Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 1st April 2013, 20:05   #31
Team-BHP Support
 
Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bangalore/Udupi
Posts: 25,415
Thanked: 40,453 Times
Re: Anybody used HiTech Robotic cleaning?

In other words, Roomba actually works. Cheap chinese rip-offs don't.

When can we get Roomba in India?
Samurai is offline  
Old 4th October 2013, 18:25   #32
BHPian
 
Mad Monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: mumbai
Posts: 274
Thanked: 456 Times
Re: Anybody used HiTech Robotic cleaning?

LG VR6170LVM Hom Bot 2.0 is officially available in India

at Rs.49540

http://www.lg.com/in/vacuum-cleaners/lg-VR6170LVM
Mad Monkey is offline  
Old 8th February 2014, 00:34   #33
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 23,673
Thanked: 22,206 Times
Re: Anybody used HiTech Robotic cleaning?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
In other words, Roomba actually works. Cheap chinese rip-offs don't.

When can we get Roomba in India?
Buy from amazon. Stuff more than 125$ is free shipping.
But customs duty is there. Thats the bad part.
tsk1979 is offline  
Old 21st October 2018, 23:39   #34
Team-BHP Support
 
Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bangalore/Udupi
Posts: 25,415
Thanked: 40,453 Times
Re: Anybody used HiTech Robotic cleaning?

Now that Roomba is finally in India, can I get some user experiences? I am seeing that the cheaper Roomba is ₹18990 and the most expensive one is ₹65900. What's the big difference? The 600 series must also clean well, right?
Samurai is offline  
Old 22nd October 2018, 01:55   #35
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Nuremberg
Posts: 668
Thanked: 571 Times
Re: Anybody used HiTech Robotic cleaning?

I am using xiaomi vacuum robot in Germany since last one and half year. The robot easily can be said as the best one in the market. It is cleaning the house daily and I am extremely satisfied by performance. It performs even better than manual vacuuming.

I got it from Gearbest for €265 at that time.
sushantr5 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 22nd October 2018, 11:00   #36
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,837
Thanked: 3,799 Times
Re: Anybody used HiTech Robotic cleaning?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
Now that Roomba is finally in India, can I get some user experiences? I am seeing that the cheaper Roomba is ₹18990 and the most expensive one is ₹65900. What's the big difference? The 600 series must also clean well, right?
Don't have first hand experience, but from what I have heard from others:
Wet models are not good, they do only mopping, consume power and take long time.
Preferred model is the one with 'spot cleaning' feature. This may be the mid range. But for carpeted homes, the top model is preferred (I assume they have higher capacity motors, which such the dust better)
Guna is online now  
Old 22nd October 2018, 11:06   #37
BHPian
 
GutsyGibbon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southern Calif.
Posts: 665
Thanked: 3,752 Times
Re: Anybody used HiTech Robotic cleaning?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
Now that Roomba is finally in India, can I get some user experiences? I am seeing that the cheaper Roomba is ₹18990 and the most expensive one is ₹65900. What's the big difference? The 600 series must also clean well, right?
With programmed daily use, all of them will see some battery degradation in a year. Every 2 years we replace batteries, filter, and brushes. There are some 3 brushes on the iRoomba 355. Works best in a single level house, and the floor needs to be free of cables, wires (laptop/cell charger cables, & appliance cables) and things where the brush can get entangled.

It is awesome for things like cleaning the floors under the bed, sofa and such. It would be a challenge to reach such places with a regular vacuum.
GutsyGibbon is offline  
Old 22nd October 2018, 11:18   #38
Team-BHP Support
 
Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bangalore/Udupi
Posts: 25,415
Thanked: 40,453 Times
Re: Anybody used HiTech Robotic cleaning?

I am specifically looking for reasons why I should pay 38K for a 800 series over 18K for a 600 series. Can anyone answer that?
Samurai is offline  
Old 22nd October 2018, 11:51   #39
Senior - BHPian
 
speedmiester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: bangalore
Posts: 2,280
Thanked: 5,804 Times
Re: Anybody used HiTech Robotic cleaning?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
I am specifically looking for reasons why I should pay 38K for a 800 series over 18K for a 600 series. Can anyone answer that?
They have a showroom in Queens road. This is the address
Roomba India
No.15, Ground Floor, Vasants Business Center, Queens Road, Bengaluru, Karnataka 560052

Better to get a full product demo under different circumstances before putting your money down.
speedmiester is offline  
Old 9th January 2019, 14:50   #40
BHPian
 
rajathv8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 357
Thanked: 658 Times
Re: Anybody used HiTech Robotic cleaning?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
I am specifically looking for reasons why I should pay 38K for a 800 series over 18K for a 600 series. Can anyone answer that?
Did you get your answer? Did you buy one?

I think the website is better now and has more info. The 800 can do room to room mapping and can clean carpets, both of which the 600 cannot. I dont see any other notable difference.
rajathv8 is offline  
Old 9th January 2019, 15:16   #41
Team-BHP Support
 
Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bangalore/Udupi
Posts: 25,415
Thanked: 40,453 Times
Re: Anybody used HiTech Robotic cleaning?

No, I ended up buying Dyson V8 Absolute+ vacuum cleaner. It is cheaper and faster to clean.
Samurai is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st February 2020, 19:41   #42
mxx
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 744
Thanked: 220 Times
Re: Anybody used HiTech Robotic cleaning?

With finding maids getting too difficult, we had to do something to take care of the cleaning as both me and my wife are working professionals. Finally decided to get a robotic vacuum cleaner. Initially I looked at iRobot roomba series. However I decided to buy iLife V5s pro because roomba did not have mopping feature. iLife v5s pro does both cleaning and mopping (although not simultaneously). It costs only 16000/- so I thought it is a good one to start with because even if it works for a year it will be only as much as we pay for a maid in a year. This model had good reviews online even compared to some roomba models. Mopping is just adequate not great. Cleaning is very good.

Last edited by mxx : 21st February 2020 at 19:43.
mxx is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 19th March 2020, 20:29   #43
Senior - BHPian
 
Sebring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Dubai/Bengaluru
Posts: 3,175
Thanked: 10,110 Times
Re: Anybody used HiTech Robotic cleaning?

Hi, based on your recommendation I have placed an order for one. This costs Rs. 16,700 now. Selected colour is Gold. Does mopping require special detergent? Hope its still going strong! Thanks
Quote:
Originally Posted by mxx View Post
I decided to buy iLife V5s pro because roomba did not have mopping feature. iLife v5s pro does both cleaning and mopping (although not simultaneously). It costs only 16000/-
Attached Thumbnails
Anybody used HiTech Robotic cleaning?-screen-shot-20200319-8.22.44-pm.png  

Sebring is online now  
Old 19th March 2020, 21:28   #44
BHPian
 
ece2k2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Coimbatore
Posts: 523
Thanked: 339 Times
Re: Anybody used HiTech Robotic cleaning?

Been using a Roborock S5 Max, Eufy and Viomi V2 Pro over the last couple of months. Roborock S5 Max offers the best performance out of these and costs about 40k from Gearbest. Ordered the second S5 Max a few days ago for the first floor.
ece2k2 is offline  
Old 19th March 2020, 21:48   #45
mxx
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 744
Thanked: 220 Times
Re: Anybody used HiTech Robotic cleaning?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sebring View Post
Does mopping require special detergent?
I just use a small quantity of Lizol with water in the cleaning tank. Please note that mopping is just adequate (as already mentioned in my previous post). Once you start using the device, just use cleaning mode for a few days before you start with mopping. Or else the dirt gets accumulated in the mopping cloth and further decreases the mopping performance.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sebring View Post
Hope its still going strong!
No problems so far. Happy with the results.
mxx is offline   (1) Thanks
Reply

Most Viewed
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Copyright 2000 - 2023, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks