Old 5th February 2020, 16:29   #106

re: The BS6 Tata Harrier with 6-speed AT. EDIT: Launched @ 13.69 lakhs

Any idea when the test drives start and first deliveries?
Old 5th February 2020, 17:10   #107

The HARRIER is overpriced for one reason only. It came to the party late. I would have booked the Harrier in its present avatar with the same pricing had it been offered last year. Let's be honest guys. In the last one year, our economy has gone down and the rupee does not go as far as it should go. Couple that with the BS6 changes and a very uncertain govt policy for diesel powered vehicles and even the most combative pricing will not increase the sales volume.This situation is not limited to TATA alone but Harrier brings so much emotion to any Car lover and that makes it so much harder to accept the inevitable truth. It isn't going to set the charts on fire. I sincerely hope I am wrong though. That being said, I am going to test drive the AT as soon as I can get my hands on it.

Last edited by Neil Roy : 5th February 2020 at 17:11.
Neil Roy is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th February 2020, 17:29   #108

With Land Rover pedigree and a sweeter package on offer the pricing seems spot on. Heck my friend paid 18 big ones for the Seltos petrol manual, why wouldn’t I go in for that sweet diesel auto tranny and bigger space!
lionell is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 5th February 2020, 18:46   #109

I think Tata has come out all guns blazing. They have really given it their all now.

If they had priced it in a way that the XZA+ was just under 20 big ones, would have been perfect. But really you can't have it all. Can you?
Garth is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 5th February 2020, 18:54   #110

I am very impressed with all the TATA cars at the auto expo.
Harrier and Gravitas are the most interesting to me.
Old 5th February 2020, 19:23   #111

Can someone explain what is meant by entering the market late??
Nalin1 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th February 2020, 19:40   #112

Originally Posted by Garth View Post
If they had priced it in a way that the XZA+ was just under 20 big ones, would have been perfect. But really you can't have it all. Can you?
XZA+ is still under 20 lacs, 19.99 to be precise. Just that the Dual tone and Dark editions are crossing 20 mark. The buyer can still get the single tone and get the roof wrapped outside, with that additional 25K (probably a bit more on the taxes) saved.
fusionbang is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 5th February 2020, 19:42   #113

Both the display Harriers XZA+ DT (1white and other Red) versions at the auto Expo have the black interiors similar to the Dark editions and not the Oak brown interiors based on the videos uploaded by various channels.

The feature list still maintains the brown theme mentioned. Dont know whether the actual cars will be in black interiors or brown.

Can anyone confirm?
rkv_hunter is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th February 2020, 20:17   #114

Originally Posted by fusionbang View Post
XZA+ is still under 20 lacs, 19.99 to be precise. Just that the Dual tone and Dark editions are crossing 20 mark. The buyer can still get the single tone and get the roof wrapped outside, with that additional 25K (probably a bit more on the taxes) saved.

Sorry my mistake. I had the Dark one in my mind, which is just over.
Old 5th February 2020, 21:16   #115

Infractions: 0/2 (9)

Oh Please Tata. Add AWD. Please! Pretty please! :'(

Last edited by ampere : 5th February 2020 at 21:17.
vredesbyrd is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th February 2020, 21:22   #116

The power has been bumped up; have the brakes been updated accordingly? This machine definitely needs an all-disc setup.

Last edited by Chetan_Rao : 5th February 2020 at 21:30. Reason: Typos.
i74js is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th February 2020, 21:48   #117

Whoop!! This is killer. The pricing is spot on for a BS6 SUV with basically every feature that one would want. The Harrier has crazy street presence and I have only heard good things from existing owners of the car.

I bought a Hexa XTA in October and TASS has been phenomenal so far and they are far ahead of any Hyundai and VW dealer/service center I've interacted with over the past 5 years.

All these years of experience with the Sumos and Safaris mean that TML has the basics sorted out. The big, heavy and solid feel that a Tata SUV has blows all the pseudo Korean/Japanese stuff out of the water.
yd_gli is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 5th February 2020, 21:52   #118

Originally Posted by vredesbyrd View Post
Oh Please Tata. Add AWD. Please! Pretty please! :'(
Much as we would love that, it ain't gonna happen

Why?
  • The fancy forged aluminium suspension of the Discovery Sport was deemed too expensive to make in India. It has been replaced by a steel dead axle.
  • The takers for the 4 wheel drive are minuscule and the extra cost will not achieve economies of scale. Jeep can manage since the 4WD is exported hence there are volumes.
ajmat is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 5th February 2020, 22:19   #119

Infractions: 0/2 (9)

Originally Posted by ajmat View Post
Much as we would love that, it ain't gonna happen

Why?
  • The fancy forged aluminium suspension of the Discovery Sport was deemed too expensive to make in India. It has been replaced by a steel dead axle.
  • The takers for the 4 wheel drive are minuscule and the extra cost will not achieve economies of scale. Jeep can manage since the 4WD is exported hence there are volumes.
I think the mid-size offroading section is treated really bad in India. Only proper 4x4 AT are Fortuner and Good 'ol Endy here. I'd really want a sub 4.7m 4x4 offroader. Only Duster and Compass come to mind. The former offering either 4x4 or AT and not together. The latter being too expensive. I'd happily buy a Fortuner or an Endeavour in 2022 but parking is a serious issue.
Old 6th February 2020, 08:57   #120

Re: BS6 Tata Harrier with 6-speed AT. Edit: Launched @ 13.69 lakhs.

I am in Bangalore.
I am thinking of replacing my 10 year old car with harrier. After the price announcement, i was doing some feature wise on road calculation to see what is important features for me, and how much do i pay extra.

I created a simple text, sharing the same here. It could be helpful for someone who's looking to buy.
The BS6 Tata Harrier with 6-speed AT. EDIT: Launched @ 13.69 lakhs-img_20200206_085548.jpg  

turbo_delight is offline   (13) Thanks