Other (please specify in your post) 35 5.55%
Voters: 631. You may not vote on this poll

Old 6th October 2022, 06:51   #121

Re: Advice on first car purchase in 2022

Originally Posted by dnabhi25 View Post
[*]Considering the worsening traffic scene in Mumbai and MMRDA areas, my requirement is for an automatic car (torque converter / CVT gearbox) budget constrained to 15-16 lakhs on road[*]Need a car which is safe, spacious, fun to drive, compact in the city and decent looking

Here's what I narrowed my options down to:

- Skoda Kushaq Ambition Classic variant
- Honda Jazz ZX
- Maruti Brezza ZXi
- Honda City VX
- MG Astor CVT

Also, safe cars like Tata Nexon were not considered as I did not like the AMT gearbox.

I would request if you could guide me accordingly so that I could purchase a vehicle soon for myself and family. Look forward to reading your views
Considering your requirements, from the options shortlisted:

1. Skoda Kushaq Ambition Classic
  • Price: It comes to around 16.9 lakhs OTR in Thane
  • Safe: Yes, VAG group cars are usually on the safer side, with previous models performing well on crash tests.
  • Spacious: being an SUV longer than 4 metres, it's quite spacious with adequate legroom and kneeroom, although the intrusive transmission tunnel may make it a little uncomfortable for the third occupant in the back seat.
  • Fun to drive: Kushaq/Taigun with 1.0 L TSI and 6 speed TC AT gearbox is definitely one of the more fun to drive cars in the segment.
  • Compact in the City: One of the above 4 metre cars which does look compact
  • Decent Looks: Although looks are subjective, I feel the Kushaq is a handsome car.

2. Honda Jazz ZX
  • Price: It comes to around 12.3 lakhs OTR in Thane
  • Safe: Yes, Honda's cars are safe, with Jazz scoring 4 stars in the GNCAP crash test.
  • Spacious: One of the more spacious sub 4 metre cars, the Jazz is definitely a spacious car with its quasi MPV styling.
  • Fun to drive: The 1.2 litre i-VTEC with 89 bhp of power and 110 nm of torque isn't the most fun to drive but definitely gets the job done.
  • Compact in the City: Being sub 4 metres, it definitely is compact.
  • Decent Looks: Although looks are subjective, I feel the Jazz is a decent looking car.

3. Maruti Brezza ZXI/ZXI+
  • Price: It comes to around 14.5 lakhs OTR for ZXI AT and 16.25 lakhs OTR for ZXI+ AT
  • Safe: Yes, Previous gen Brezza scored 4 stars in GNCAP, the New Brezza should score similarly if not better.
  • Spacious: One of the more spacious sub 4 metre SUVs, the Brezza is definitely a spacious SUV with adequate headroom, kneeroom and legroom.
  • Fun to drive: The 1.5 L K15C Smart Hybrid N.A 4-cylinder petrol with 102 bhp of power and 136.8 nm of torque isn't the most fun to drive but definitely doesn't feel underpowered, its more for relaxed cruising than outright performance.
  • Compact in the City: Being sub 4 metres, it definitely is compact.
  • Decent Looks: Although looks are subjective, I feel the New Brezza is a much better looking car than the previous generation.

4. Honda City V/VX
  • Price: It comes to around 15.4 lakhs OTR for V CVT and 17 lakhs OTR for VX CVT in Thane.
  • Safe: Yes, The City is one of the safest sedans in the market with 5-star ASEAN NCAP safety rating.
  • Spacious: Being a 4.5 metre long sedan, it's one of the most spacious cars in the list.
  • Fun to drive: The 1.5 litre i-VTEC with 119 bhp of power and 145 nm of torque is definitely a delight to drive with sorted dynamics, its definitely an engaging experience and one of the few N.A. motors to be able to provide that.
  • Compact in the City: At 4.5 metres long, it isn't compact by any means.
  • Decent Looks: Although looks are subjective, I have always felt Honda cars to be beautiful to look at.

5. MG Astor
  • Price: It comes to around 16 lakhs OTR for the 1.5 L Super CVT in Thane.
  • Safe: Yes, The Astor is one of the safest cars with its namesake sibling the MG ZS scoring 5 stars in the NCAP crash tests.
  • Spacious: Being an SUV above 4 metres, it's definitely spacious
  • Fun to drive: The 1.5 litre engine with 108 bhp of power and 144 nm of torque isn't the most engaging of the lot but definitely gets the job done.
  • Compact in the City: At 4.3 metres in length, it's not the most compact, but definitely isn't huge.
  • Decent Looks: Although looks are subjective, I feel the MG Astor looks the part.

All of the above mentioned cars have their pros and cons and it is up to you to decide what you can live with. As a suggestion from my end, if you are OK with sedans and the length isn't a problem, the Honda City feels the most complete of the lot.
bijims is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 6th October 2022, 14:52   #122

Re: Skoda Kushaq vs Hyundai Creta vs Kia Seltos vs Jeep Compass vs others

Hi ajayc123 - Thank you for your reply. Yes, I got what you meant, actually taking into considerations all external and internal factors, I shortlisted the above. Looks like i would have to do some more filtration!
Old 6th October 2022, 15:48   #123

Originally Posted by bijims View Post
Considering your requirements, from the options shortlisted
Hi bijims, thank you so much for the detailed reply to my query. I had the time to check out the City today. The car is fantastic with all the bells and whistles for a VX model. The only issue I found was that it could be cumbersome for my mother who has back pain to get in and out of the car because of the low seating position in the rear. And my height is 6.1' and my forehead nearly banged on the door frame while getting out and there was not enough headroom for tall people like me in the back. Will test drive the car in the weekend and update further! Thank you

Last edited by libranof1987 : 6th October 2022 at 17:15. Reason: Trimming quoted post. Kindly quote only relevant sections of a post.
dnabhi25 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th October 2022, 06:12   #124

Originally Posted by dnabhi25 View Post
The only issue I found was that it could be cumbersome for my mother who has back pain to get in and out of the car because of the low seating position in the rear. And my height is 6.1' and my forehead nearly banged on the door frame while getting out and there was not enough headroom for tall people like me in the back. Will test drive the car in the weekend and update further! Thank you
If that's the case and if the same is a deal breaker for you, the SUV options listed by you would definitely be the better option, SUVs have more height and headroom, ingress and egress would be easier.
bijims is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th October 2022, 01:02   #125

I've had an Ecosport Diesel that I sold recently. I have been looking for a replacement since last year, but I had to postpone it due to several reasons. I have booked and cancelled the XUV700 (mainly because I was anticipating some funds that didn't work out) when it was launced (had price protection and everything).

I have always been fascinated by SUVs since I test drove a Bolero about a decade ago. Even though I bought the Ecosport, my eyes would wander every time I saw a TUV or Scorpio or a Thar on the road. Make no mistake, I loved the Ecosport like my own child and took good care of it. But the heart wants what it wants. Also, my knee wants an automatic, so the Ecosport had to be passed on to someone who would actually drive it, rather than just sit in it with the AC on. (<40K in 6 years)

So when the ScorpioN was launched, I bit the bullet and booked the one that I could afford , the Z4 D AT (T&C apply). I can afford it, provided the greedy Kerala state RTO would start BH registrations. Else I'd have to borrow even more. Since the delivery is scheduled for January/February next year, it gave me some time to re/consider while the car was being cooked.

Due to the fact that I decided to sell the Ecosport before the 6 year/40K mark had passed in hopes of a better price, I am currently driving around in my dad's Nano AT. I have purposely refrained from driving the Ecosport so as to desensitize myself a bit from the driving experience that it provides.

So here are the facts. I have a budget of 18 lacs at the most.

Must-have features:
  • Automatic Transmission
  • Rear wash/wipe/defogger
  • Two-digit FE figures
  • Infotainment with Android Auto and reasonably good sound.
  • Tilt Steering
  • Roomy front seats.

Nice to have Features:
  • Keyless entry and push-button start
  • Climate control
  • Telescopic adjust on steering
  • Cruise control
  • Rear Armrest

As I am 40, but quite fat and short, I find tall hatches and SUVs easier to get into. The Nano is actually quite comfortable in this regard. I'm open to buying a relatively new and well kept "pre-owned" car. My family is myself, wifey, our 3 year old daughter, and occasionally, my MIL.

So far, I have test driven:

Scorpio N Diesel
It is a bit of a climb getting into it, but it is worth the effort. It was every bit
as good as I imagined. I know it will be a terror to park in the city, it will cost a bomb to fuel, and the Z4 is barebones compared to the others in the same price range, but man I love the feel of the high seating position and the mHawk engine, and the sheer power you have at your disposal. Dream.Come.True.

The Scorpio N should cost about 19.65 lacs OTR, of which 2.7 lacs is the road tax for driving through the potholes of Kerala, and the occasional bit of actual road. The ex-showroom price is 15.95 lakhs. If I go for BH registration, I should be able to shave off at least 2 lacs from the road tax, but they are resisting like hell.

But realistically, I have to keep in mind that the cash-strapped Kerala Govt will continue to bleed its tax paying citizens dry, and I will most likely having to pay full road tax instead of BH registration. In that case, I will have to settle for something else in my OTR budget of 18 lakhs. So here are some contenders.

Astor 1.5

The automatic range starts at about 13.5 lacs for the Super SVT and 14.9 lacs for the Smart CVT. I searched Youtube and TBHP for an authoritative review of the 1.5L engine and CVT. There were some user reviews here on tbhp that were detailed, but didn't go in-depth regarding the engine or the CVT. And the youtube reviews mostly seemed like promos. The website is excellent as it has detailed 3D views of every variant and not just the top variant, like some vehicles (*cough*ScorpioN*cough*)

Hence I decided to take a TD. The dealership staff were excellent, and quickly arranged for a TD of the 1.5 CVT. They also happened to have all the variants on display. The car was small at the front due to the low front end, but at the rear it was very imposing. The paint finish and overall quality was top notch even in the base variant. Even the base model had LED lights and DRLs. The car looks more impressive in person than in pictures. The quality if that red shade is something that really creates an impression. BTW there was an MG Hector there too, and it was in the same wonderful red. Looked really tasty with the 18 inch wheels. I think all current MGs in India look much better up close.

The engine is smooth, but the CVT has a pronounced delay when you ask for performance. It is okay if you are not keen on overtaking. My TD route was a busy 4 lane road and I found it hard to stay ahead of traffic, as the response was simply too slow. However, if you're not in a hurry and like to take it slow, this is great, as the interior is plush, plastics are fantastic, with soft touch finishes everywhere, a nice big touch screen, good audio quality and comfortable seats. The ride also felt quite nice, much more plush compared to the Ecosport. I've heard good reports about the MG service too. I didn't get to play around with the AI bot, as I wasn't too interested in it. Alexa/Google integration would have been a better feature than yet another assistant.

I would really like some feedback from people who have had more experience with this model and MG ownership in general.

Kia Sonet Diesel

At first, I was not impressed by the size. It looks smaller than the Ecosport, and felt very "snug', to put it positively. It's okay for 4 people, but I can count on two hands the no of times I have had 5 adults in my Ecosport. Though, I have found the space inadequate while moving house.

But it is a handsome car, and very modern too, with all the LED bits, two tone wheels, etc, the garish red highlights notwithstanding. Inside, the seats are acceptably large for me. And the X-line looks really cool. Wish they'd just launched it in Glossy black as the dark edition, as the matte paint will be a pain to take care of. I haven't seen the car IRL yet, but it looks good in the videos.

The best part is the 1.5 diesel and 6 speed TC combo. There is a sport mode that sharpens the throttle response and steering, but it manages to impress even in the normal mode. I felt that the engine is a lot more refined than the Ecosport's TDCi, and also more powerful. The TC does dull it a bit but it is still very fun to drive. I didn't feel like I had to adapt in any way to this car. The seating, controls, and the drive and handling all felt very familiar, probably because it was the same size, and a diesel, and the sound system and interiors are really nice. Not as nice as the Astor, but still very good. The boot space is also good, especially for a car this size.

The only negative I can see is that it is still a sub 4m car for 16.6 lacs (X-line D AT) and isn't an upgrade in terms of roominess or size. Kia used to offer a proper automatic Seltos in the HTK+ trim that would have fallen nicely in my budget, but they decided to axe it and replace it with the...

Kia Seltos HTK+ IMT

I was impressed by this car, and surprised that it doesn't get much coverage. The 1.5 petrol I got to drive is refined, the IMT works like a charm, and the HTK+ trim is well equipped. You don't get the LED lighting and bells and whistles, but you do get a large boot, keyless entry and go, climate control, touchscreen with wireles android auto/carplay, projector headlamps and foglamps, 16 inch alloys etc. At 15.5 lacs OTR it is a good deal. And there's a diesel under 18 lacs too. For me, the only issue was that I forgot to change gears sometimes and needed the beep reminder. But there's no beep reminder for upshifts, so you might end up not upshifting and holding onto a gear longer, especially as the petrol is very quiet. The diesel is also in my budget at 17.4 lacs, but spending 17 lacs and still getting essentially half an AT seems like a letdown. Thoughts??

Thar Diesel AT

The slogan for this car should be "Never Settled". While I was impressed by the road presence, the driving position and the powertrain, the ride was horrible. Maybe they should make a City version of this for people who just want a tall, compact city car. Or maybe put the mHawk+Aising in the Bolero Neo and give it some more creature comforts. This can be a daily drive car, but it can't be your only car. I can't afford to have this car as my side chick, so not for me. Maybe the 5 door will be a better ride. But if the pricing is anything like the ScorpioN, it should be priced out of my reach, as 4WD would make it expensive by 2L more, roughly, over the equalent Scorpio. My guess is that it would start at about 18 or 20L.

Scross 1.5 AT

I drove a nearly new, sparingly used one at a True Value showroom. And it reminded me of the one I test drove in 2016 while I was shopping the Ecosport. Hasn't changed a bit, except for the powertrain which is smoother and refined and kind of slow. This is a well-built, heavy car that deserved a more powerful engine and a quick transmission.

XL6 AT Alpha+

My family saw this while we went to check out the new Grand Vitara, and they really liked the captain seats and the flat folding 3rd row and the boot space on offer, as well as the looks. While I do like the front and rear looks and the gorgeous wheels, I felt that it was too long in the middle that made it look like a dachshund.

As the Grand Vitara Test drive vehicle was not available, I thought it would be a chance to check out the K15C+6AT combo which I hadn't checked out. Surprisingly it felt quicker than the SCross and the 6th gear was letting the engine relax a bit more on the highways. I appreciate the fact that they have equipped it very well, with cooled seats, a nice touch screen, and good bits like the UV/IR cut glass. My wife felt that it was too like the Ertiga, and didn't like the proportions. The pricing is the same as the Sonet X-Line though.

I'm yet to drive the Grand Vitara, but I'm already thinking of booking one, as a backup. I like the looks, and the engine is something I can live with. As there's a manual mode, I should be able to wring at least some performance from it, without worrying about blowing it up.

Taigun Highline/Virtus Topline AT(Had to, it looked so good)

I had initially blacklisted the VWs due to the innumerable horror stories regarding the abysmal service support by both VW and Skoda. I think that the Ecosport has spoiled me with a relatively fuss free and very vanilla ownership (not the driving experience, that's definitely non-vanilla) experience, so I was a bit reluctant to try it, as I was positive that I would love the driving experience and end up booking one. The showroom exec at VW Tvm was very helpful and gave me a TD in the Highline AT variant, which was the one that was in my budget. Halfway through the drive, he asked me to tap down on the gear lever to S mode, and the response blew me away. I couldn't believe that this was a 1L 3 cylinder! That engine is pure porn. I didn't even try the GT, as I felt that this was more than I could handle.

I also took a TD of the Virtus TSI 1L, because there was a blue Highline AT model wearing silver wheels (my fav) on display in the showroom, and I wanted to at least give it a try. The variant they had was the Topline model, and the central console was a nice upgrade from the monochrome dials on the Highline. I didn't enjoy getting in and out, but once I got settled in, it felt sharper than the Taigun and was more fun. But we were blocked halfway through by a truck ambling on in the rightmost lane, and it reminded me why I was looking at tall vehicles.

The problem with starting out with an automatic transmission as a must have feature is that it pushes up the entry cost quite significantly. To add to that, several manufacturers still don't offer automatic option for their lower variants, which means that you are stuck paying for features that you don't want. Case in point being the Kia Sonet HTX, which comes with a great feature list at a good price, but omits rear wash/wipe. Same for the Grand Vitara Delta.

Since I don't plan on changing cars that often, should I take the plunge and go for the ScorpioN or save the money and choose something else for now, and get a full version of the "Big Daddy" some years from now? Is there some model or variant I've passed over? Comments and suggestions awaited.

Last edited by vivekgk : 11th October 2022 at 01:06.
Old 19th October 2022, 13:34   #126

Confused - Nexon Diesel AMT or Kushaq Ambition AT

Hello all,

I am looking to buy a new car. I am very confused between Nexon XZA+L (D) and Kushaq 1.0 Ambition AT among all other cars i tried out.

A quick analysis i made on few shortlisted cars/variants i am considering. From a macro perspective, there isn't a significant difference in ownership cost between the two, it all boils down to day-to-day ownership experience & feel good factor. Yes, i know both are different segments but from a price standpoint, they are comparable.

My current car is 2013 Amaze AT & major gripe with the car are the seats and fuel efficiency. For reference i am 181 cm with a healthy body. The amaze returns an average of 8kmpl in city and 12-13 ish on highways.

My primary requirements is extremely comfortable seats for city & long drives, good spacious cabin to seat 5, better reliability and good efficiency even when driven enthusiastically, atleast better than what i currently get.

Safety and features are almost the same in both with some +- in either trims as compared. While nexon has all of them, kushaq misses out on a few but offers bit more space.

I am currently tilting more towards the nexon for its raw diesel torque pull and better efficiency, offering me best of both worlds, although skeptic of it's AMT gearbox.

Would request owners to share their experience & feedback.

Thank you
Skoda Kushaq vs Hyundai Creta vs Kia Seltos vs Jeep Compass vs others-smartselect_20221019_125356_adobe-acrobat.jpg  

Skoda Kushaq vs Hyundai Creta vs Kia Seltos vs Jeep Compass vs others-smartselect_20221019_125415_adobe-acrobat.jpg  

Skoda Kushaq vs Hyundai Creta vs Kia Seltos vs Jeep Compass vs others-smartselect_20221019_125440_adobe-acrobat.jpg  

HulkkOfficial is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 21st October 2022, 07:59   #127

A torque convertor AT in the 1.0 Kushaq would be a more reliable and refined experience than the AMT of the Nexon. The diesel torque pull only matters in certain situations. 99% of the time, you may find the 1.0 Kushaq engine performance satisfying. Kushaq is now 5 star rated as per new GNCAP standards, if that matters. TML should really get away from the AMT transmissions.
fhdowntheline is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th October 2022, 20:05   #128

New Car: Upgrading my Vento Petrol MT

I've been a frequent reader of this website but this is my 1st post. A little intro about me and my car: I'm from Kochi, Kerala, and have a VW Vento 1.6 petrol MT (2014). I work in Bangalore but WFH. This post is about looking for a replacement car

About my Vento usage:
I've largely been the only person driving the car and it had little use previously. It's now 8 yrs, 36K km. I don't have a daily drive and the car is largely for family use (now 3 of us - me, my mom, and grandmom). These kms were mostly from highway runs (Thrissur, Trivandrum, Bangalore).

Why do I want to change the car:
Vento petrol is a great car. Fun to drive and has good power. I touched 150 kmph and the car had no problem going further. However, I've had some part failures
1. ABS sensor: came to know this is common. I've had mine replaced 6 times. Now using bosch sensors
2. Radiator fan: at 33K kms this year. Got to know it failed due to the speedometer stopping. cost 15K
3. Steering rack: This year. 13K
4. Shock absorber bushes/ struts: Last year. The showroom guys gave me a 45K estimate. I took it to a place called Pete's and it cost 12K
5. Battery/ starter motor brushes changed

I'm seeing a good maintenance spend, lower mileage, and not great power (for 2022 comparison) from this car. Hence, looking for a switch

The Options:
I want a decent performer with decent mileage and trouble-free maintenance. The budget is around 20L but can be pushed for a good deal. But AT is a must. Preference for SUVs. What I had in mind are

1. Kushaq/ Taigun
2. Creta/ Seltos
3. Nexon petrol
4. XUV700
5. Hyrider
6. Thar (2 doors is an issue)

Yet to TD most of them. Some cars I love but are above budget/ not available are
1. t-roc
2. Compass (my most sought after car)
3. S-cross

Looking forward to advice from this forum
Auto_guy_101 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 25th October 2022, 00:02   #129
mvr

Recommendations for SUV

Hello All,

I am new to the forum and also to some of the terminology used here. So please excuse my ignorance.

I am on the lookout for a compact SUV. I am more of a sedate driver. At least in the near future, there will be occasional city driving (per week) and mostly out-of-city road trips (not very frequent either). After a couple of years, the situation may well change, i.e., more city driving than earlier. I am looking for the following.

1) Safety
2) Automatic transmission
3) Sufficient space for 5 adults (ideally, 3 should sit comfortably in the back row)
4) Try to have the vehicle delivered in the next 4-5 months

The budget is around INR 11-12 lakhs, but willing to stretch it (to say 18L) to fit in all the above requirements, if possible. I have (sort of) shortlisted the following options, in no particular order. I am yet to test drive any of these SUVs (plan to get started with it next month).

Sub 4m SUVs
1) Tata Nexon
2) Mahindra XUV 300

Compact SUVs
1) Skoda Kushaq
2) Volkswagen Taigun
3) Tata Harrier
4) Mahindra XUV 700 (5 seater); I heard the waiting period is an issue here

Just from the looks point of view, I really like Tata Harrier and Mahindra XUV 700. I briefly considered the electric option, but I gave up on it (this will be our only car and the charging infrastructure is not as good as it should be, especially for out-of-city trips).

If you have any suggestions/recommendations, please let me know. Thanks for your time.
mvr is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 25th October 2022, 05:22   #130

Re: Recommendations for SUV

Around 12 lakhs, The Tata Nexon Petrol AMT and the Mahindra XUV300 Petrol AMT would be your best bets considering safety and the ability to seat three at the back.

If you are willing to stretch to 18 lakhs ex-showroom, then then the Mahindra XUV700 would be the best option followed by the Tata Harrier. The MG Hector, and Hyundai Creta are other options you could consider as well.

As far as waiting periods go, the Tata Nexon Petrol AMT does have a sizeable waiting period on the lower trims, However the Mahindra XUV300 AMT is available with hardly a month or two of waiting.

The Mahindra XUV700 has one of the highest waiitng periods in the segment, whereas the Tata Harrier, MG Hector are more readily available, A point to note here is that the MG Hector is due a facelift in the coming weeks and maybe you should check that out too, Hyundai Creta also has a sizeable waiting period strtching upto 6 months or more depending on the variant.

Hope it helps.
yedukrishnan199 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 25th October 2022, 06:07   #131

Re: New Car: Upgrading my Vento Petrol MT

Originally Posted by Auto_guy_101 View Post
I'm seeing a good maintenance spend, lower mileage, and not great power (for 2022 comparison) from this car. Hence, looking for a switch

The Options:
I want a decent performer with decent mileage and trouble-free maintenance. The budget is around 20L but can be pushed for a good deal. But AT is a must. Preference for SUVs. What I had in mind are

1. Kushaq/ Taigun
2. Creta/ Seltos
3. Nexon petrol
4. XUV700
5. Hyrider
6. Thar (2 doors is an issue)

Looking forward to advice from this forum
Considering the options listed, here are my suggestions:

1. Kushaq/Taigun
Performance from the 1.0 L TSI is satisfactory, but what enthusiasts will love is the 1.5L TSI which is an absolute hoot to drive, mileage of these cars as per ARAI ranges from 17.2 kmpl for the 1.0 L to 17.8 kmpl for the 1.5 L, The higher mileage for the 1.5L is because it came with cylinder deactivation technology which helps in increasing mileage. A good choice to consider due to impeccable safety and performance on offer It's now been rated the safest car in India by Global NCAP with a 5-star crash testing rating for both front and rear occupants.

2. Creta/Seltos
The Korean twins have been the best-sellers in the segment for quite a while now, owing to the complete package offered by them. Although not the safest cars out there, they are offered in a variety of engine and gearbox options to choose from, with 1.5L NA Petrol with IVT, 1.5L Diesel with TC AT, and a 1.4L Turbo-petrol with DCT being the automatic gearboxes available.
Out of these, my suggestion would be to go for the 1.5L Diesel AT which provides a perfect balance of power, performance, and mileage. Moreover, maintenance would not be much of an issue either.

3. Nexon Petrol
When you are spending over 15 lakhs for an SUV, I would not recommend you go for a 3-cylinder petrol AMT, not only is the AMT jerky, but the engine ain't the most refined either.

4. XUV700
The best SUV you can get under 25 lakhs, period, loads of space, more than adequate performance, and a truly big car at that. The XUV700 has all you need in a car at this price point, however, mileage won't be the best owing to the thirsty engines on offer.

5. Hyryder
The Toyota Urban Cruiser Hyryder is the most fuel-efficient car you can get with an ARAI-certified mileage of 27.97 kmpl, the Hybrid system is a boon in traffic and the car is a good choice for sedate drivers with just about adequate performance on tap. Not the most powerful or torquey engine out there, but it gets the job done while providing you with class-leading fuel economy.

6. Thar
The 3-door Thar isn't the most practical choice out there, if you are insistent on the same, you would be better off waiting for the 5-door whose launch is just around the corner.

Hope it helps!
bijims is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 25th October 2022, 06:12   #132

Re: Recommendations for SUV

If you are going for an automatic, I would suggest you to avoid the AMTs and go for a reliable TC AT or CVT car, the best options in your scenario would be the XUV700, but waiting periods are an issue, The Harrier would be the next best option but it is not without its fair share of niggles, Do check out the upcoming MG Hector facelift, it just might be the perfect car for you.
bijims is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 25th October 2022, 06:18   #133

As far as safety and performance are concerned, the Kushaq and Taigun are the best on offer here, but the maintenance costs of Skoda-VW are usually on the high side. Mileage should be decent too.

The XUV700 is a perfect blend of safety, performance and space, but waiting periods are through the roof. Mileage of the XUV700 isn't the best either.

The Hyryder is the most fuel-efficient out there and that is just about it.

You could also take a look at the upcoming MG Hector facelift before you make a decision,

Do test drive each one of them and let us know your thoughts.
yedukrishnan199 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th October 2022, 06:47   #134

I would say that Hyryder is also a low practical value car in its Strong Hybrid avatar with its miniscule boot space. Also may not exciting to drive as its ICE competitors. Thar too has less boot space but is very powerful and the purest SUV in the true sense.
fhdowntheline is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th October 2022, 07:28   #135

Originally Posted by Auto_guy_101 View Post

I've been a frequent reader of this website but this is my 1st post. A little intro about me and my car: I'm from Kochi, Kerala, and have a VW Vento 1.6 petrol MT (2014). I work in Bangalore but WFH. This post is about looking for a replacement car

About my Vento usage:
I've largely been the only person driving the car and it had little use previously. It's now 8 yrs, 36K km. I However, I've had some part failures
1. ABS sensor: came to know this is common. I've had mine replaced 6 times. Now using bosch sensors
2. Radiator fan: at 33K kms this year. Got to know it failed due to the speedometer stopping. cost 15K
3. Steering rack: This year. 13K
4. Shock absorber bushes/ struts: Last year. The showroom guys gave me a 45K estimate. I took it to a place called Pete's and it cost 12K
5. Battery/ starter motor brushes changed

forum

I have an absolutely contrary take on this.

Yes indeed I am with you that you have suddenly started seeing maintenance spends. What needs to be kept in mind, is despite this being a ‘single owner/ single hand driven’ car, it is 8+ years old.

Thats why some parts are likely to fail probably due to age and fatigue and need replacing. Our country and its climatic conditions and driving conditions and roads etc are NOT kind to vehicles. So the likely wear down of parts is going to be higher here than in Europe or USA, irrespective of whether the car is used or not. Even if the car just sits there, it is slowly experiencing parts deterioration. More so in climates with high humidity, salt content in the air, heavy monsoons and harsh sunshine.

My point here is that you've spent a good deal on the vehicle and its maintenance. You like this car and are happy with its driving experience. And your usage isn't much. You should therefore extract the best value you can from your investment already made.
The Vento is a lovely car. That generation of Vento will be hard to replace in terms of finish, quality, weight and handling etc. If you want more power you can chip it and uprate your suspension and tyres. And use XP 95 petrol for a cleaner combustion/ burn.

Honestly, NONE of the newer vehicles will excite you much. They are all built to meet a price and this shows. They ‘ain’t got no soul’.

Let me give you two examples from my personal experience.

1. My Skoda Yeti was 8 years old when I sold it. It had hardly been driven 50000 odd kms and I had just spent big money in preventive maintenance like timing chain and water pump and haldex fluid and all that. I sold it because I had broken my foot and that triggered the need for an automatic. So the new buyer became lucky. But had I been patient, maybe I would have just kept that car because it was in such good condition. Basically I did not extract the value from my investment in the case of that car.

2. My Mini Cooper was 7.5 years old when I bought it. It had hit 33700 genuine kms. But around a month after I bought it the maintenance issues started showing up. Coolant pump, all brake rotors, steering ball joint, brake pads, some hoses, the breather valves, the entire ATF Fluid drain and change, the PCV system membranes and sensors and leads, then the bigger ones, fuel filter, ignition coils, spark plugs and then the really big one the entire suspension and dampers and all. All the tyres needed changing and so on. And on the way quite a few cosmetic parts and rubber parts needed to be replaced because of rubber and plastic deterioration, hood cowl, bumper air vents for the brakes, rear hood release, bonnet bowden cables. Etc. The list is huge. And I have the entire history.

This car also tends to eat up brake pads and the brake sensors as well keep needing change. But thats the nature of the beast. And if you love the beast, as I do, then you’ll also keep feeding it, like I do.

And journey still continues, I will say!

So, I’d like to state here that, irrespective of whether the car is used much or not, it will require these jobs done on it. I can only say that since I got the car about 3 years ago, I have driven about 23000 Kms in it - the odo is at about 56700 now. I have tried to use it as much as possible. Any reason to jump in and drive, and I grab it.

For this vehicle, though I have scoured the globe for parts and spent countless hours researching multiple Cooper forums, DIY techniques on Youtube and weeks in the garage with it and of course invested a great deal of money as well in parts, import, freight, customs duties, on sourcing high priced items locally at BMW India etc, I am decidedly NOT regretting it.

I can safely say that I am in the process of trying hard to extract the best value that I can, from it because it is also a ‘modern classic’ in a sense.

And before anyone ’profiles’ me. Do note that I am not a ‘rich’ dude in that sense, sitting pretty in an ivory tower, awash with stacks of lucre, either inherited cash or real estate or some other wealth. I am just a normal service industry person who earns a salary, but I love cars and would not wish to compromise on properly looking after the ones that I own.

In my view you should hang on to your car till it reaches the ten year mark and by then you will be better spoilt for choice when it comes to a change/ upgrade.

Thats my 75 bits of contribution towards addressing your dilemma. (Or maybe towards contributing further to your confusion)!
shankar.balan is offline   (25) Thanks