Rajesh : 2 members, Scorpio
Highwaylover : 2 members, 1 cottage, Getz

Total count : 27 members

Tentative member list

Hyd_traveller : 1 member
Old 24th February 2010, 17:24   #62

Checklist of items to carry

@DKG i am listing a few things everyone must carry. please add if anything is missing.

1. Camera
2. Binoculars
3. Trek shoes (?)
4. Mosquito coil?
5. Water as much as possible?
6. ID card
7. Torch
8. Snacks
9. Small backpack

.. more?

Last edited by highwaylover : 24th February 2010 at 17:42.
Old 24th February 2010, 18:41   #63

I would also like to join. But I can only stay there on saturday as I work on sundays. Hence I am adding myself in tentative list.

DKG : 2 members, 1 cottage, Jeep
Farooque Khan: 2 members, 1 cottage
Milecruncher : 2 members, 1 cottage, Bolero
Khalid Khan : 6 members, 3 cottages, Gypsy
Fazal Ali Adil : 2 members, 1 cottage
Devidas : 2 members, 1 cottage
Nikhil : 2 members,
Saleem: 4 members, Alto or Estilo
Rajkumar Goli : 1 member, Tata TL

Tentative member list

Srimath : 2 members, Palio
Old 24th February 2010, 19:41   #64

From my side too...

Fazal : Rs 1000
DKG : Rs 1000
Khalid Khan : Rs 1000
Farooq Qader : Rs 1000
Ahmed : Rs 1000
Zahid Qadri : Rs 1000
Highwaylover : Rs 1000
Saleem: 1000

Total : Rs 8000
Old 24th February 2010, 20:55   #65

Updated with my contribution

Fazal : Rs 1000
DKG : Rs 1000
Khalid Khan : Rs 1000
Farooq Qader : Rs 1000
Ahmed : Rs 1000
Zahid Qadri : Rs 1000
Highwaylover : Rs 1000
Saleem: 1000
Rajesh: Rs 1000

Total : Rs 9000
Old 24th February 2010, 22:31   #66
DKG

The publisher of Channel 6 magazine very kindly offered to publicise these camps through her magazine.

Thanks highwaylover for initiating the checklist

1. Camera with battery charger
2. Binoculars
3. Trek shoes ideally (or atleast good walking shoes)
4. Mosquito coil/insect repellent
5. Drinking water (2 litres per person per day, you may carry this from home or buy the same at Mannanur where you get Mineral water)
6. ID card
7. Torch
8. Snacks
9. Small backpack
10. Its getting hot these days so a broad rimmed hat/cap
11. Ladies and gentlemen sensitive to sun may wish to carry a lotion with a high SPF, also long sleeve cotton shirts
12. Between all the cars we should have a couple of injury kits
13. If any of you are on prescribed medicines please carry the same
14. Please opt for cottons that have dull pastel shades that blend with the environment (as much as possible)

will add if something else strikes as essential

Originally Posted by srimath View Post
I would also like to join. But I can only stay there on saturday as I work on sundays. Hence I am adding myself in tentative list.
See what you are comfy with. It may be too hectic to drive up and return the same day after a full day's activity. Would highly recommend avoiding any night driving.

These camps will become a regular feature of Mannanur. Besides we will be launching many other programs that will see many of us visiting the place often

Originally Posted by saleem_k View Post
From my side too...
Originally Posted by adzegeek View Post
Updated with my contribution
What can I say guys !! You do Hyderabad proud !!

Its just so heartening to see so many people so deeply passionate about ensuring this amazing heritage of ours is protected for future generations

Looks like a lot of us would be firing on all 12 cylinders pretty soon

Fazal and I were discussing on the modalities of how we ensure the money is well spent. We need to have the water fill audited weekly. A volunteer team that will visit the location weekly in rotation ie one set of people on week 1, second set on week 2 and so on

Fazal and I volunteer to visit for audits, twice a month. People interested in sharing this responsibility may indicate here.

Last edited by DKG : 24th February 2010 at 22:41.
Old 24th February 2010, 22:56   #67
DKG

The forests and wildlife of AP just got themselves a new email address:

forests.wildlife@gmail.com

Please write in with your name, TBHP handle, telephone number and mailing address so they can have our contact details just in case they need to drop us a line
Old 25th February 2010, 12:20   #68

Originally Posted by DKG View Post
Fazal and I volunteer to visit for audits, twice a month. People interested in sharing this responsibility may indicate here.
I visit my home town 'Kalwakurthy' at least once a month. Its on the way to Srisailam and just 60Km from mananur. I can join if any one else is going when i am in Kalwakurthy. Or i can plan my visits to home town to coincide with the audit days. Also i think atleast one of the members in the audit team should be senior/experienced, otherwise the forest officials may take it easy.

Last edited by highwaylover : 25th February 2010 at 12:24.
Old 25th February 2010, 12:34   #69
DKG

Originally Posted by highwaylover View Post
I visit my home town 'Kalwakurthy' at least once a month. Its on the way to Srisailam and just 60Km from mananur. I can join if any one else is going when i am in Kalwakurthy. Or i can plan my visits to home town to coincide with the audit days. Also i think atleast one of the members in the audit team should be senior/experienced, otherwise the forest officials may take it easy.
Good idea. We'll work out a schedule and give the list of names to the forest officials so there won't be any confusion about why someone is visiting and asking about the watering program. Besides we'll be in touch weekly over the phone too so info on who is visiting can be confirmed
Old 25th February 2010, 12:42   #70

As we are pretty well with the numbers for now, can we have a list of confirmations in terms of number of members & the expected rides? Everytime, a new members adds his name, lets also keep the automobiles list in place, just in order to keep a tab of the expected rides.

Confirmed Members

Tentative member list

Rides for Safari:
DKG: Jeep
Milecruncher: Bolero
Khalid Khan: Gypsy
Rajkumar Goli: Tata TL
Rajesh: Scorpio

Other Cars:
Saleem: Alto or Estilo
Highwaylover: Getz

Fazal Ali Adil Saab, are you driving down in your Scorpio?
Old 25th February 2010, 14:47   #71

Looks like i will be coming alone. Updated the list

Confirmed Members
Highwaylover : 1 member, Getz

Total count : 26 members

Tentative member list

Rides for Safari:

Other Cars:
Old 25th February 2010, 17:25   #72
DKG

Had an extremely fruitful meeting with the officials of the forest department regarding our visit.

In summary the program they have agreed to is:

Saturday

Post breakfast

Forest Revival activity
or
Trek (three options)

Lunch

Rest

Wildlife sighting

Discussions/Presentations/Talk by forest official

Dinner

Sunday

Wildlife sighting
or
Visit Malleelathirtham Waterfall
or
Visit Octopus viewpoint
or
Forest Revival activity
or
Trek

Lunch

Return to Hyderabad

We also had the opportunity to meet Principal Chief Conservator of Forests (Wildlife) and mooted our proposal to fund provision of drinking water to wild animals.

As the discussion progressed he heartily agreed that we undertake such an activity for even water bowls around Hyderabad. He also spoke of help in arranging tankers etc.

In a nutshell he welcomed our proposal and showed willingness to extend full cooperation to facilitate the program

I have also discussed with forest officials my other proposals like forest road toll fee, captive wood farming corridors and cattle fodder centres. They were extremely receptive to all proposals and welcome our initiative.

We need to lobby with the government now to get the forest toll fee imposed.

Good start, hopefully we are mobilising some field action which really will help make a difference

Apart from this there is a small note to all and I request this be adhered to strictly

The forest officials have requested that all members of our group stick to the program and not deviate as per individual wishes. Please note that entry into forests is a restricted activity and only the planned trek and safari routes must be adhered to. Once in the forest NO DEVIATION from the route will be allowed.

Its my sincere request to all members to please help in making this experience extremely postive not just for ourselves but for the forest officials too.

If we pull this off smoothly as planned they will be deeply encouraged to allow more groups to visit. If we compromise the schedule and cause a disturbance for the officials they will no doubt have second thoughts of allowing more visitors in the future.

I assured them on all our behalf that they have absolutely nothing to worry. That this is a educated and informed group who understand the delicate nature of forest conservation and that all attending will only make the experience worthwhile for participants and forest officials working closely.

I have a great feeling about this camp. It just might become the permanent feature of our Tiger Reserve.

Last edited by DKG : 25th February 2010 at 17:36.
Old 25th February 2010, 20:04   #73

Deepak Ji, this is Great news. You are taking all the pains to make sure that everything we discuss here are passed on to the Forest Department guys and are fruitful.

Let us induce some more seriousness in the issue and come up with a list of Do's & Dont's. I would urge the more experienced people like you, fazal ji & etc to come up with a list.
Old 25th February 2010, 20:11   #74

Confirmed Members
Highwaylover : 1 member, Getz
BBlost: 2 members. (My wife coming along) *

Total count : 28 members

Tentative member list

Rides for Safari:

Other Cars:
BBLost: Wagon R.

* Bold to indicate new entry.
Request next person to please remove bold from my name and put it for their own. Thanks.
Old 25th February 2010, 20:28   #75

Can we have a seperate list, where we can keep a tab of who is coming with the families, just in case someone wishes to check and bring their spouse/family along.