Old 15th March 2014, 20:03   #46

Re: Beware 'Out of State' cars: RTO (Bangalore) taxation amendment from 28th Feb, 201

Originally Posted by arun_josie View Post
I paid road tax without NOC for my wife's two-wheeler. This was at the EC RTO.
This is true. Ideally, one shouldn't need an NOC to pay the road tax. NOC is needed only to change registration from one state to another. For 11 months, one can pay road tax and continue using with same number plates. Number plates have to be changed anyway after 11 months.

Its embarrassment, but its the rule and we can't do much unless the govt changes this rule.
Old 15th March 2014, 20:12   #47

Re: Beware 'Out of State' cars: RTO (Bangalore) taxation amendment from 28th Feb, 201

Originally Posted by gopaneel View Post
Is going to court or filing a PIL not an option?
Its high time we need to think about a PIL challenging the amendment which is irrational.

Last edited by ::CMS:: : 15th March 2014 at 20:19.
Old 15th March 2014, 22:12   #48
P76

Yet another move by the government to harass the tax-paying citizen. Totally absurd !. . Earlier, as in the case of commercial vehicles(wherein one could pay road taxes quarterly/half-yearly or annually), taxes for private vehicles were to be paid annually. All the state governments have made this life-time taxes now.
Ok, in case the Karnataka government wants to bring in some enforcement regarding the usage of other state vehicles, they could have asked for payment of a minimum annual tax instead of demanding life-tax. that would give the vehicle users liberty to choose the Tax period depending on their expected work/stay period in Karnataka. What if someone from another state has to work for three months in Bangalore and then return back to his home state with his car?
Old 15th March 2014, 22:37   #49

It is indeed odd. The issue is that the KA traffic police and RTO are using the citizen's lack of knowledge to make some easy money for their department.

In fact, if a court case is filed, suggest to make the head of RTO , and head of Bangalore traffic police the accused - because it is quite likely their sanction due to which this unique interpretation of MVA by the cops on the field.

Then sit back and watch how they grovel.
Old 15th March 2014, 23:35   #50

Originally Posted by arun_josie View Post
I paid road tax without NOC for my wife's two-wheeler. This was at the EC RTO.
Originally Posted by sharninder View Post
This is true. Ideally, one shouldn't need an NOC to pay the road tax. NOC is needed only to change registration from one state to another.
When the RTO helpdesk and the agents tell the same story, and there is not even one signboard or instruction provided in english in those premises to show them wrong - its pretty difficult to argue.

I'm considering selling my car and getting one in Karnataka. Depreciation would be too much (FIAT!) but paying another 1L and even then having to run around these offices for NOC, number change etc. Had experienced once trying to transfer my bike from Kerala to Chennai. This one tops the list though - Run around bangalore to find an RTO inspection vehicle somewhere, and surrender!

OT: Once i was harassed by a TN cop who vented out his frustration on being questioned for something when he visited Kerala. The rate at which other state guys are being harassed in Bangalore, i wouldn't be surprised if the neighboring states start retaliating against KA vehicles soon. Every action will result in a equal and opposite reaction at some point of time. And we, the common people, will suffer in the midst of it all.

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 15th March 2014 at 23:38.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 16th March 2014, 08:55   #51

To me the problem is 'life tax'. They should allow private cars to pay tax for a short period, say 3-5 yrs. People will be more comfortable and govt will still earn money. Taking lifetax out of poor non KA owners is like an overkill and definitely has to be challenged in court moreso bcoz the road tax is highest here.

As far as I understand, regardless of whether you have toll receipts, its more to do with your body language when caught by RTO. Imagine you are on a tour to AP and RTO catches you. Even if you dont have toll receipts, you will fight till death since you are genuine tourers. But cases where people have been caught, RTO/Police have simply been able to get the better of them. And then we have the loopholes :-
1) Company/IT Park stickers
2) Service station stickers
3) PUC from Bangalore
... a few questions and inspection of glovebox ... and thats it. They take any of your original docs like PAN or RC and ask to come next day and pay the hefty tax amount
Old 16th March 2014, 13:07   #52

Do we have any lawyers on this forum who might be willing to challenge what is purely arbitrary behavior by the authorities ?
I am sure any court will see reason & ask the State Government to be fair in genuine cases.
What we see now is nothing short of anarchy !!!!!

Originally Posted by sam_sant2005 View Post
To me the problem is 'life tax'. They should allow private cars to pay tax for a short period, say 3-5 yrs. People will be more comfortable and govt will still earn money. Taking lifetax out of poor non KA owners is like an overkill and definitely has to be challenged in court moreso bcoz the road tax is highest here.

As far as I understand, regardless of whether you have toll receipts, its more to do with your body language when caught by RTO. Imagine you are on a tour to AP and RTO catches you. Even if you dont have toll receipts, you will fight till death since you are genuine tourers. But cases where people have been caught, RTO/Police have simply been able to get the better of them. And then we have the loopholes :-
1) Company/IT Park stickers
2) Service station stickers
3) PUC from Bangalore
... a few questions and inspection of glovebox ... and thats it. They take any of your original docs like PAN or RC and ask to come next day and pay the hefty tax amount
Old 16th March 2014, 18:14   #53

I stepped out of home an hour back for a domestic errand. Living at Kanakapura Main road, i had to go to Bannerghatta Road ( behind Shoppers Stop ) and return back. Onward, atleast at two locations, i could see groups of police waiting - and no, they werent catching two wheelers without helmets, but all i could see were TN registered cars waiting on the sides - this was just after the IOC petrol bunk on inner ring road.

I took a different route while coming back, and i could see another group of police waiting - this time, on the road where the Balaji temple is at JP Nagar.

Finally, at Sarakki junction, i took the left to Kanakapura main road, and at the place where the old spencers was, there were 6-7 policemen waiting - and again, i could see 1 AP and 2 TN registered cars that were pulled over.

Sunday - and gosh, the police are already busy.
jkrishnakj is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 16th March 2014, 19:18   #54

Originally Posted by jkrishnakj View Post
I stepped out of home an hour back for a domestic errand. Living at Kanakapura Main road, i had to go to Bannerghatta Road ( behind Shoppers Stop ) and return back. Onward, atleast at two locations, i could see groups of police waiting - and no, they werent catching two wheelers without helmets, but all i could see were TN registered cars waiting on the sides - this was just after the IOC petrol bunk on inner ring road.

I took a different route while coming back, and i could see another group of police waiting - this time, on the road where the Balaji temple is at JP Nagar.

Finally, at Sarakki junction, i took the left to Kanakapura main road, and at the place where the old spencers was, there were 6-7 policemen waiting - and again, i could see 1 AP and 2 TN registered cars that were pulled over.

Sunday - and gosh, the police are already busy.
The enthusiasm they show towards the lure of money coming in has to be seen to be believed.

* In Mysore there are innumerable auto rickshaws plying about with KL registrations.
* In the Whitefield area of Bangalore, there are many private buses plying, breaking rules galore with AP and TN registrations.

I dare them to pounce on these and demand road tax to be paid. The state machinery would end up being crippled by the might of their unions!

Simple and silly logic of going behind the easy prey, rather than catch the big fish.
benbsb29 is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 16th March 2014, 19:53   #55

Originally Posted by benbsb29 View Post
Simple and silly logic of going behind the easy prey, rather than catch the big fish.
Isn't that so common ? Violations, how ever small, should be seen in the effect that the violation has on other vehicles.

Eg: high-beam - possibly the most frequently occurring one. Almost every Tata Ace is a violating vehicle / driver. But no one will check for this
condor is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th March 2014, 20:14   #56

Mod Note : There are several spelling & grammatical errors in your posts. This negatively affects the forum experience for other readers.

Kindly ensure that you proof-read your posts prior to submission. Also, it would be a good idea to use spell-checkers.

Last edited by GTO : 17th March 2014 at 15:06.
NaveenKD is offline   Received Infraction
Old 16th March 2014, 22:52   #57

There are at least 12 cars in my apartment (some as far as DL, HR, WB even JH) which have been driving around for more than a year in Bangalore

While 1 month is a very short time and also nothing but harassment, I think the RTO is having a tough time collecting road tax from out of station vehicles.

Heck there is even a 8-12 month old duster which is not registered at all, its own by a relator and is sporting temporary AP reg plates (hoodwinking both the states), I really want to post this on Bangalore traffic police FB site

Last edited by bharatbs : 16th March 2014 at 22:54.
bharatbs is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th March 2014, 01:03   #58

I wish the cops focused more on sorting the horrible state of traffic out, than standing in a group of 2-3, hiding behind a lorry or tree and them pouncing on as soon as they see a non-KA vehicle. The state traffic police it at its worst moral levels I have ever seen. There is no sense of duty (ofcourse with exceptions) among them.

I see a traffic cop posted at a railway gate who simply stands in a shade with a cup of tea and keeps waving onto the oncoming traffic for 12 hrs a day. The cop would wait all day for an IT professional driving a DL/AP/HR or MH vehicle to mint easy money. Needless to say, the ordinary cop owns and drives a Honda Civic! Such law amendments will boost the morale of these corrupt cops and increase the frustrations of a common tax payer.
Old 17th March 2014, 04:23   #59

The way i see it, there is a simple solution to this entire mess, which can be implemented by the KA RTO. It's about giving the provision to pay road tax on an annual basis to run the car on KA roads. This way, it's not as steep as paying lifetime tax, and there is a great number of people who would voluntarily pay up.

All said and done, there would always be a certain section who would continue to exploit such an option too, but then again, these people continue to ply their vehicles without botheration from the authorities even today!

Once the neighboring states too join this harassment bandwagon, there is no limit to the damage this can cause. AP seems to have taken a cue as well, going by reports by fellow members on respective threads. Now time for KL and TN to join the bandwagon. KL RTOs would make a killing for sure during the Sabarimala season!
benbsb29 is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 17th March 2014, 08:05   #60

Why can't there be a uniform taxation policy throughout the country?

Even if it is difficult to have a lifetime "India" tax, let it be implemented at the regional RTO level. I'd say while transferring a car to another state, the RTO of origin needs to furnish an NOC for sale as well as a letter bearing the responsibility of transferring the pro-rata tax collected to the target RTO.

The individual people should not be made to go through the trouble of paying tax at the target RTO and then claiming a partial refund at the source.
prafulasher is offline   (2) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com