a smoke.

Today is the first day at work after quitting: Today's goal, get over the urges that office pressures present.
Old 19th January 2016, 00:24   #1353
Distinguished - BHPian