Old 3rd November 2024, 11:13   #17941

Re: The Cricket Thread

The only good thing about this series is that the ever-annoying RoKo social media fan base is finally united now
rx100 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 3rd November 2024, 11:15   #17942

Originally Posted by rajeevsulu View Post
This is how the cookie always crumbles!! For too long, we were beating visiting teams preparing bad wickets. Payback time!
I don't agree with the bad wickets assessment.

Yes, we have spinning tracks but I don't think they can be classified as bad. What is bad is our batting, and it has been so for a while now.
Eddy is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 3rd November 2024, 11:36   #17943

Originally Posted by Eddy View Post
I don't agree with the bad wickets assessment.

Yes, we have spinning tracks but I don't think they can be classified as bad. What is bad is our batting, and it has been so for a while now.
Pathetic will be the right word, we really need to get players who are willing to grind it!

Rohit Sharma - Non deserving Player in Test arena, let alone captain.
Virat Kohli - Seems to have half of his mind in UK already.
Jaiswal - Has got the temperament, needs to apply himself.
Gill - Somehow just does not inspire confidence, he really needs to become consistent.
Sarfaraz - Now few innings in a row where he has failed, today's dismissal is a classic example of how pitch was playing on his mind even before walking in. He should still be given the confidence that he will play all 5 matches in Australia.

Seems like KL Rahul is going to be back soon, which is two steps backwards. I hope Rahane and Pujara are gone for good. Need to test new blood, if they fail, so be it, but we need to find new players in test Arena.

Atleast our T20I team seems to be settled, ODI anyway is a dying breed, no one cares.

Last edited by AtheK : 3rd November 2024 at 11:38.
AtheK is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd November 2024, 11:43   #17944

Guys, how does the Indian top order cover their backside?
They wear a Pant.

Originally Posted by rajeevsulu View Post
Darryl Mitchell put on a masterclass in the first innings as to how to play on a bad wicket.
Will Young has done even better. He's got starts in all 3 tests and played a lot of deliveries defending against Ashwin, Jadeja & Bumrah. His 50 in the second innings is probably the best I've seen from a visiting batter against us. His role has been very similar to what Pujara did in BGT 2018. Didn't score a ton of runs, but wore the opposition bowlers down for other batters to cash in

Last edited by Shumi_21 : 3rd November 2024 at 12:05.
Shumi_21 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd November 2024, 11:52   #17945

India has the best domestic cricket and definitely richest among all cricketing boards. Need not to mention how we treat Cricket as religion. Yet, we struggle to find good 11 players. The problem is not with talent pool but the mindset. We believe that Kohli who has so many centuries so he shall score many more (some day!) R Sharma is a T20 WC winning captain so he should continue leading India in Tests. Can someone remind me of any event where Indian Selectors have 'dropped' a star player for not performing over such a long period? If Rahane and Pujara made way for young blood then why not the same treatment be given to Rohit Sharma and V Kohli? Ashwin was ineffective in India and in all probability be dropped for Australia. There was Umran Malik, now disappeared. Anyways, I won't be commenting on this absurdity anymore. Hope, somehow we find our team form and atleast be competitive in Australia.
VWAllstar is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd November 2024, 11:58   #17946

Darryl Mitchell put on a masterclass in the first innings as to how to play on a bad wicket. Rishabh Pant is doing the same. The erstwhile king Kohli supposedly played a practice session against left arm spinners without pads.

This was Simon Doull on commentary. This is the seriousness with which he approaches practice. One is supposed to wear all gear one would wear in a match at practice so as to simulate exact playing conditions.

The king is above all this possibly

rajeevsulu is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd November 2024, 12:32   #17947
NPV

New Zealand scored 5 sixes in their second innings and that is likely going to prove very costly for India! The margin might just be around the 30 run mark or less.

Last edited by NPV : 3rd November 2024 at 13:02.
Old 3rd November 2024, 13:10   #17948

Originally Posted by Vinod_nair View Post
I would be the happiest if team india is thrashed 3-0 by the black caps. I'm sure they have come for the kill.

Enough is enough.
Everyone mocked this post including me after the first day of the first test, but it turned out to be true that our team rightly deserved this thrashing of 0-3. Hope some sense prevails now, and they will start building the next generation of players after the BGT.
rx100 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 3rd November 2024, 13:11   #17949

Originally Posted by Vinod_nair View Post
I would be the happiest if team india is thrashed 3-0 by the black caps. I'm sure they have come for the kill.

Enough is enough.
My prediction comes true, despite all the trolling and name calling, one guy @VWAllstar even changed my name which my mother had so loving kept.

Well done black caps, you deserve all the accolades for this whitewash.

Last edited by Vinod_nair : 3rd November 2024 at 13:19.
Vinod_nair is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 3rd November 2024, 13:14   #17950

When will these stars be dropped? With so much focus on T20, it seems no one knows how to block a few balls and play a few balls. Long gone are days when batsmen would use their feet against spin and defend. To be honest, NZ did not bowl superbly, our batting was terrible. You can find better batsmen against spin on Azad Maidan than these blokes.

Mr Sharma bats as if he's about to get out so might just hit a few random shots before. Whenever the ball moves with pace, this lad is just finding the ball move past his bat. It was the same 15 years ago, it is the same now.
Old 3rd November 2024, 13:14   #17951

If heads won't roll after our worst defeat in Test history then I don't what more can be said.

Jaiswal, Pant, Washi, Jaddu and Ash. And Bumrah.

All else should be dropped for BGT. Especially PR stars Virat and Rohit. Even if we lose BGT play new guys who have the hunger to win like 2021.
harry10 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd November 2024, 13:23   #17952
NPV

Originally Posted by harry10 View Post
If heads won't roll after our worst defeat in Test history then I don't what more can be said.
Sadly we live in a world where there is lack of ownership, shame and pride and a “sab chaltha hai’ attitude in everything we do including public life and social causes. The same is true even in sport and public memory being short, everything will be forgotten in a few days when we move on to the Border Gavaskar Trophy down under and our superstars will be heroes again! Nothing will change, the squad has already been announced even prior to this series culminating in a 0-3 whitewash
Old 3rd November 2024, 13:29   #17953

Senior players have just lost the appetite to dig deep while batting in test matches. Subcontinent players have a history to not retire till they are forcibly kicked out of the team; except Gavaskar & Sangakarra all greats have dragged on.

BCCI in pursuit of money keeps selecting the senior players may be due to pressure from broadcasters, who knows!

Kohli is not the same player he used to be in test matches, he never had a good technique but used to cover with his reflexes but now with age his short comings against balls outside off and left arm spin is clearly visible.

For the last 3-4 years, in tests, Indian team has been saved by Pant and lower order batsmen. In this series however the lower order failed and results are for everyone to see.

If everyone remember, India could have lost first test against BD but Ashwin and Jaddu had saved the team!

Special mention to our PR made Desi Bradman Sarfaraz who was hilariously hyped as the next big thing after Sachin. He has got very poor technique and will be exposed in Australia even more.

The test team needs a big time overhaul, it’s high time that only Domestic 4/5 days tournament is made the basis on which test team is selected. Heck, once SKY was selected in the test team on basis of IPL performances and Jurel who performed so well against England and played match winning innings under pressure was even not considered for selection!

Last edited by Rahkehs : 3rd November 2024 at 13:33.
Rahkehs is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd November 2024, 13:34   #17954

Originally Posted by NPV View Post
Sadly we live in a world where there is lack of ownership, shame and pride and a “sab chaltha hai’ attitude in everything we do including public life and social causes. The same is true even in sport and public memory being short, everything will be forgotten in a few days when we move on to the Border Gavaskar Trophy down under and our superstars will be heroes again! Nothing will change, the squad has already been announced even prior to this series culminating in a 0-3 whitewash
You are right buddy.

T20 series will start soon which we may win due to a good team. All will be forgotten. WTC final is a gone conclusion as we ain't winning even 1 test in Australia let alone 4 tests needed to qualify. With this team and this coach. Nope. Not gonna happen.

IPL auction is soon. Millions will be given to these non performers and they are happy. Just us fans will be hurt and seething with anger. Just like Wc23.
Old 3rd November 2024, 13:38   #17955

I have not seen any of the match in the current series and yet I share the disappointment shared here by fellow members. But my lack of interest in cricket has much more to do with the cricket going the slam-bang way and the way test cricket has been treated over the years.

We are destined to lose since we hardly take test cricket seriously and it has been this way since some time now. When we select players for test series on the basis of what they have achieved in twenty twenty cricket, then we are destined to doom. When we neglect the first class cricket and the consistent players in that format, then we are destined to doomed. When we select the coach based on his so called performance in twenty twenty cricket, then we are destined to doomed.

Players today have forgotten to take a step back when things are not going your way. Having seen the highlights of yesterday’s play, a reverse shot played at the fag end of the day and getting out is criminal. Players have been dropped for playing reverse shot in test matches in the past. But no such thing is accountable now. Every thing is about playing for glory. And in doing so, we are hopelessly losing test matches on our home grounds, something which was our strong point forever.

I have little hope that things will improve since we are always after money. Test matches don’t bring on the moolah and hence importance will be given to the shorter formats. So while other nations still give the importance to the test format, we will be happy seeing the IPL. Oh, the next auction is just round the corners !
ABHI_1512 is offline   (2) Thanks