Old 5th January 2010, 11:38   #331

Can you please help me with this
MAKGM253L9N005583

Booking a Honda City 1.5 VMT Silver Color . Want to check the month of manufacturing.

Dev
Old 5th January 2010, 11:43   #332

Originally Posted by irdevanand View Post
Can you please help me with this
MAKGM253L9N005583

Booking a Honda City 1.5 VMT Silver Color . Want to check the month of manufacturing.

Dev
This seems to me a Nov 2009 model . But, one thing which intrigues me is, when I got my City 1.5 V MT in Dec 15, the last 5 digits of the serial number was almost 800 more than what you have mentioned here. Does this number represent the number of vehicles that are produced ?
Old 5th January 2010, 12:02   #333

Thanks. Should i ask for a more recent car?

Dev
Old 5th January 2010, 12:15   #334

Thanks. Should i ask for a more recent car?

Dev
Well, it depends on whether the last 5 digit represents the sequence of production of cars.I am not sure whether these 5 digits mean that lesser number means an older car
Old 5th January 2010, 23:04   #335

MAKGM253L9N005583
MAK = Honda Siel Cars India Ltd. (HSCI)
GM2 = SOHC 16 valve i-VTEC
Displacement: 1,496 cc
5= 4 Door Sedan, Manual transmission
3= Grade
L= November
9= Year 2009
N= Noida Plant
005583 = Product serial

Well if you booked at December last week or January first week you deserves a 2010 model not the November 2009. If you want a 2010 specifically ask for it .

OT: Going out of station for official purpose (Annual Conference) from tomorrow onwards and will be back only on Sunday night. Sorry for any inconvenience caused.

Last edited by wildon : 5th January 2010 at 23:14.
Old 10th January 2010, 23:05   #336

OT: Going out of station for official purpose (Annual Conference) from tomorrow onwards and will be back only on Sunday night. Sorry for any inconvenience caused.[/quote]

Hi Wildon,

I hope you are back. Could you kindly decode the VIN below for a Cedia Sports, I need to know the month and year of manufacture. I have to make the payment tomorrow morning and info received before that would be of great help.

MA701CS6A9J002645

Thank you in advance.

Last edited by khoj : 10th January 2010 at 23:10.
Old 11th January 2010, 00:10   #337

Santro VIN

Hi Wildon,

Hope the conference was happening enough to keep your mind off the auto expo. Could you kindly decode the VIN below for a Hyundai Santro

MALAA51HR9M424416

Best regards

Mukund
Old 11th January 2010, 01:02   #338

Dear Wilden
Your posts in various threads have helped a lot to understand the Hyundai i20 which I am about to own. Thanks, for making me cautious on various aspects and I will also seek help in near future when my car is delivered to me.
Old 11th January 2010, 12:11   #339

Originally Posted by khoj View Post
MA701CS6A9J002645
The 10 the digit of the VIN is Year and its 2009 Manufactured. The 9th digit represents the Month and i don't have enough sample of Mitsubishi for conclude, but calculating it through normal procedure it may be January 2009.
Old 11th January 2010, 12:17   #340

Originally Posted by swami View Post
MALAA51HR9M424416
MODEL NAME : Santro
MODEL YEAR : 2009 Model
GRADE : MXI
BODY TYPE : 5 Door
ENGINE : 1.1L-EPSILON
ENGINE TYPE : SOHC-MPI
FUEL TYPE : Unleaded gasolin
T/A TYPE : 5 speed MT-2WD
PRODUCTION DATE: 16-04-2009
INTERIOR COLOR: LM (MEDIUM GRAY)
EXTERIOR COLOR: GT (GOLD TOPAZ)

Originally Posted by Surfeus View Post
Dear Wilden
Your posts in various threads have helped a lot to understand the Hyundai i20 which I am about to own. Thanks, for making me cautious on various aspects and I will also seek help in near future when my car is delivered to me.
Thank you.
Old 11th January 2010, 12:18   #341

Hi Wildon. One of my friends plans to book a Ritz. How can one ensure that the vehicle alloted to him is manufactured in Jan 2010. He specfically wants a January manufactured car and is ready to wait for that if required.
Old 11th January 2010, 12:19   #342

Originally Posted by ash7678
MA6MF481J9T038017
Its a September 2009 Manufactured Vehicle.
Old 11th January 2010, 12:24   #343

Originally Posted by longhorn View Post
Hi Wildon. One of my friends plans to book a Ritz. How can one ensure that the vehicle alloted to him is manufactured in Jan 2010. He specfically wants a January manufactured car and is ready to wait for that if required.
Tell him to check underneath the boot/Bonnet . There will be 17 digit VIN plus additional two digits which represents the Month and Year. If the last two digit are AA then its January 2010.
Old 11th January 2010, 12:33   #344

Originally Posted by wildon View Post
Its a September 2009 Manufactured Vehicle.

Thanx Wildon! when i confronted the Sundaram (dealer) guys with this info, they started acting funny. Was talking to a guy named Javed who was extremely arrogant in his conduct. He went to the extent of saying that it did not make any difference as the car was invoiced on the 31st of Dec 09. He also said that i was free to cancel the booking but would have to pay for the invoicing charges (he didn't tell me the amount).

Would appreciate any help from fellow-BHP'ians in how to escalate this matter/tackle it.
Old 11th January 2010, 12:43   #345

Originally Posted by wildon View Post
Tell him to check underneath the boot/Bonnet . There will be 17 digit VIN plus additional two digits which represents the Month and Year. If the last two digit are AA then its January 2010.
Thanks a lot for that very quick reply!