![]() | #46 | |
Senior - BHPian ![]() | ![]() Quote:
It's just a foot sill, hidden away from any one seeing the car from outside, if anything it is just to give the owner of the car a sense of pride. If i really wanted to flaunt it, i would put it on the back of the car, clearly visible. I am sure many owners will get that done eventually, i know i would, if i buy this car. | |
![]() | ![]() |
|
![]() | #47 |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Jan 2013 Location: Jaipur
| ![]() From the leaflet shared in the last page:
Last edited by Sherlocked : 4th February 2020 at 14:00. |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #48 |
Senior - BHPian ![]() | ![]() Should have terrific appeal and wish it succeeds in this iteration. Harrier is probably the best looking and butch SUV in the market today, this update must bring it on par with the best available in the market. Whenever I see one on the road, I'm in awe; it just exudes 'presence'! This update frankly is very tempting indeed! I think the very first owners would feel shortchanged for such a sumptuous update; though they would have paid substantially less, but this update is very generous indeed and should have been the car at launch! Last edited by Durango Dude : 4th February 2020 at 13:50. |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #49 | |
BHPian ![]() | ![]() Quote:
There something called understated beauty and elegance (like VW Designs), that you don't have to be loud or Vocal on what you have. Making it explicit actually ruins the beauty- that all I wanted to say | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #50 | ||
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Sep 2019 Location: Delhi
| ![]() Quote:
Will you like to buy a Gucci bag from Big Bazaar..Just give it a thought. | ||
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #51 |
Senior - BHPian ![]() Join Date: May 2010 Location: Chennai
| ![]() One peculiar thing that TATA, Honda and Maruti do is to give a sub-optimally small fuel tank. This massive SUV has just a 50 litre fuel tank! In contrast, my Ecosport has a 52 litre tank. The Jeep Compass has a 60 L fuel tank and so does the MG Hector. Such a massive SUV as the Harrier with a powerful engine will mean an average fuel economy of about 9-10 kmpl and a visit to the fuel pump every 400-450 kilometers. Can be really irritating on long highway drives. This car deserves at least a 65 litre fuel tank. The problem is even more exacerbated in the Auto version with a lower fuel efficiency. Last edited by 84.monsoon : 4th February 2020 at 14:51. |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #52 |
Senior - BHPian Join Date: Jan 2015 Location: Chennai
| ![]() After President Reagan imposed a protectionist 100,000 Japanese cars per year sales limit in the US, the Japanese brands decided to go with the higher margin route by creating new luxury brands - Acura (Honda's), Infiniti (Nissan's) & Lexus (Toyota's). Instead of choosing a brand extension for these re-badged luxury cars, the Japanese just knew that their respective mothership brands have a "cheap" connotation and just wouldn't sell under the original Toyota/Honda/Nissan badge (which is exactly what Tata Motors is trying to achieve here). Decades later, these luxury brands of the Japanese OEMs are still doing great in the US with re-badged and souped up luxury cars which sell for very high prices. Suzuki have already ditched brand extension (they tried it unsuccessfully with the Kizashi) and have created a luxury brand called Nexa in India. Why can't Tata Motors do the same? They couldn't sell a 18 lakh Aria or the 20 lakh Hexa; why would the 25 lakh Harrier wind up any differently? An entirely new, cooked-up brand name with separate showrooms and service centers will be just what the Doctor ordered for Tata's new range of superb products. You have new brands who sue their customers and replace their burnt cars - and customers just love these new brands. There would be no baggage of legacy brand connotations to lug around....and voila, a successful new brand is born! |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #53 | |
Senior - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Dec 2007 Location: Kannur
| ![]() Quote:
![]() Latest Tiago-Tigor-Altroz-Nexon-Harrier-Hexa range looks much better than Nexa cars. Tata is paying the price for their past mistakes. They spoiled their image themselves. Last edited by Latheesh : 4th February 2020 at 15:21. | |
![]() | ![]() |
|
![]() | #54 |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Oct 2014 Location: Mangalore
| ![]() So all the features added are only on the top trim only? XZ+? I can understand sunroof being exclusive but the new alloys too? The XM will retain regular bulbs in DRL/turn signal and continue feeling barebone? |
![]() |
![]() | #55 | ||
Senior - BHPian Join Date: Jan 2015 Location: Chennai
| ![]() Quote:
Last edited by Chetan_Rao : 4th February 2020 at 15:45. Reason: Typo. | ||
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #56 |
Senior - BHPian Join Date: May 2013 Location: Mumbai
| ![]() I cant find a single reason to NOT buy the Harrier if I have the money and the willingness to buy a new car! I wish this car succeeds and succeeds a lot so that I get this sooner in the used car market 3 years down the line ![]() |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #57 |
Team-BHP Support ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jul 2010 Location: Bangalore
| ![]() Given Tata's JLR ownership, they could very well create a Rover-inspired sub-brand for their SUV/MUV offerings, if they put some thought into it. When you own the brand-name and have access to its proven pedigree, why not put it to use? Their regular passenger car brand carries past baggage, which won't disappear overnight. In an ideal world, every product will start with a clean slate and sink/swim on its own merits. We don't live in an ideal world, and memories and biases, whether based in perception or reality (or both), are hard to shake. |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #58 |
BHPian Join Date: May 2019 Location: Bangalore
| ![]() Seriously it's a bit too late to the party.They took a year to come out with the 6AT and here MG and Kia are taking all the sales.Hope they have also ironed out all the issues mentioned on the forum here too.. |
![]() |
![]() | #59 | |
Senior - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Aug 2009 Location: India
| ![]() Quote:
That will make it totally unviable to sell the product at the targeted price point of 20 to 25 Lacs. If the cost of branding exercise pushes it to the next segment (30L+), would we really buy the product knowing that its a TATA underneath. And all that just for a new logo? TATA is perfectly justified for maintaining the status quo on branding. Last edited by Warwithwheels : 4th February 2020 at 19:12. | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #60 | |
BANNED | ![]() Quote:
We must give it to Tata, for getting it right, albeit in their second attempt. They should have gotten in right in the first place, but better late than never. In this iteration, the Harrier almost has addressed all the wish-list items folks had hoped for on the Official Harrier review thread. Let's be happy to see Tata at least take cognizance to the customer's voice and respond so quickly, with a rather significant upgrade. | |
![]() | ![]() |