Old 14th June 2008, 10:15   #91

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
greeted by the sight of a huge ship, beached and abandoned.
that ship was stranded there about 6-7 years ago. It is owned by one of the Salgaonkar's (the family split up some years ago). The ship was not insured (I am told the owners had defaluted on insurance payments and hence the insurance had been cancelled) at the time it ran ashore (it broke anchor and was push ashore during a storm). Since the cost of recovering the ship is more than the cost of the ship itself Mr. Salgaonkar has left it to rot.

for reasons I cannot fathom there is a guard on board (if you check out the ship at night you will see lights) presuambly to prevent the ship from being cut up by "scrap-metal pirates".

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
I also carry a portable iPod dock
Which one. I find most good docks kinda bulky to transport.

Last edited by navin : 14th June 2008 at 10:18.
Old 14th June 2008, 13:11   #92
ECM

Originally Posted by navin View Post
that ship was stranded there about 6-7 years ago. It is owned by one of the Salgaonkar's (the family split up some years ago). The ship was not insured (I am told the owners had defaluted on insurance payments and hence the insurance had been cancelled) at the time it ran ashore (it broke anchor and was push ashore during a storm). Since the cost of recovering the ship is more than the cost of the ship itself Mr. Salgaonkar has left it to rot.

for reasons I cannot fathom there is a guard on board (if you check out the ship at night you will see lights) presuambly to prevent the ship from being cut up by "scrap-metal pirates".

Which one. I find most good docks kinda bulky to transport.
This sad saga began on 5th June,1994 I am attaching some rare shots of that ship here.In one of the shot one can observe that ship(tanker)has been drifted from the original place,compare it with the coast line of Sam's album.
A YetiHoliday® - TheYeti®, TheOne®, The Activa and a very wet Goa-1.jpg  

A YetiHoliday® - TheYeti®, TheOne®, The Activa and a very wet Goa-2.jpg  

A YetiHoliday® - TheYeti®, TheOne®, The Activa and a very wet Goa-3.jpg  

Old 15th June 2008, 11:56   #93

hi theyeti and theone,

waiting for your post.
i am remembering one song,

'zindgi ek safar hai suhana
kal kya ho kisne jana'
'doodle doodle doo, doodle doodle doo '
Old 15th June 2008, 16:31   #94

I remember 2 ships were stranded in Bombay around 15 years ago. One in Worli and one in Bandra. I can still remember how much oil there was on the beaches in Juhu and we were playing Cricket that time.
Old 15th June 2008, 16:38   #95

Sam Bhai! You popularity on T-BHP can be determined from the fact that in post no. 93, the user AshishPallod who joined the forum in Oct-2006 made his first post in response to your travelogue! Way to go Sam Bhai! We all are waiting for you to continue!
Old 15th June 2008, 17:10   #96

Beautiful poetry in motion, only disrupted by long gaps in narration.
But keep them coming; for that bind the spell, monsieur!
Old 15th June 2008, 19:03   #97

sambhai,
i am going to crush my laptop if you donot post early.
hurry up man. cannot bear this wait.
Old 15th June 2008, 21:28   #98

Originally Posted by SumitB View Post
Sam Bhai! You popularity on T-BHP can be determined from the fact that in post no. 93, the user AshishPallod who joined the forum in Oct-2006 made his first post in response to your travelogue! Way to go Sam Bhai! We all are waiting for you to continue!
Sam does have a knack of making you respond to his threads.

@Sam, 1st person narrative was better.
Old 16th June 2008, 09:48   #99

what is common between sam and ex pm atalji?

both take long pauses during narration.
Old 16th June 2008, 11:25   #100

I apologise for the delay. I was unable to write over this weekend. I am going to first convert the story to 1st person with a little help from Gautam, then continue. Please bear with me.
Old 16th June 2008, 11:33   #101

Is this ship is visible from Fort Aguada ? / Taj Holiday Village ?

Wondering aloud, some enterprising guy should come and setup a 'offshore' Disco / Casino onboard that ship.

Any of our Vintage/Classic gurus listening ? That ship is begging to be restored !
Old 16th June 2008, 11:55   #102

The Hotel / Guest House / B&B you stayed in is excellent. Just the place I was looking for Sam. Thanks, I found it on tripadvisor also. Rated #1 among 5 B&B's.

Tell me one thing Sam - Is this safe for Ladies travelling on their own ? ( Mum & Sis want to go ). Marriotts ridiculously priced now, we were regulars there

Here is the link for all you interested in Mantheven,Goa - Calangute: Mantheven Homes - Traveler Reviews - Lovely Mantheven homes - TripAdvisor
Old 16th June 2008, 12:15   #103

Originally Posted by vkochar View Post

Tell me one thing Sam - Is this safe for Ladies travelling on their own ? ( Mum & Sis want to go ). Marriotts ridiculously priced now, we were regulars there

Here is the link for all you interested in Mantheven,Goa - Calangute: Mantheven Homes - Traveler Reviews - Lovely Mantheven homes - TripAdvisor
100% safe for ladies travelling on their own. Max and Jess run the place, Jessica is a wonderful lady and is in charge of the place, which has a very family-like atmosphere.

It is clean, the toilet is clean and nice and they have a maid that comes in every alternate day to sweep, swab and clean the toilet.
The fridge works perfectly well, as does the cooking gas and everything else. They have satellite TV, TheOne® and I never watch TV on holiday EVER, so we didn't try.

I would not count on the washing machine though, it looked a little old and run down to me.

Towels are fresh and clean, the linen was freshly washed but not changed during our 3 day stay. Drinking water and toilet paper is charged (55/- for a 5 litre bisleri and 25 for toilet paper)

Cups, plates, spoons. forks and knives are plenty. A few pots and pans, enough to cook small meals. You are expected to wash your dishes by hand.

An interesting anecdote: The website stated Rs. 800/- off season. When I emailed Jessica, she quoted me Rs. 700/- per night and I accepted. When we checked in, there were a few formalities (since Jenny is a foreigner, it is required for them to register her with the local Police, she had to fill a form)
She was clear upfront "You have to pay me first" and I counted out Rs. 2100/- and handed it over.
She counted the money and said "I quoted you 700?" and I said yes, thinking, Oh NO, I knew this was too good to be true...

She counted out Rs. 300 and returned it saying that she had recently charged another couple 600/- per night and it would be unfair to take 700/- from me.

That should give you an idea of the kind of place it was. I recommend it strongly and please do give Jessica my regards when you stay there.
Old 16th June 2008, 12:48   #104

now, sambhai is in action.
sam, you travel lot of places. we read about them in your travelogue. this makes interest about those places among readers.
you are in mumbai and maharashtra has beautiful konkan coastline .
i request you to travel this coastline and writeup travelogue.
after reading this konkan travelogue, readers will get knowledge about it.
this will lead to great holidays for readers, some earning to local people and advertising of beautiful konkan beaches.
Old 16th June 2008, 12:58   #105

Sam,

All transfers from 3rd to 1st person complete. Time for you to take the stage.