Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 16th September 2009, 21:21   #211

Dear Gogi - a good centre path you have taken, I know the guy's sweet as sugar, i've met him, but please revert ASAP. I am going to be in Mumbai this weekend (work beckons). Can we go and have a look? I can never seem to find my own way there, its quite confusing.

Oh oh - the clutch cross shaft is not in line Sirji. Just saw it in the photographs. Needs to be corrected.

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar

Last edited by DHABHAR.BEHRAM : 16th September 2009 at 21:22. Reason: add info
Old 16th September 2009, 23:45   #212

Originally Posted by DHABHAR.BEHRAM View Post
Dear Gogi I am going to be in Mumbai this weekend (work beckons). Can we go and have a look? I can never seem to find my own way there, its quite confusing.

Oh oh - the clutch cross shaft is not in line Sirji. Just saw it in the photographs. Needs to be corrected.

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
Sir thats the Fayda of having someone like you as a close friend and advisor. I will be honoured to take you to that confusing maze of roads (even it took me 4 or 5 visits to get there originally)> iwill get in touch with you iover the weekend. Thanks a ton.
Old 17th September 2009, 01:10   #213

Hello Dhabhar Sahab,
That is a good solution to a delicate issue....
" Saamp mari jaye....ane laathi pan na tute ".
We must appreciate the high values in Gogi's thoughts.
Please see to the possibilities of installing the lefthand type FC's bellcrank and connecting the knuckles directly like your LHD JEEP kept with me.
Think it should save the power steering box and mechanism, if they are proper.
Also noted a funny flexible pipe at the 'inverted' oil filter, generally it is a metal tube.
Was it that way in some F 134s ? I had never seen earlier.
Looking forward to your views and observations.
All the best....................... UBS
Old 17th September 2009, 09:35   #214

Dear Mr.Uday Bhan Singh - it is nice to know that you know Gujarati, my mother tongue. Regarding the steering gear, I wish I could help but as we have moved away from the "C" section chassis towards the NG chassis, I may not be able to place the layout in perspective and without the layout you will appreciate that it becomes very difficult to progress such a major modification. I'll try nevertheless. But for one vehicle, it is not worth the engineering effort.

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
Old 17th September 2009, 12:14   #215

Originally Posted by DHABHAR.BEHRAM View Post
But for one vehicle, it is not worth the engineering effort.
But BehramBhai... this is not just any vehicle, its YOUR vehicle. Tamara Nalla Bhai nu vehicle che (see even i know Gujrati) (Maska - Maska).
Old 15th October 2009, 11:36   #216

Any updates? Waiting for more pics to be updated.
All my eyes are glued to this thread.
Old 15th February 2010, 19:37   #217

Long Due Update:

Long overdue update coming along. Many things have contributed to the uncalled for delay in getting the Jeep on the road. A few social commitments, a wedding in my family, my mechanic's sickness, a wedding in his family, reverting back (thankfully) to the non power steering set up, all thanks to right guidance by gurus like UBS, Behrambhai, Arka and a host of others, thanks all you guys for showing me the light.
A search goes on meanwhile for an air cleaner which did not come with the Jeep. Already sourced a spare wheel which was also missing.

A bracket to mount that is being sought. Shouldn't be tough, there are a few available im told by my guy. Any diagrams anyone, to help me fabricate that side spare wheel mount in case i cant procure it and where do i mount it, i mean how high or low, any measurements on where to fix the side mount for the spare tyre, of course it will be on the LHS but how many inches, cms to leave etc etc??

The present scenario is that the paints all done and the fittings are going on. The wiring is in process and we are sourcing an air cleaner, since it didn't come with the Jeep. That should be over and done with by another day or two.

For the BO light switch, im going with what Gotzuk had suggested, quoted as under;

"AFAIK the "O" position means all lights off.
Then moving towards "1" (DAY) would turn on front and rear parking lamps.
Then at "2" the headlamps.

For the BO light circuit, may I suggest the following?

Moving it to "S1" would turn on the front BO marker lights.
Moving to "S2" the rear BO marker lights.
At "S3" you can connect the main BO driving light on fender to come on."
Need to know another thing. When i install the army type of BO switch, then i do not have to install the steering mounted multipurpose switch, do i? I will have to install an indicator (turn signal) switch but the other light control can be done by the BO switch, is that a good idea or what do i do.

Im posting latest pics taken a couple of days ago.

A Jeep At Last. Now What??!!-dsc08182-800x600.jpg
A Jeep At Last. Now What??!!-dsc08183-800x600.jpg
A Jeep At Last. Now What??!!-dsc08180-800x600.jpg
A Jeep At Last. Now What??!!-dsc08178-800x600.jpg
A Jeep At Last. Now What??!!-dsc08184-800x600.jpg
Old 15th February 2010, 20:48   #218

Ok a few more from me, Firstly regarding the belt and buckles to hold the bonnet down, should there me one on the centre or three on either side?

Pl see this old pic, if you enlarge and notice carefully, there are three hook like things on the windscreen frame one in the centre, for holding the hook down with a belt to the bonnet when screen is down and two more on the either end of the screen on the driver and passenger side

A Jeep At Last. Now What??!!-02062009981-800x600.jpg

i have not seen three straps to hold the screen down but maybe an rcl is equipped with it only as shown in this picture

A Jeep At Last. Now What??!!-jeep-mahindra-cj3b-rcl.jpg

Can someone please guide me as to where these belts get tightened and what kind of attachments are needed and where to be placed, on the bonnet or on the face of the grille?

My jeeps front has no clamp/hook like objects on the bonnet but there are hooks on the screen, so obviously the bonnet hooks also must have been there. I would like to know what are these attachments so i can have them fabricated asap and fixed.
A Jeep At Last. Now What??!!-dsc08180-800x600.jpg

As seen above the indentation in the bonnet can be seen once the bonnet is opened but it cannot be seen when the bonnet is closed. How is it supposed to be? Is it ok like this?

Regarding the wipers, as seen on this RCL the wiper is not the hung type from above but is like a normal car wiper.

A Jeep At Last. Now What??!!-rear-jeep.jpg

What kind of motors should be used? Are there two motors running in tandem or do they run separately (weird) how is it supposed to be? Since i will be keeping the RCL screen, i would like to maintain the same kind of motors?

One can see the straps (canvas??) totally three in number as in my jeep for holding the screen down and preventing it from banging around i presume.

Where does one fit the Jack? The tool box under the seat should house the tools, wheel spanner etc i guess. Need all the help i can get about the details. If they are aided with pictures and exact position if any, it would be God sent.

Thanks in anticipation guys.

......Sorry mods, thought of all this just now and the time limit to edit is surpassed. Kindly merge this post with the one before if thats necessary.
Old 16th February 2010, 12:12   #219

The loops to tie down the windshield, etc are called footman's loops. Those and other parts that you want are all available at opera house. Try atlas motors or indian auto company.

Let me know if you want me to come with you.
Old 16th February 2010, 15:40   #220

Thanks Tejas, call me whenever you are going that side, ill be glad if you can accompany me. Atlas is the same guy Narang right? i bought my brand new carb from him.

Need all the answers Gurus.... and fast!!
Old 17th February 2010, 12:38   #221

Originally Posted by V-16 View Post
Any diagrams anyone, to help me fabricate that side spare wheel mount in case i cant procure it and where do i mount it, i mean how high or low, any measurements on where to fix the side mount for the spare tyre, of course it will be on the LHS but how many inches, cms to leave etc etc??
Is this what you are looking for?
Name:  TireBracket.gif
Views: 2766
Size:  2.1 KB
Photo Source: The CJ3B Page

Ok a few more from me, Firstly regarding the belt and buckles to hold the bonnet down, should there me one on the centre or three on either side?
As seen above the indentation in the bonnet can be seen once the bonnet is opened but it cannot be seen when the bonnet is closed. How is it supposed to be? Is it ok like this?
The CJ3B had one footman loop on the face of the grille and another on the inside of the frame. The loop inside the windscreen frame was also used to affix the center rod for the canvas top. The indent on the grille is perfectly original. I'll let the pictures say their 1000 words..
A Jeep At Last. Now What??!!-grilletop.jpg
A Jeep At Last. Now What??!!-grillebrace.jpg
Name:  3BTopBows.JPG
Views: 3706
Size:  116.1 KB

Photo Source: The CJ3B Page
A Jeep At Last. Now What??!!-images.jpg

Regarding the wipers, as seen on this RCL the wiper is not the hung type from above but is like a normal car wiper.
You could install them either at the bottom or the top of the windscreen frame.
IMO, they work better when installed at the windscreen base as the sweep of the wiper blade cleans more area at the eye level than at the base. But (to me) they look better and more appropriate on the jeep when mounted at the top, albeit at the cost of slightly decreased visibility. The choice is yours!!
Use two separate electric motors for the wipers on either side, and get an electrician to shorten the sweep of the motor for the left hand side.

Vaibhav
Old 18th February 2010, 16:30   #222

Thanks Vaibhav.
I went to a Jeep specialist shop with Tejas yesterday and was told that the Classic roll bar and hence, the classic soft top (wit doors) would fit the CJ directly, without any alterations. HE also said that there is a rear umbrella (chhatri) folding, aluminum top which would also fit direct. What do you guys have to say? I have no idea.

I also have the Gun holder, an apparatus which fits in between the driver and the front passenger and stands up to support the gun barrel through its hole. Its useless to me now and will keep on rattling if i fit it without something to go through it. Also it can prove dangerous if someone gets hit by it in the case of a sudden need to stomp on the brakes.

Today, new shocks fitted, New Pricol meters fitted, got all these from a Jeep shop Atlas Motors at Opera house and a couple of other shops around the area. Also got the plate for fitting the two extra meters. Thanks for coming with me Tejas.

Got the footman loops too. Lights front and rear fitted. New air cleaner sourced and fit. Wiring nearly over. Shall post pics in the evening when i go for another visit. Will figure out where to fit the army radio which i sourced from Delhi, courtesy Shubhendra.

Cant wait now, need to drive her.
Old 18th February 2010, 16:37   #223

Thanks Vaibhav.
I went to a Jeep specialist shop with Tejas yesterday and was told that the Classic roll bar and hence, the classic soft top (with doors) would fit the CJ directly, without any alterations. He also said that there is a rear umbrella (chhatri) folding, aluminum top which would also fit direct. What do you guys have to say? I have no idea.

I also have the Gun holder, an apparatus which fits in between the driver and the front passenger and stands up to support the gun barrel through its hole. Its useless to me now and will keep on rattling if i fit it without something to go through it. Also it can prove dangerous if someone gets hit by it in the case of a sudden need to stomp on the brakes.

Today, new shocks fitted, New Pricol meters fitted, got all these from a Jeep shop Atlas Motors at Opera house and a couple of other shops around the area. Also got the plate for fitting the two extra meters. Thanks for coming with me Tejas.

Got the footman loops too. Lights front and rear fitted. New air cleaner sourced and fit. Wiring nearly over. Shall post pics in the evening when i go for another visit. Will figure out where to fit the army radio which i sourced from Delhi, courtesy Shubhendra.

"AFAIK the "O" position means all lights off.
Then moving towards "1" (DAY) would turn on front and rear parking lamps.
Then at "2" the headlamps.

For the BO light circuit, may I suggest the following?

Moving it to "S1" would turn on the front BO marker lights.
Moving to "S2" the rear BO marker lights.
At "S3" you can connect the main BO driving light on fender to come on."
Vaibhav, one more thing, when moving to "S2 and S3" the the previous setting lights remain right? i.e. in S2 the S1 front markers remain on and in S3 for the fender light, the S1 markers as well as the S2 rear lights remain on? but am confused as i have no clue what the system in BO lights is.
Cant wait now, need to drive her.
SO then i dont even need to have a separate lights switch. This one will take care of it.

Regards the Wiper motors, are they single speed or two speed and are they operated from the column mounted stalk or from the dash via a pull-push switch as was on the Ambis?

Need to drive the Jeep NOW!!

Last edited by V-16 : 18th February 2010 at 16:39.
Old 18th February 2010, 17:32   #224

I went to a Jeep specialist shop with Tejas yesterday and was told that the Classic roll bar and hence, the classic soft top (wit doors) would fit the CJ directly, without any alterations.
Incomplete 1st sentence, please clarify.

He also said that there is a rear umbrella (chhatri) folding, aluminum top which would also fit direct.
Could you post a pic of this please? Is it like Pic 1 or Pic 2?

A Jeep At Last. Now What??!!-1.jpg

A Jeep At Last. Now What??!!-2.jpg

-------Edit---------
Vaibhav asked the same in 2008 here. Could you clarify which of these you saw @ the Jeep Specialist Shop.

Last edited by svsantosh : 18th February 2010 at 17:35.
Old 18th February 2010, 18:11   #225

Originally Posted by svsantosh View Post
Incomplete 1st sentence, please clarify.
Could you clarify which of these you saw @ the Jeep Specialist Shop.
Sorry, i meant the roll bar that comes standard in the Mahindra Classic as below

A Jeep At Last. Now What??!!-mahindraclassic.jpg

and because the classic roll bar would fit the CJ3b, the soft top of the classic which comes with soft doors would also fit as shown in the pic below.

A Jeep At Last. Now What??!!-photo_0002.jpg

And by the rear scissor type bar i guess he meant a combo as shown in the pic below, but i may be wrong...this he said is a bolt on.

A Jeep At Last. Now What??!!-jeep-rear-fog.jpg

I am only wondering whether all these classic specific roll bars and soft tops actually do fit a CJ3B bolt on, i.e. without any mods because i have no clue at all.

Good News: My mechanic tells me he has just managed to source a Jerry can from his source.