Old 2nd November 2008, 19:53   #1

Finally got a used Honda City

hi friends i was searching for a zen from couple of months . today i went to buy a zen and test drove a few second hand zens but none satisfied me. i was dissappointed and was about to return home when a honda city came to dealer .it looked nice to me and deal is finalised. it is honda city1.3exi model 1999 and 88kon odo, i have to pay 1.65lac for it.it has alloy wheels and new tyres. is it a real steal. car is in good condition with minor scratches
Old 2nd November 2008, 19:58   #2

1.65 lac seems a bit high to me.
Maybe others can advice you better.

but why a 9 year old car?
Old 2nd November 2008, 20:25   #3

Originally Posted by abhinav.gupta88 View Post

are you sure its high . according to this link its real steal CarValue | My Valuations | CarWale CarValue - CarWale.com
Old 2nd November 2008, 21:32   #4

Its a steal deal depending on the condition.

In my 3 years search for 2nd hand car, I have seen 5-6 years old cars (including OHCs) which I wouldnt buy even for 50K.

So as long as you are satisfied with the condition, 1.65 is really good, I must say.
Old 2nd November 2008, 21:48   #5

I maybe wrong
i just thought it was high.
But then a lot depends on the condition of the car.

But again why a 9 year old car?
Old 3rd November 2008, 07:31   #6

car is in excellent condition with new alloys and tyres.
@abhinav.gupta88 iwas searching for a zen whose price was around 1.50lac for 2000 mode so i opted for honda. i choose 9years old car as i wanted to spend less money as it would be with me for an year only
Old 3rd November 2008, 09:03   #7

Congrats
now post some pics
Is it a typeII?
Old 3rd November 2008, 09:20   #8

Originally Posted by abhinav.gupta88 View Post

The OHC is in a league of it own... i was offered 2.5lakhs for my 2000 model Type 2 OHC (1.5Exi)... But couldn't part with it and now have no intention of selling it...

Runs and handles like a dream... miles ahead in comparison to the NHC!
Old 3rd November 2008, 10:19   #9

Originally Posted by harry2223 View Post
hi friends i was searching for a zen from couple of months . today i went to buy a zen and test drove a few second hand zens but none satisfied me. i was dissappointed and was about to return home when a honda city came to dealer .it looked nice to me and deal is finalised. it is honda city1.3exi model 1999 and 88kon odo, i have to pay 1.65lac for it.it has alloy wheels and new tyres. is it a real steal. car is in good condition with minor scratches
Dude its a good price! the age of the car is the only negative factor...i had 99model 1.3 exi and i can say its one fantastic machine...very refined and trust worthy!

however you might want to get the clutch and the suspensions checked....
Old 3rd November 2008, 10:37   #10

congrats bro

and the car is sure a steal at 1.65lac
when i went looking for a car i saw few OHC also and all were close to 2lacs even for a 1998 model
put up some pics bro and congrats again
Old 3rd November 2008, 13:12   #11

thanx friends i would post the pictures on wednessday.as currently i have given the token money and got the car. car is presently in ludhiana at my relatives place. i will pay full money and get it to patiala that day.
Old 3rd November 2008, 13:20   #12

Originally Posted by akshay4587 View Post
Congrats
now post some pics
Is it a typeII?
type was not introduced till 2002 (corrected me if u am wrong).. so a 1999 honda city is type I
Old 3rd November 2008, 13:26   #13

Congrats, is it type 1 OHC? Hope you have test driven the car and got it checked with a mechanic?

Look forward to some exterior and interior pictures of the your new acquisition.
Old 3rd November 2008, 13:40   #14

its type 1 ohc .i have test driven it handling and pickup is excellent checked suspension on bad road it is also in good condition.
Old 3rd November 2008, 13:56   #15

Originally Posted by gouravsinha View Post
type was not introduced till 2002 (corrected me if u am wrong).. so a 1999 honda city is type I
Nope, you are wrong.

Type II introduced in end 1999-2000. I have a type II (crystal lights) march 2000 model.