Old 2nd October 2020, 16:21   #286

Re: Mahindra Thar Review : First Drive

Originally Posted by HTC View Post
Wow !!
Spot on pricing by Mahindra. Now I need to check the options for luggage modification and run to bank for SBI magnum car loan .
Apply for the car loan through the Yono app to get a 0.25% concession on ROI
jasjotbains is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 2nd October 2020, 16:24   #287

Maybe its just me but the pricing is on higher side atleast by 1.5 lakhs. Ideal price range for petrol AT should have been 11.95 Lakhs. With current pricing if one is looking for 2nd car in garage a suv type then its a tough sell to ones better half. Spending 17 lakhs on road is a lot for a niche vehicle.
heydj is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd October 2020, 16:26   #288

Thirukkural is a 7-word couplet written about 2500 years ago by a celebrated Tamil poet and philosopher, Thiruvallur.

One such couplet is -
மகன் தந்தைக்கு ஆற்றும்உதவி இவன்தந்தை
என்னோற்றான் கொல்எனும் சொல்
which roughly means
The greatest benefit a son can bring unto his father is for him to hear "what penance did his father do, to beget such a son" from the world.
Anand Mahindra and M&M have repeatedly honoured Shri. Behram Dabbar, the proud father of Thar -
Mahindra Thar Review : First Drive-img_20201002_161233_586.jpg

Last edited by ph03n!x : 2nd October 2020 at 16:27.
ph03n!x is offline   (45) Thanks
Old 2nd October 2020, 16:30   #289

Is anybody aware of the max torque rating of the aisin torque converter being used in the Thar? 150 hp seems a little less for a 2 l turbo petrol. This seems more in line with what a 2 l NA petrol would produce. The torque figures are at par though. I wonder whether a simple ecu flash would get it up to the 190 hp figure they're planning for the xuv500. Could this gearbox handle this much power?
fulcrum29 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd October 2020, 16:44   #290

Just met the Red Rage and the first impressions:

Oh man, Just loved it.
  • Massive
  • Huuuge presence, yet elegant. On par with an XUV500 that was parked next to it and XUV300 seemed to be a dwarf.
  • Top quality build and feels premium
  • Monster tyres
  • Luggage space incredibly low than expected. Don't think you can stack one top of the other. The rear seat will not let you do that.
  • No dead pedal (trivial thing), but the absence is felt badly.

Bangalore price list:

OTR : 12.15L to 17.45L

Mahindra Thar Review : First Drive-price-list.jpg

Last edited by balenoed_ : 2nd October 2020 at 17:04.
balenoed_ is offline   (16) Thanks
Old 2nd October 2020, 16:49   #291

Thar LX Petrol AT - 13.45 lakhs. 2.2L mStallion TGDi petrol with 150hp, 4*4 and 6 speed torque converter.

To see if it is value or not - let's see where it fits in:

Vitara Brezza AT - 1.5 NA petrol, 105hp, 4 speed TC - 11.4 lakhs.
Sonet GTX+ 7DCT - 1.0 TGDi petrol, DCT transmission, 118hp - 12.89 lakhs.
Duster RXL 1.3 Turbo CVT - 13.59 lakhs.
Seltos GTX DCT - 1.4 TGDi petrol, DCT transmission, 138hp - 17.29 lakhs.
D
Originally Posted by karanddd View Post
But 4 people with luggage can go on a long trip in a Brezza.
Valid argument @karanddd, None of the above compared cars require the co-driver to get out and squeeze rear seat passengers through a crevice. In other words, any of these could be the only car in the house, the Thar mostly would be the 'lifestyle' second/third car. And thats exactly what the Thar is meant for.

To add to @CrAzY dRiVeR,

The correct comparison would be other vehicles less on practicality and more on weekend quotient.

Isuzu D Max Vcross Base 16.54
Mid 18.06
Top 19.99
Force Gurkha Base 9.75
Mid 12.99
Top 13.30

For what's on offer, the Thar is still within rightful pricing territory.

I doubt how many looking at the Sonet, would cross shop into a Thar. That's a different audience.

What the 2020 Thar is aiming for is to make more of those looking for that second car and passed on the old gen Thar for lack of certain basic kit and for it being too barebones, to look at this Thar'20 as a more acceptable purchase.

There are specific demographics that the 20 Thar hits at.
(i) The financially comfortable, middle aged second car buyer for his adventurous weekend life/mall crawling.
(ii) The BHPians,like us, who now have just enough reasons to convince everyone at home, that the Thar'20 now makes the cut as the family car.
(iii)The young, unmarried, new car buyer who doesn't need to bother about the burden of practicality/fitting kids and elders etc.

I also feel that there are more lifestyle buyers now than say 10 years ago, and so this 'Bullet on fours' will still find takers.

Last edited by vigneshkumar31 : 2nd October 2020 at 17:03.
vigneshkumar31 is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 2nd October 2020, 16:51   #292

Booking amount is Rs.21000.
Are there any charges in case customer wishes to cancel it?
Old 2nd October 2020, 16:56   #293

Originally Posted by udy View Post
Genuine Accessories. They are mentioned in the Thar Accessories Brochure available on the Thar website. I have attached the same here for your reference.
Thanks for sharing. Attaching the same document in Images form for ease of viewing for BHPians.

Mahindra Thar Genuine Accessories

Mahindra Thar Review : First Drive-thar_accossories-brochurepage001.jpg

Mahindra Thar Review : First Drive-thar_accossories-brochurepage002.jpg

Mahindra Thar Review : First Drive-thar_accossories-brochurepage003.jpg

Mahindra Thar Review : First Drive-thar_accossories-brochurepage004.jpg

Mahindra Thar Review : First Drive-thar_accossories-brochurepage005.jpg

Mahindra Thar Review : First Drive-thar_accossories-brochurepage006.jpg

Mahindra Thar Review : First Drive-thar_accossories-brochurepage007.jpg

Mahindra Thar Review : First Drive-thar_accossories-brochurepage008.jpg

Mahindra Thar Review : First Drive-thar_accossories-brochurepage009.jpg

Mahindra Thar Review : First Drive-thar_accossories-brochurepage010.jpg

Mahindra Thar Review : First Drive-thar_accossories-brochurepage011.jpg

Mahindra Thar Review : First Drive-thar_accossories-brochurepage012.jpg

Mahindra Thar Review : First Drive-thar_accossories-brochurepage013.jpg

Mahindra Thar Review : First Drive-thar_accossories-brochurepage014.jpg

Mahindra Thar Review : First Drive-thar_accossories-brochurepage015.jpg

Mahindra Thar Review : First Drive-thar_accossories-brochurepage016.jpg

Mahindra Thar Review : First Drive-thar_accossories-brochurepage017.jpg
WhiteSierra is offline   (19) Thanks
Old 2nd October 2020, 17:26   #294

New Thar compared with the Old Thar

Venkatesh is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 2nd October 2020, 17:28   #295

One look at the brochure and it is certain that Mahindra wants the customer to go for LX version. Some options can't be fitted outside and creature comforts are also reserved for LX model.
Indeed fat profits for Mahindra. This can't be a primary vehicle, but will have to give it to Mahindra to give a Jeep Wrangler with ugly grill at sub 20 lakh rupees.
Hope they don't increase prices in small increments to reach 20 lacs OTR in a year or two.
PraNeel is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 2nd October 2020, 17:33   #296

I think the market segments for auto vs manual are different. I personally dont see myself driving a manual given i live in Bangalore and traffic is a nightmare. Have replaced all my cars with AutoT.
So it comes down to your personal choice and how much of manual shifting you are willing to commute with on a daily basis.. In short, FE is not the criteria to decide between manual and auto.. FE is the criteria to decide between Diesel AT vs Petrol AT for me

Originally Posted by justwheels View Post
With the new Petrol Manual now on the offer in LX, what do the bhpians say?
Earlier a lot was talked of the Petrol auto but the expected FE was a bummer, although the 150hp motor was a good selling point. Now with petrol manual in picture, will it make sense to look at it against a diesel manual?
It's a 50k difference only between the 2 manuals. Saving 50k ex-showroom cost, you get a powerful and refined motor, with lesser FE. Does it make any sense in the equation? Will love to hear thoughts as I am contemplating between the 2 now.
originalamit is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 2nd October 2020, 17:42   #297

Wonderful pricing. I am definitely in for Thar.
However, I would like to know about real world performance comparison of petrol and diesel AT. Both variants are priced quite close. Should diesel AT just be chosen for better fuel economy?
What are the weight differences? There is no mention in brochure. As on paper, Petrol AT should be better since all important specs are in its favour, plus the weight advantage(hopefully).

Any insights?
Old 2nd October 2020, 17:56   #298

I kind of wish for a STD model in AX diesel line up. May be Mahindra will launch it sometime later after customer feedback. I guess a large portion of Thar buyers will go for diesel across the range anyway.
Old 2nd October 2020, 17:59   #299

Re: Behram sir at launch of first Thar version

On this day, I wanted to hear again what Behram Sir has spoken about during launch of First gen Thar. In case anyone else feel same, here is the video:

deetee is offline   (29) Thanks
Old 2nd October 2020, 18:01   #300

Let me start with an admission, I booked the Thar within minutes of launch. Booked the Diesel automatic hard top variant. Then made it to the showroom to experience it. There’s enough material on how the car looks so will skip that part. Given that TD vehicles were overcrowded I couldn’t muster the courage to drive the car. However I did manage to sneak into the display vehicle for a few seconds.

My concerns :
1. Space is a big issue, in an attempt to replicate the Wrangler stance, Mahindra designers have given disproportionate importance to the bonnet. It is criminal to call this car a 4 seater

2. Windscreen height - is too short and can impact visibility especially in off-road conditions

3. Ergos- Now I know, Thar ain’t ideal for touring because of the ladder frame construction but I don’t think the seating is comfortable for long hours. That’s primarily due to high flooring. I noticed a lot of prospective buyers were struggling with the seating position at the drivers seat.

More when I get to drive it

Last edited by Rajiv0909 : 2nd October 2020 at 18:03.
Rajiv0909 is offline   (7) Thanks