Old 2nd May 2013, 13:47   #14821
Senior - BHPian

Re: Android Thread: Phones / Apps / Mods

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
Yes, thanks... tried this: it didn't not work.*
Quote:
Originally Posted by prateekm View Post
Won't flashing the latest gapps package fix this problem?
I am facing Google Play crash issue on my Nexus 7. It is running 4.2.2, and I tried flashing gapps different versions but the crash is happening always. I guess I need to wait for a newer release of Paranoid Android and then try the latest gapps with it.

In the meantime, I am side-loading any required app from my phone.
Old 2nd May 2013, 14:09   #14822
Distinguished - BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by F150 View Post
Dear Thad,

what is the issue ? which phone are you using ? Can you not reflash the rom ?
Defy Plus. Rooted, but otherwise stock. No experience so far in flashing roms. I'm an android beginner, with almost no wizardry!

Quote:
Originally Posted by offroad_maniac View Post
Have you tried going to app manager & uninstalling the play store update? I guess it should be avaiable there.
Also clearing cache along with data might help there.
Yes, I have tried that: result was that play/market did not run and I just got a browser error

Quote:
Else fash a new custom ROM, its Defy
As mentioned above, I am not really comfortable with this stuff, ,although I guess it is heading in that direction

Quote:
Sorry for giving tried & not working solutions...
No problem! All suggestions have to be tried, and I'm grateful for all help

Quote:
Originally Posted by prateekm View Post
Won't flashing the latest gapps package fix this problem?
Might do. Can someone guide on actually doing that? "latest" might not be appropriate: this is Android 2.3.6?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vkaul1 View Post
You might be able to find it as "Android Market" instead of Play Store. Happened to me once when I had uninstalled the updates.