Old 23rd September 2024, 11:57   #7936

Re: The Credit Card Thread

Originally Posted by Naetik30 View Post
Infinia LTF is no more available. It costs 12k + taxes per annum, if you dont spend 10Lakhs in the year. But you go do get 12000 points on annual fee payment. But you can generally get FYF.

The best bet is to contact the grievance team Grievance.Redressalcc@hdfcbank.com with your details and ask for upgrade. The base requirements are 2.7L+ take home. You do not need to take their ULIP.
Isn't there some spend condition too (something like ~8L in last 6 months on your existing card)?

I meet all other eligibility conditions comfortably, but I can never meet the spend condition because my existing card is a Moneyback (albeit one with a >10L CL)!
Old 23rd September 2024, 11:59   #7937

Originally Posted by Naetik30 View Post
The best bet is to contact the grievance team Grievance.Redressalcc@hdfcbank.com with your details and ask for upgrade. The base requirements are 2.7L+ take home.
I tried this on a whim few weeks back and seems it no longer works. Based on the conversation with my RM, the best way to get Infinia is to meet the base salary requirements and have ~4-5 lakh spend on your existing card for a few quarters.
Old 23rd September 2024, 13:42   #7938

My query: Which card to apply, Infinia or Biz Black metal?

Details: Combined [proprietorship firm and a partnership firm (the proprietor is one of the partner in this firm)] 20L above annual business spends of advance tax, GST, electricity bills. Apart from this less than 5L annual personal and family spends on flights, hotels, insurances, etc.

Another query: I have one SBI Elite card having good limit but annual spends are less on this (so 5900 per year charges). Shall I continue this after getting one of the above mentioned HDFC card?

Thanks in advance
Old 23rd September 2024, 15:14   #7939

Originally Posted by Lobogris View Post
You get 3.3% cashback on Infinia on all spends with the exception of fuel and government spending. However, the way to book a hotel with Infinia is via Smartbuy. You will get 33% cashback (yes, you read it correctly) for booking ANY hotel in the world, including any Marriott. Smartbuy is an HDFC platform and it basically shows you hotel prices from MMT, Cleartrip and Yatra.
If incase you are aware, do we have any such features for Regalia Gold? Its so confusing and convoluted on the website. I have given up trying to understand

Thanks in advance
Old 23rd September 2024, 15:57   #7940

So here I am reading all the posts and I have been hit with a huge dilemma.

I have been using the Infinia ever since it was introduced - and upgraded to the metal a couple of years back. Last year I decided to go with Amex Platinum charge card as well as the Infinia has a very low spend limit capacity while travelling overseas.

Amex Platinum charge card did give a lot of ease while travelling - but also was not acceptable at most of the places in Europe, Indonesia and Thailand. Also it is not acceptable easily in India as well. And even if the merchants do accept - they charge you far more. The last time I tried using it - I was informed they would be charging me 5% extra because it is an Amex card.
A couple of months back I was also offered the Centurion - which definitely gave a moral boost, but with the sky high joining fees and very little extra offered over the Platinum charge card - I am still not sure whether it would be worth it.

Reward points wise - there is nothing better than the Infinia. Only fly in the ointment is their limit. Amex gives a huge limit based on my spends but it's acceptability is quiet low and the reward returns are average at best. Only benefit I have ever seen is - free upgrades if you book via their site on Marriott hotels + hotel credits worth $100.

Also ended up taking the Axis Reserve card a couple of years back - but with them devaluing their card - considering to surrender it.

Now the experts - do give me a suggestion as to what to do.
Any other card which gives reward points like Infinia and spend limits like Amex?

Last edited by samyakmodi : 23rd September 2024 at 16:17.
samyakmodi is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 23rd September 2024, 16:54   #7941

Originally Posted by samyakmodi View Post
May everyone be blessed with the same delightful dilemma

A couple of months back I was also offered the Centurion - which definitely gave a moral boost, but with the sky high joining fees and very little extra offered over the Platinum charge card - I am still not sure whether it would be worth it.
I hold MRCC, so I am not at all qualified to answer this question.
Last year I read a review of Centurion. It's more of a lifestyle card. Last two paragraphs of the review summarize it well.

Any other card which gives reward points like Infinia and spend limits like Amex?
Have you considered the HSBC Premier?
https://www.hsbc.co.in/credit-cards/products/premier/
VaibhaoT is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd September 2024, 18:19   #7942

I have been using the Infinia ever since it was introduced - and upgraded to the metal a couple of years back. Last year I decided to go with Amex Platinum charge card as well as the Infinia has a very low spend limit capacity while travelling overseas.

Amex Platinum charge card did give a lot of ease while travelling - but also was not acceptable at most of the places in Europe, Indonesia and Thailand. Also it is not acceptable easily in India as well. And even if the merchants do accept - they charge you far more. The last time I tried using it - I was informed they would be charging me 5% extra because it is an Amex card.

Reward points wise - there is nothing better than the Infinia. Only fly in the ointment is their limit. Amex gives a huge limit based on my spends but it's acceptability is quiet low and the reward returns are average at best. Only benefit I have ever seen is - free upgrades if you book via their site on Marriott hotels + hotel credits worth $100.

Also ended up taking the Axis Reserve card a couple of years back - but with them devaluing their card - considering to surrender it.

Now the experts - do give me a suggestion as to what to do.
Infinia isn't the best rewarding unfortunately. Axis Magnus Burgundy is.

Considering you have been offered Centurion, I assume, you should be able to get Burgundy Private too with Axis Bank. This will make a huge impact on your rewards earning.

Also, if you focus is Credit Card rewards, then Limit shouldn't be the criteria. If needed, pay up and use again for better rewards.

Centurion is an ego massager and wont give any benefits unless you live a life corresponding to it.
tejas08 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 23rd September 2024, 20:16   #7943

Originally Posted by blueberry View Post
Can you detail out?

I was looking to upgrade my Diners Black to an Infinia; and had to unsuccessfully jump through a ton of hoops:
3L take home salary, 30L relationship value, Purchase ULIPs, "We stopped LTF Infinia" etc etc.
I was talking about paid Infinia, most of the fee is countered with points. Since Infinia has been devalued a bit and Infinia Reserve seems to be in pipeline, it is relatively easier to get Infinia now. If they are troubling too much about conversion, kill DCB and apply fresh after cool-off period. Is your DCB LTF? If so, then you can just keep using it if you are a light user. For heavy users, even paid Infinia makes a lot of sense.
Old 23rd September 2024, 21:15   #7944

Originally Posted by heysac View Post
I was talking about paid Infinia, most of the fee is countered with points. Since Infinia has been devalued a bit and Infinia Reserve seems to be in pipeline, it is relatively easier to get Infinia now. If they are troubling too much about conversion, kill DCB and apply fresh after cool-off period. Is your DCB LTF? If so, then you can just keep using it if you are a light user. For heavy users, even paid Infinia makes a lot of sense.
My DCB is LTF. As a principle I refuse to pay for a credit card (even though I’d get the money back in points).

Except for higher daily limits on smartbuy, DCB isn’t that different for my use case.
Old 24th September 2024, 08:30   #7945

Originally Posted by meerkat View Post
Isn't there some spend condition too (something like ~8L in last 6 months on your existing card)?

I meet all other eligibility conditions comfortably, but I can never meet the spend condition because my existing card is a Moneyback (albeit one with a >10L CL)!
Yes, expense of about 7L+ on the current HDFC card over past 6 months helps a lot. I timed my request to the redressal mail id right after an international trip and that helped.
Naetik30 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th September 2024, 13:45   #7946

Originally Posted by VaibhaoT View Post
Last two paragraphs of the review summarize it well.

Have you considered the HSBC Premier?
https://www.hsbc.co.in/credit-cards/products/premier/
To be honest - I stay in Indore and all these events happen either in Mumbai or Delhi. Add to that - I see very little value mingling with celebs other than Insta boasting which I am kind of averse to.

I have never considered the HSBC Premier card - will look at it.
Originally Posted by tejas08 View Post
Infinia isn't the best rewarding unfortunately. Axis Magnus Burgundy is.

Considering you have been offered Centurion, I assume, you should be able to get Burgundy Private too with Axis Bank. This will make a huge impact on your rewards earning.

Also, if you focus is Credit Card rewards, then Limit shouldn't be the criteria. If needed, pay up and use again for better rewards.

Centurion is an ego massager and wont give any benefits unless you live a life corresponding to it.
I was under the impression that Magnus Burgundy had devalued along with Axis Reserve. I will definitely have a look at that again.
Burgundy private needs a lot of hoops to jump with lot of commitments. I am not entirely sure whether I am prepared for that currently. Last I heard they wanted me to keep a 5Cr FD with them or they should be managing my assets worth more than that. Compared to Magnus - their reserve used to give better benefits which has devalued substantially and I am most certainly surrendering it.

Limit becomes a criteria while travelling abroad. A limit of 12-15 lacs can be easily consumed with your basics like hotels, travel, entertainment etc. Problem arises when you want to shop. I have had some real embarrassing situations when the card was declined because of lack of available limit a couple of times. While paying up all the dues before you leave is what I always practice - but there are times when even that doesn't help. I've tried clearing the entire amount while I was shopping - but HDFC takes a couple of days to reflect that the amount has been paid and reset the limit.

Anyhow - point taken - centurion is for people with a certain lifestyle (which I am not a part of) and has very little benefits otherwise. But on the flip side - it gives absolutely zero worries about available limits and most definitely helps in making your life a little bit more convenient. Other than that - the platinum charge card works almost as good.

A year or so back I had been informed that HDFC is coming up with a better card than Infinia - any updates on that? something called the infinite reserve.
samyakmodi is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th September 2024, 15:37   #7947

Hello

I've read a few responses re Rupay CC. I'd be very helpful if someone can recommend a Rupay CC to be primarily used as UPI card with low annual fee (maybe INR 1000-1500) and reversible against spends. It would be a bonus if the Rupay card also offered any rewards.

Does the Tata Neu Infinity fit this? Any experience with the points.

I only have a lifetime free SBI Elite card that works nicely, but I cannot add it to my UPI as it is a visa card.

thank you

Last edited by vaibhav_a_a : 24th September 2024 at 15:41.
Old 25th September 2024, 06:55   #7948

Originally Posted by vaibhav_a_a View Post
Hello

I've read a few responses re Rupay CC. I'd be very helpful if someone can recommend a Rupay CC to be primarily used as UPI card with low annual fee (maybe INR 1000-1500) and reversible against spends. It would be a bonus if the Rupay card also offered any rewards.
There are several LTF RuPay CCs which are not difficult to get: ICICI Coral, IndusInd etc. Rewards are not great.

I only have a lifetime free SBI Elite card that works nicely, but I cannot add it to my UPI as it is a visa card.
How did you get the SBI Elite as LTF ?
Old 25th September 2024, 08:45   #7949

Being a holder of SBI CV prime CC, got a mail from SBI yesterday and the brief summary mentioned was

Your card remains at your disposal and unchanged even after 12 November 2024 and you will continue earning points and milestone vouchers linked to Air India's Flying Returns program. We urge you to continue using your Club Vistara SBI Card PRIME for all your spends
This means that the CC usage will still earn points for Air India FF account including the milestone vouchers as well. However the validity of this arrangement is not mentioned.
Old 25th September 2024, 08:55   #7950

Originally Posted by meerkat View Post
How did you get the SBI Elite as LTF ?

Not sure but I've had it for 8 years now. Perhaps rules were different back then.
vaibhav_a_a is offline   (1) Thanks