Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Technical

Old 22nd November 2011, 09:39   #211

Re: Advice on fitting an air-conditioner in the Mahindra Thar

Originally Posted by raghu4222 View Post
I'm promised to a date around 10th Dec, meanwhile i also enquired about the FF AC and to my surprise they said that it has arrived and will cost around 58K. Since i was in a hurry, did not check what the components used will be

With this now again I'm in a confusion which way to take, whether the FF AC or the one from We cool.
Dear Raghu,
If i were you, i would've simply got it done at the place where Rajith has got it done.
  1. It is a one-day affair
  2. It is 25K while the factory one costs > 60K
  3. More vehicles translate to experience at We Cool. I wonder how many Thars would have got their AC installed at India Garage. Your vehicle shouldn't end up being the lab rat.
Deepak
Old 22nd November 2011, 12:11   #212

Why is the ice formation observed? is it something common in all the setups and that we don't notice or is it that the thermostat engagement is not right?

Now, i had been to India Garage to check on my vehicle status and transaction details. I'm promised to a date around 10th Dec, meanwhile i also enquired about the FF AC and to my surprise they said that it has arrived and will cost around 58K. Since i was in a hurry, did not check what the components used will be

With this now again I'm in a confusion which way to take, whether the FF AC or the one from We cool.
Ice formation is due to over cooling by engaging thermo to max for your present weather condition and i feel this is due 170 scorp comp. So i just engages upto 25%, where factory kit is using vlx comp i suppose ie 150.

if money allows , go for ASC fitted AC , else We cool..

Last edited by Rajith : 22nd November 2011 at 12:12.
Old 22nd November 2011, 12:45   #213

Why is the ice formation observed? is it something common in all the setups and that we don't notice or is it that the thermostat engagement is not right?

Now, i had been to India Garage to check on my vehicle status and transaction details. I'm promised to a date around 10th Dec, meanwhile i also enquired about the FF AC and to my surprise they said that it has arrived and will cost around 58K. Since i was in a hurry, did not check what the components used will be

Hey Whats the FF ac and the other one you mentioned...........
help needed
Old 22nd November 2011, 13:36   #214

Originally Posted by davidashish View Post
Hey Whats the FF ac and the other one you mentioned...........
help needed
Well FF is not the right word here - FF would mean Factory Fitted - what Raghu mentioned is "Mahindra & Mahindra Approved AC Kit" and as per SOP. Which Mr. Dhabhar has so kindly mentioned on the first page of this thread.

The other one mentioned is a AC technician called "We cool" (a local AC guy in Bangalore) - who has apparently fitted AC in over 11 Thars - albeit with mix and match components and without the dual fan setup. This one cost 25K whereas the Approved AC kit costs 58K.

So the confusion reigns - which way should one go - pay twice and get approved kit or pay half and get the AC which seems to work.

Last edited by carrot_eater : 22nd November 2011 at 13:40. Reason: more info
carrot_eater is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd November 2011, 14:38   #215

Originally Posted by carrot_eater View Post
Well FF is not the right word here - FF would mean Factory Fitted - what Raghu mentioned is "Mahindra & Mahindra Approved AC Kit" and as per SOP. Which Mr. Dhabhar has so kindly mentioned on the first page of this thread.

The other one mentioned is a AC technician called "We cool" (a local AC guy in Bangalore) - who has apparently fitted AC in over 11 Thars - albeit with mix and match components and without the dual fan setup. This one cost 25K whereas the Approved AC kit costs 58K.

So the confusion reigns - which way should one go - pay twice and get approved kit or pay half and get the AC which seems to work.
Thanks buddy, but my confusion still lingers as im in Delhi and too many people seem to know too much. I just don't wanna mess up the engine but a/c is a must for Delhi. May ill plan the hart top first but its difficult to get genuine work at a fair price in Delhi :-(
Old 22nd November 2011, 15:16   #216

my confusion still lingers as im in Delhi and too many people seem to know too much. I just don't wanna mess up the engine but a/c is a must for Delhi. May ill plan the hart top first but its difficult to get genuine work at a fair price in Delhi :-(
I, for one, will go the Mahindra approved kit way . The price has already come down from 75 K to 58K now - this could be still lower in Delhi - owing to tax differences.

I am waiting until the Factory fitted AC Thar comes along so - if there are any more modifications or changes that they do on the AC fitment - my hope is it will trickle down as an improved kit that should be available to all. Improved would mean - my hope again, is it will be ECU integrated.

And right now the temperature/ climate is pretty nice in Bangalore and should stay that way for the next quarter. By then the decision point would have come.

In my view - a hard top is not necessary for AC, the Thar canopy provides adequate cooling effect - I have noticed this in few of the TBhp Thar which have the AC fitted. - while you may get the Hard top done for various reasons - safety et al.

Also - I am not sure if you've noticed - A Thar without AC is far more bearable than a Sedan or a Hatchback without an AC. I think it is because of the angle and size of the windscreen in Thar which restricts the amount of sunlight that hits inside the vehicle you while driving and hence you don't feel as hot as you would in a sedan with a large slanting windscreen.

Simply stated - the body of the Thar is perhaps better designed for Non-AC driving than any other Car available. Sometimes the older designs help.

All said and done - Thar - Fantastic vehicle - love it driving it around, 4 months 4K Kms - it only gets better. AC will only make it even more better.

Please Mahindra get the pricing right on the AC Kit - shouldn't be twice as expensive than the local guy - 20% more can be justified anything more people will go the local way..
carrot_eater is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 22nd November 2011, 15:47   #217

Originally Posted by carrot_eater View Post
I, for one, will go the Mahindra approved kit way . The price has already come down from 75 K to 58K now - this could be still lower in Delhi - owing to tax differences.
==============
Please Mahindra get the pricing right on the AC Kit - shouldn't be twice as expensive than the local guy - 20% more can be justified anything more people will go the local way..
Makes sense, but Delhi is hot year long except for 2 months. Driving here with open windows means a millions honks right in your ear drums and one ends up being a dust bunny.
Ive clocked 4800Kms in 45 days and im ready for the first service. I am on a look of a good deal for a hard top as DC is unreasonably charging 2Lkhs. Some times i wonder why didnt i go for the scorpio or a safari, but its till the time im seated in the thar and crank the engine n the glares one gets is awesome. Im happy and more than satisfied with the thar, just adjusting with the poor plastic quality :-(
Advice on fitting an air-conditioner in the Mahindra Thar-1.jpg  

Advice on fitting an air-conditioner in the Mahindra Thar-dsc06275.jpg  

Advice on fitting an air-conditioner in the Mahindra Thar-img2011111600949.jpg  

Old 28th November 2011, 14:28   #218

....................I am on a look of a good deal for a hard top as DC is unreasonably charging 2Lakhs.........................(
David

Is DC-Design's Hard Top for the Thar show-cased anywhere?

Bopanna
Old 28th November 2011, 15:11   #219

Originally Posted by cpbopanna View Post
David

Is DC-Design's Hard Top for the Thar show-cased anywhere?

Bopanna
Nope, I have a fren working there,
its expected in a months time.
davidashish is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th December 2011, 22:16   #220

Is there anyone in Chennai who has fitted AC on Thar? Any suggestions on a good place in Chennai to do the same ?

thanks
Siva
Old 9th December 2011, 13:06   #221

I have clocked 4000kms till date. with we cool AC . Thru many hiways & villages of TN & KERALA.No issues..
Old 9th January 2012, 10:21   #222

Originally Posted by kshivaa View Post
Is there anyone in Chennai who has fitted AC on Thar? Any suggestions on a good place in Chennai to do the same ?

thanks
Siva
Hello kshivaa,

My Thar was delivered with a dealer installed A/C day before yesterday. Installation seems clean and the cooling quite effective. I was charged Rs. 30000 for it. Dealer was India Garage Santhome.
Old 9th January 2012, 11:25   #223

Originally Posted by Lakshman1645 View Post
Hello kshivaa,

My Thar was delivered with a dealer installed A/C day before yesterday. Installation seems clean and the cooling quite effective. I was charged Rs. 30000 for it. Dealer was India Garage Santhome.
Can you please put some pictures of the front grill showing the fan and inside control pannel.
rgrds,
Rajith
Old 9th January 2012, 11:30   #224

Originally Posted by Lakshman1645 View Post
Hello kshivaa,
Hi Lakshman

Was a new grill put in and has the intercooler been moved. I mean was it done with the Approved kit ?

If yes, in Banglore they charge 58K for that. If the difference is 30K between Blr and chennai - Time to plan a short 2-3 day vacation to Chennai

Last edited by carrot_eater : 9th January 2012 at 11:57. Reason: -
Old 9th January 2012, 13:51   #225

Hello Rajith

Will try to take some pictures this evening and post them for you. As I can see from outside, 2 fans have been fitted above the intercooler. It looks just like the picture posted in the first page, at the end of Mr. Behrams's post.
Control panel has not been changed in anyway. The red light in the centre stays on as long as the compressor is running.

Carrot Eater,

Yes it is the approved kit. No new grill and nothing has been moved. There is no longer a heater option. Its only A/C. I'll be in Bangalore this weekend so we could get in touch if you would like to have a look at my car.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com