News

Need advice: Facing excessive vibrations on my Bajaj Pulsar 135 LS

I am facing vibrations, which start from 2k RPM all the way to the red line in almost all of the gears.

BHPian Nadapriya.auto recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

I am a 23-year-old engineer from Mysuru. My first and the only bike is the Pulsar 135 LS BS-IV. I have ridden it for around 10k kms. The only reason for the low usage is the lockdown and the subsequent online classes and WFH.

I had done the break-in and have periodically serviced my bike. The current engine oil used is the Motul 20W50 fully synthetic. However, I am facing vibrations, which start from 2k RPM all the way to the red line in almost all of the gears. I have faced this issue the entire time and have tried to neglect it. However, it is becoming tiresome. My bike redlines at 10k RPM and reaches 90 at 7k RPM and can do it all day, except for the vibrations. I like to ride hard, yet within limits. I do not rev past 7k-8k RPM most of the times. Currently getting an FE of 45 (tank to tank method).

Is anyone facing similar issue? The bike becomes perfectly normal, without vibrations for a few days after the service. The vibrations start after a few hundred KMs again. I get my bike serviced at Bajaj ASS.

At one time, I considered getting a new bike, under 2 lakhs on the road. However, I could not find a single bike which matched the value proposition, nimbleness, agility and the real-world FE of my bike. I can hold the bike with my thighs, corner decently, go up to respectable speeds and stand on the pegs to avoid getting my back hurt by rogue speed breakers and potholes in my machine. My daily commute is around 36-40 km. I shortlisted Xpulse, RTR200, Pulsar 250 twins, FZ25 and Hornet 2.0 and test rode them. Nothing seemed to be as all-round as my machine for the price.

Please suggest what I should do. Thanks in advance.

Here's what BHPian moralfibre had to say on the matter:

I would look at the engine mounts and the rubber bushings holding them. Unlikely that they have given up so quickly. Secondly, where do you feel the vibrations? Handlebars, footrests, under the seat or the sides you grab the tank. That could give further info on how to isolate the problem.

Here's what BHPian aargee had to say on the matter:

Kindly guide if my understanding is incorrect here:

You're looking a VFM replacement for your Pulsar 135 LS for a budget under 2L OTR to have a vibration free rides up to 100 Kmph, light weight, flickable matching 45 Kmpl & meeting respectable speeds (quantifying to 100 Kmph for now) for a distance of ~40 Km everyday.

If my understanding above is right, then, again, I'm sorry to joke here that, another Pulsar 135 LS will certainly match your requirements to close

Point being, no 2 products are identical (barring a few like W800/Bonneville, ZX6R/GSX500R/CBR500RR etc) in the market. However, if you may kindly elaborate what kinds of roads you undergo, all of us here can suggest some options that might result in agreeable terms.

That said, if you can compromise or adapt to being flexible a little here & there, then I'm more than positive you will certainly find a motorcycle to meet your requirements. KTMs are certainly a good choice & KTM 125, although sounding a little downgrade, which is entire different in real world comes to my mind on reading agile, nimble, price, FE, stand on foot-pegs.

Here's what BHPian MT_Hyderabad had to say on the matter:

If the vibrations improve after service and stays controlled for a few hundred kms., the problem is with drive chain. Either it has hardened/misaligned at some joints or there is less lubrication.

Clean it thoroughly and use a gear oil for lubrication and see if vibrations go away.

Here's what BHPian sagarpadaki had to say on the matter:

Welcome aboard.

Pulsars are not butter smooth. There will be some vibrations. Please share where you are facing vibrations - Foot peg, seats, handlebar?

For starters, try this engine oil.

I found this oil to suit the Pulsars best. The engine vibes reduce significantly. It is hard to find in local stores so you may have to hunt around a bit. Yes it is 20W50 against the required 20W40 for the 135LS. But should not cause you any issues.

Check out BHPian comments for more insights and information.

Love Cars Live Cars