View Poll Results: How did you learn to drive and get your driving licence?
By sneaking out alone to drive our car 28 20.74%
I was taught to drive by a friend / family member 63 46.67%
I learnt to drive with a local driving school 58 42.96%
Read a driver training manual 7 5.19%
I never appeared for a driving test, but still got my driver’s licence 11 8.15%
I had appeared for a lame driving test and was passed 24 17.78%
Had to undergo a proper driving test 32 23.70%
I once failed a driving test due to poor driving 3 2.22%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 135. You may not vote on this poll

Old 22nd October 2009, 18:19   #166

2 Wheeler - Non Geared
Tutor: uncle
Vehicle: Tvs champ

2 Wheeler - Geared
Tutor: uncle
Vehicle: uncle's Suzuki max 100

4-Wheeler
Tutor: 35year old friend
Vehicle: Mahindra jeep
Old 22nd October 2009, 18:19   #167

- Age 17
- Tutor - Instructor
- Car - '90 Nissan Altima
- Location - Bahrain, Arabian Gluf

In Bahrain they have a Driving school where the "L" drivers would first get used to the car and then move onto the roads. A great way to learn driving IMHO.
Old 22nd October 2009, 18:35   #168

4 Wheeler
Tutor: Dad
Car: Maruti 800

2 Wheeler
Tutor:friend
Bike: Karizma
Old 22nd October 2009, 19:42   #169

4 Wheeler
Tutor: Driving class
Car: Maruti 800

2 Wheeler
Tutor:friend
Bike: Suzuki ax 100r
Old 22nd October 2009, 20:10   #170

Tutor: Driving class
Car: Mahindra Jeep
Old 22nd October 2009, 20:14   #171

The usual story

Age - 18
Tutor - Driving School
Car - Maruti 800 - LPG
Location - Chennai Indra Nagar

Learnt how to drive, took license and didn't touch a car for the next 7 years.
Happened to start driving when I was almost 26. Since then, clocked some 10K kms with about 70% on the highway. And the best thing was, I faced absolutely no hiccups when I started driving after that long a gap.
Old 22nd October 2009, 20:18   #172

4 Wheeler
Tutor: 40% Dad 60% On my own (trial & error method)
Car: Fiat (deluxe with bucket seats and floor shift gears)

2 Wheeler
Tutor: Dad's batman (Bhaiya/jawan from Dad's unit)
Bike: Hero Majestic
Old 22nd October 2009, 21:52   #173

Learned driving when I turned 18.
Car: My dad's 1959 Fiat 1100 "Select". What a rocksta car that was !!
Tutor: My Mom ! (he he !!)
Old 22nd October 2009, 23:30   #174

May sound unbelievable

4 wheeler

Car: Ambassador
Tutor: Dad
Place: harihar, Open fields in front of the house.
Well, I used to manage to reach the clutch and was able to engage the gears, release the clutch all by myself. Anand's believe it or Not! :-)

2 Wheeler
Car: HH CD 100
Tutor: Initially Dad, then on self
Place: School ground

The Poll does not have an option of selecting below 15 yrs :-)
Old 22nd October 2009, 23:34   #175

Age- 13
Tutor- Dad
Car- Maruti 800
Old 23rd October 2009, 09:31   #176

I learned to drive in 2001, at 25 Age (ya I know, disgusting, so late, with some genuine reasons), by a training center guy, but was very good.

I still don't know how to drive a bike or Scooter.

First car I took was M800 Carb, then Indica, in between many other cars, and currently running SX4.

Almost 2Lakh + is what I have driven till now
Old 23rd October 2009, 12:33   #177

4 Wheels :

Age - 32
Tutor - driving school & my driver
car - M800 / indica
Location - open ground / people plaza necklace road and army cantonment area .

2wheels:
age- 22
tutor - friend
bike - yamaha rx100
loaction - inside our colony roads.
Old 23rd October 2009, 15:47   #178

Age 18 ( remember it is illegal to drive a car before 18)
vehicle: Good ol' Amby
Tutor: My father
A
Old 23rd October 2009, 16:21   #179

Two wheeler - when I was 18. Vehicle - Yezdi. Tutor was my friend's uncle. Location - inside their garden for one day, our colony roads from then onwards.

Car - when I was 33. Vehicle - a second hand Dolphin I had purchased days before. Tutor was a childhood friend who had dropped out of school and was working as a cab driver. Class duration was one hour a day for ten days, remuneration agreed was Rs 500 (this was 1993). Location was an open ground the first day, our colony roads on the second and GST Road from the third, from 6.30 AM to 7.30 AM. While driving near the Airport on the sixth day, I stupidly braked hard and brought the car to a dead halt in the middle of the road to avoid a dog. It was a foolish thing to do, there are quarries nearby and tipper lorries will run helter-skelter there. I was cursing myself when my flustered tutor, possibly because of the childhood friendship, came down very hard on me.

As soon as we reached home, I paid him Rs 500 and fired him on the spot. I practiced by myself from the next day and got my licence exactly three months later, through a tout of course!
Old 23rd October 2009, 16:33   #180

Age- 20. Used to steer jeep, tractor at the age of 10.
Tutor- driver
Car- Mahindra Jeep, omni.
Location- Munnar, kerala