Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10th December 2018, 09:35   #886
BHPian
 
Sherlocked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Jaipur
Posts: 526
Thanked: 1,052 Times
Default Re: BSNL BroadBand Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by condor View Post
You could just go directly to your local office and ask. One ID / address proof copy will be good - you could submit the application there itself.
Quote:
Originally Posted by manojjoseph View Post
BSNL broadband to BSNL Fiber FTTH cost me the following, thus far:
Thanks guys for the detailed inputs.

So around 15 days back when I actually made up my mind to go to the BSNL exchange to inquire about the Fiber connection I got a call same morning from the Jio Giga Fiber team which were installing connections in my locality. I thought the timing couldn't be more correct for the guy to call me so I decided to give Jio Fiber a try and went to BSNL office to get my connection cancelled.

It was a task in itself convincing the staff there to take back my connection. They were hell bent on giving me some other plan. They finally agreed when I told them no one uses BSNL landline in my house and they could check it from their system. The guy saw we've made just two calls in the last 25 days and finally agreed to cancel the connection. Thankfully, he didn't check the broadband data usage for which the connection was primarily used.

I have had BSNL broadband for the last 9 years or so and the service I received was pretty darn good. Even if the wiring was cut/damaged due to our fault, they would replace it free of cost and never charged any visiting fee or something extra like that. All the complaints were handled in a timely manner. On the other hand, the experience I'm currently having with Jio Fiber team is completely opposite and downright frustrating which is a story in itself for another thread.

If Jio Fiber didn't cut in for me, I might go for BSNL again.
Sherlocked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2018, 13:55   #887
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: S'pore\Kolkata
Posts: 72
Thanked: 109 Times
Default Re: BSNL BroadBand Issues

Man don't underestimate the power of BSNL. We've had selfcare portal for a while now. I registered for a new BB connection a year ago, followed up by door delivery by a franchise/ex-employee whoever. Got the job done. Never had to visit the BSNL office.
This was in Calcutta though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by manojjoseph View Post
Hello Sherlocked


So I guess an online source for BSNL is a few decades away.
nitishk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2019, 16:12   #888
Senior - BHPian
 
vsrivatsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,046
Thanked: 1,394 Times
Default Re: BSNL BroadBand Issues

After having enjoyed ACT Fibernet seamlessly for over the last 3+ Years I started doing some broadband research and thought I would try BSNL Fiber for a while.

I called the Toll Free number and they said BSNL FTTH Is not available in my area (Jayanagar). I was in 4th Block Jnr for some work and visited the Telephone exchange and the story turned out to be different. They shared the details of the franchisee with me and he said they would setup the Fiber connection. Opted for the 777 Plan with 500 GB/50 MBps option.

Filled in the form and made the payment of Rs.777 upfront on 12th March, Tuesday evening. Some cabling guys came to my house on Friday 15th March and completed the cabling and kept the ONT Modem and left. After a couple of follow-ups the Internet was activated on 21st March. I am getting about 52 mbps of speed using SpeedBit.net site.

I had a couple of questions:
1. The voice has not been activated - how long would it take for the phone line to be activated?
2. Is there a rental charge on the ONT Modem? Have people procured their own ONT modem from aftermarket and got it to work?
3. I read some where that BSNL is also providing Amazon Prime for free- how do I avail this?
vsrivatsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2019, 17:12   #889
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Paradise (wish it was)
Posts: 334
Thanked: 119 Times
Default Re: BSNL BroadBand Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by vsrivatsa View Post
3. I read some where that BSNL is also providing Amazon Prime for free- how do I avail this?
Copy/pasting from BSNL FAQ (In case you have not figured it out yet):
You can get 12 months of Amazon Prime at no additional cost with BSNL Rs. 399 postpaid and above or Rs. 745 and above landline broadband plans. If you are already on one of these plans, simply go to www.portal.bsnl.in and click on the Amazon Prime offer banner displayed on the home page. This will direct you to authentication page where you will be required to enter eligible BSNL number to generate an OTP. After authentication, activate the offer by entering your Amazon login details or create an Amazon account, in case you are new to Amazon. By availing the offer, you agree to the terms on amazon.in.




Even I am thinking of going with the BSNL FTTH 777rs plan from April. Will be visiting the local service center near my house soon to check on the details on feasibility / install. BTW, even I have the same query on buying our own ONT (there are some Huawei ONT+WIFI models for 2.5K which I had seen a while ago - but interop is a concern) instead of paying a monthly rent.
null is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2019, 18:47   #890
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: HYD
Posts: 248
Thanked: 130 Times
Default Re: BSNL BroadBand Issues

After suffering from unreliable connection with ACT Fibernet for exactly 21 days, I sent an half-hearted SMS to BSNL requesting new broadband connection.

I didn't expect any call from BSNL, but to my surprise someone did contact me few days later. The person who called me was from local telephone exchange and was aware of where my house was and the possibility of FTTH connection. He visited my house next morning, and collected application form and initial deposit.He informed installation would be done in a week.

After patiently waiting for two weeks, I gave a call back to the bsnl sales guy. Not sure what stopped installation but my call started the ball rolling Installation was outsourced to third party, who came that same day and laid fiber from the nearest node to my house, and setup ONT (modem in their words).

Two days after installation, I had to again call back for activation and to get my user ID and password.

It was a lengthy process to get my connection up and running, but once that was taken care, it has been very smooth sailing (touchwood) for more than six months. I had zero connectivity issues till now except for random packet drops one evening.

I didnt find if there was ONT available for purchase. Landline was activated on same day as broadband but we have not used it even once.

Last edited by Comrade : 10th April 2019 at 18:58.
Comrade is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MTNL and BSNL's combo plan for broadband Minardi Shifting gears 35 20th June 2017 19:44
BSNL Broadband Wireless Configuration carboy Gadgets, Computers & Software 69 9th October 2012 23:19
Team-BHP is extremely slow with BSNL-Broadband! SumitB Shifting gears 23 1st August 2010 18:47
How To Improve BSNL/MTNL BroadBand Output finetuning Gadgets, Computers & Software 12 23rd December 2008 16:02
A question to all BSNL Broadband Unlimited Plan users adya33 Gadgets, Computers & Software 28 21st December 2008 20:25


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 19:54.

Copyright 2000 - 2019, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks