Old 3rd November 2018, 10:58   #616

re: Highest reading on the odometer!

Originally Posted by batish View Post
Verna Fluidic 1.6 CRDI, in 5 Years and 9 months.
I guess era of smooth and reliable Hyundai diesel ended with the fluidic Verna, all new Verna and Creta's reviews are filled with both minor and major issues.

Glad to see Skoda here, German cars have amazing mechanical reliability, electrical issues is what keeps them where they are.
Old 15th November 2018, 12:16   #617

2010 Punto Emotion, 8.4 years and still counting, engine is getting better with time like fine old wine. Taken me all over from Nepal to LEH to Sachpass and the list is long.

After Addition of Laura, Punto is sparingly used only for local commute.
Highest reading on the odometer!-img_3168.jpg  

varoon9999 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 15th November 2018, 14:41   #618

Originally Posted by varoon9999 View Post
2010 Punto Emotion, 8.4 years and still counting, engine is getting better with time like fine old wine. Taken me all over from Nepal to LEH to Sachpass and the list is long.

Is this a diesel or Petrol? Two of my friends linea diesel required engine overhaul at 1.2L KMs.
Old 15th November 2018, 15:11   #619

Originally Posted by Holyghost View Post
Is this a diesel or Petrol? Two of my friends linea diesel required engine overhaul at 1.2L KMs.
Hi Holyghost,

I own a Diesel version , 1.2 lacs is too less for this engine to go for overhaul. Couple of my friends are about to touch 3 lac kms mark with no signs of ageing.

There must be some other reason for such early overhaul else FIAT Multi-jets are most robust and can withstand up-to 3-4Lacs mark easily, provided they are kept well. I get my car serviced at every 10,000 kms, however FIAT says 15,000 kms is service interval.
varoon9999 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th November 2018, 15:19   #620

Originally Posted by varoon9999 View Post

After Addition of Laura, Punto is sparingly used only for local commute.
Congrats!

Originally Posted by Holyghost View Post
That a bit early for engine overhaul, I feel. Did they get the timing chain changed on time? That is the one main known issue that can screw up the multijet engine fast.

My diesel Punto has crossed the 1.7L kms mark and running fine till date (Touchwood).
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th November 2018, 20:47   #621

The owner of the famous 3 million mile Volvo P1800, Irv Gordon, has passed away.

https://jalopnik.com/irv-gordon-the-...3-2-1830495369

RIP, Irv.
Motard_Blr is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 21st November 2018, 10:15   #622

The reading from my Indicab this morning. The engine was in good condition. The rest of the car was a mess.
Highest reading on the odometer!-70c58bab57b343ccaab57ea710a9790b.jpeg  

bigben is online now   (7) Thanks
Old 29th November 2018, 19:39   #623

So i recently did the following road trip in my 5 series.
Mumbai - Ajmer - Delhi - Mussoorie - Lansdowne - Nainital - Jim Corbett - Jaipur - Mumbai.

It’s just a perception that german cars are delicate, this car was absolute fun to drive and also it never let me down. I did flat out highways, and also bad village roads, she fared well everywhere. Attaching a few pictures.
Current odo reading stands at 556xx kms in 2 years and 7 months of ownership.
Highest reading on the odometer!-bf5b18468a0b4825bcc6400574bdf2ca.jpeg  

Highest reading on the odometer!-d5f874921cf6414d9f7a4baecbbd4ed6.jpeg  

Highest reading on the odometer!-b2679f9eb980459dbc798792c90a56c7.jpeg  

Highest reading on the odometer!-1575a5d91a344f31860fb1f5e52335fe.jpeg  

Last edited by GTO : 10th December 2018 at 08:42. Reason: PM coming up
DanishP9797 is offline   (17) Thanks
Old 9th December 2018, 19:35   #624

Hyundai Elantra owner completes 1 million miles (16 lakh kms) in just 5 years – Car still going strong

Highest reading on the odometer!-hyundaielantra16lakhkmsowner.jpg

The latest car brand to join the milestone party is Hyundai. One owner in the US, Farrah Haines has created a new record. She has completed 1 million miles (16 lakh kms) with her 2013 Hyundai Elantra. Engine and transmission of her car is still intact, and has not created any issue till date.

Farrah is a delivery driver and she loves to drive car. She purchased the Hyundai Elantra in 2013. Hyundai has shared a video to record her achievement

SOURCE
a4anurag is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 9th December 2018, 20:48   #625

Thanks for sharing Anurag.
Off-topic: That lady is driving 900 kms every single day for the last 5 years to reach there. Man! That is insane driving.
starter is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 9th December 2018, 22:22   #626

Our hand me down Maruti Zen LXi 2001 model just completed 229167 kms! In the hills, we use it as a beater car, used for local runs and to haul small dispatches to Shimla (180kms round trip). It's all stock, except for a cheap Bluetooth unit, and a small sub in the rear. it runs smoothly and climbs up steep inclines. We hope to keep it around as long as we can. Power front windows, rear wiper, AC & heater all still work, and the car has only required regular servicing so far.

Highest reading on the odometer!-img_20181205_174453.jpg

Highest reading on the odometer!-img_20170108_110245.jpg
HillyThar is offline   (18) Thanks
Old 10th December 2018, 13:18   #627

Originally Posted by a4anurag View Post
Hyundai Elantra owner completes 1 million miles (16 lakh kms) in just 5 years – Car still going strong
Was shocked when I read this BUT, this seems to be fake news, because 16 lakh km divided by 5 years is equal to 876 km per day.
Can anyone do 800 odd kms day in & day out for 5 years? Impossible!

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 16th December 2018 at 00:46. Reason: Removed video link from quoted post + typo.
GSMINC is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 10th December 2018, 13:54   #628

Below is the Odo reading, as my Innova went for a clutch replacement. Could have easily used the clutch for another 10k or so kms, but I was worried about wearing out the flywheel. I had just begun to notice the clutch slipping mildly in 3rd gear while accelerating. A bit disappointed I couldn’t stretch the clutch till 200k.

Overall the Innova is now in its 7th ownership year and I plan to keep it for the foreseeable future.
Highest reading on the odometer!-855f49fe6d914f318a757e248b223e88.jpeg  

Last edited by rrsteer : 10th December 2018 at 13:56.
rrsteer is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 10th December 2018, 13:59   #629

Originally Posted by GSMINC View Post
This seems to be fake news, bacause
16 lakh kms divided by 5 years is equal to 876 kms per day.
Can anyone do 800 odd kms day in & day out for 5 years, Impossible
Firstly, this is in the USA. If one were to drive 50 weeks in a year (2 weeks as non-driving days) for 5 years, then one would be driving 4000 miles in a week. Which is 571 miles in a day.
Freeway miles can be covered at an average speed of 50mph - this means driving at a steady 70-75mph and taking appropriate breaks. So that is about 11-12 hours of driving in a day.

In a country like the USA, this is perfectly possible. I have done this myself on occasion.

I doubt Hyundai would have made this film without the appropriate background checks. If it turns out to be fake, the fallout and damage to the brand will be almost irreparable.
KiloAlpha is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 10th December 2018, 15:36   #630

Originally Posted by GSMINC View Post
Can anyone do 800 odd kms day in & day out for 5 years, Impossible
Originally Posted by KiloAlpha View Post
Firstly, this is in the USA...571 miles in a day.
To add to what KiloAlpha said, the owner lady is a delivery driver (as she mentions in the Youtube video). So her's is a driving job and hence isn't constrained by a 50 week/year or a 5 day work week.

There's a comment in the Youtube video, which is on similar lines:

Wow. She'll be burnt out soon. During my peak courier/route driving career I averaged 120,000 miles a year. And yes, that was 7 days a week, 10-12 hours a day, sometimes longer. Three Chrysler minivans and put 500,000+ on each. Now I have a 2011 Elantra touring with 85,000. But yeah, she should be awarded a new car with free oil changes.
narayans80 is offline   (3) Thanks