Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India

Old 24th June 2007, 11:56   #91

Originally Posted by karlosdeville View Post
firstly, shes a 170, not 120...

agreed, the bodywork has been done very well...still dont agree that this is the correct candidate for it though...
Wire wheels never came on the 170 series, and even though wires are period, these particular ones just dont fit the bill...obvious modern day repros...infact ive seen them on many classics in delhi, so they might even be local, or easily available...
well karl, its not that bad looking, iv seen it. & its for sale at a silly price. if it were available at a fair price, i would buy it...and since its already buggered, id lower the top another few inches, modify the suspension, put in a modern japanese engine of about 2 litres,(88 bhp isuzu 1.8 perhaps)with ideally an auto box, A/C,P/S, P/W, modern becker mexico... and use it as a daily city driver.it already has a modern webasto sunroof.
Old 24th June 2007, 16:54   #92

Originally Posted by awini View Post
well karl, its not that bad looking, iv seen it. & its for sale at a silly price. if it were available at a fair price, i would buy it...and since its already buggered, id lower the top another few inches, modify the suspension, put in a modern japanese engine of about 2 litres,(88 bhp isuzu 1.8 perhaps)with ideally an auto box, A/C,P/S, P/W, modern becker mexico... and use it as a daily city driver.it already has a modern webasto sunroof.

I sympathise with what your saying...still, i feel a different car should have been used...even if from the 40s, ideally an american car would "pimp" out much better...the design of the 170 is way too elegant for choppin' an' slammin'
Old 24th June 2007, 18:11   #93

Wow, nice to see all these 'archived' cars!

Incidentally I happened to come across a '48 Buick Eight being restored at a garage in a 'hidden' lane at Secunderabad here yesterday....plus another one being rebuilt chassis-up......& a 'bug' fiat 500c there too....

'badly wish I could upload the pics. but my net is being so s-l-o-w now, takes an hr to just open/download a page!

Will still try...
Old 24th June 2007, 18:19   #94

The supposed Riley is actually a 59 Rambler American...another quirk like the Nash
The other car is a late 20s early 30s Ford Model A....very popular in India...you can be sure of seeing atleast 4-5 at every event.
Right on Karl. The car is a Rambler Nash and the other one in a 1928 A Ford

Originally Posted by ajmat View Post
Some corrections

The car whose name you forgot - was an Austin A40 hereford
Its actually an Austin A40 Sommerset not a Hereford.

Where are the MAIN pics ishan?

Last edited by V-16 : 24th June 2007 at 18:22.
Old 24th June 2007, 18:39   #95

Hi Ishaan

You could not resist mentioning the tyres on the car could you ??
Anyways, if you are looking for Vintages - I can put you in touch with a friend who has quite a few of them. Right from a 1929 Ford to a 1984 Rolls Royce. If you are interested kindly PM me.

Old 25th June 2007, 00:19   #96

I sympathise with what your saying...still, i feel a different car should have been used...even if from the 40s, ideally an american car would "pimp" out much better...the design of the 170 is way too elegant for choppin' an' slammin'
Yanks are too large to drive around regularly , and just try to park one in khan market in the evening... trust me, iv driven a 1951 pontiac as a daily driver in delhi. the post war 170 was not very well built because of all the shortages and rationing etc, and its not a great car to drive either, but its the ideal size for modern traffic, so my hot rod will have to be european and not american... oh, and no painted flames for me either....i prefer the angular art deco graphics.
Old 25th June 2007, 01:51   #97

Well guys in continuation, here are some more pics:

Opel Rekord

This car even had the original Metzeler tyres that came fitted with it!!

More of the Beetle (these are for you Karl!)

More pics of the Caddy

The Interiors!

Hudson

Buick Roadmaster (Supposed to be a very famous Statesman's ex-car)

Note the Power Steering emblazoned on the Steering Wheel Boss

Note the neatly labelled switches!

Late '80's Landie Defender

Last edited by iraghava : 25th June 2007 at 01:56.
Old 25th June 2007, 02:14   #98

More....

Another '30's Buick

Another car unknown to me (Morris, maybe?)

Another Rambler

Another Fiat for Karl Singh "Fiat" Wala!

Now for some real nice cars!

Karl/Scooby sir/Ajmat can you identify what car this is?

A lovely V8 Camaro Convertible

I think they're fake louvres

Note the full-length side exit exhausts! Simply fabulous!

Old 25th June 2007, 02:20   #99

Chevrolet Bel-Air

Citroen 2CV

Austin 1800

Desoto Convertible

Old 25th June 2007, 02:30   #100

thanks man that camaro made my day

i love American muscles
Old 25th June 2007, 02:31   #101

great...cant wait! Especially for 2 cars I havent seen in a while...hope theyre on the agenda.
Yup but since they're pretty special they'll be on last! Bit of suspense & anticipation never hurt anybody & certainly not car freaks!!

Originally Posted by scooby05 View Post
Ishan, How come the front of the Caddi is not snapped?
Sir, this is why it could not be snapped! Bit of a traffic jam was there!

Originally Posted by scooby05 View Post
Neway Great Man, How on earth do you manage to find out and reach such places.
Keep it up!!
From the Garage and the Contents, it seems that the cars will just continue "being restored"!! in anycase its a slow process and with a dozen+ cars, its an ongoing process. Is this a collectors garage? or a dealer at a price!
Arrey sir I get to view these bausties only because of great friends like You, Gogi bhai & a few others! No secret in that!

As for the cars they are either owned by the garage guy or there for restoration. At last count the garage owner had 53 cars of his own!!! At the garage there were about 20+ cars when I visited & it was chock-a-block full! He sells but then you know what the prices will be like.
Old 25th June 2007, 04:51   #102

throw some prices at us, so we know what people ask for
Old 25th June 2007, 10:04   #103

Great show Ishan. Lovely pictures and thanks for sharing them.

Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
[b]Another car unknown to me (Morris, maybe?)
Its an Oldsmobile. The kissing car from Munnabhai?
Old 25th June 2007, 11:39   #104

Wow great collection...great pictures. Thanks for sharing

Old 25th June 2007, 12:05   #105

Amazing pics absolutely fab. I'd like to know the various models of the austin. That way I can identify the model my uncle had.
Vid6639 is offline   (1) Thanks