Old 14th December 2007, 22:28   #136

better check with used car dealers in your area. Check what they are charging for similar models. Around 20-30K more or less than their value would be ideal.
Old 15th December 2007, 11:35   #137

for a car thats finished in production or so
thats too high
it must deprectiate more
Old 15th December 2007, 12:27   #138

SB, 4.5L is a good price for both parties though 4-4.2l would be a terrific price for the buyer. I am sure the dealers would have offered him 3.8L or 4L max. VXi & LXi makes very little difference in the used car market section.
Old 15th December 2007, 13:05   #139

I just got an offer to buy a 2006 Baleno for 4.25. It has supposedly run only 4800 kms and I am not sure about the month of it's purchase.
Old 15th December 2007, 19:12   #140

SB - invariably kerala vehicles quote higher price than in TN - dont know why though ?!!! same applied when i bought the CITY in cochin...anyways since i was planning to keep it for a good period - did not bother to go across border - but then guess what happened...its now a TN reg car anyways !! wonder whether it would have been better to have paid a few ten-thousands less and bought one from chennai !

Old 15th December 2007, 21:55   #141

I think the market place has become more of an advisory! Gentlemen come ON.
Old 15th December 2007, 23:13   #142

its a grab for 40k kms done go ahead round it off for 3.0L and zoom away
Old 15th December 2007, 23:37   #143

Try to finalize the deal below 3.0L.

At 40k, the car would require a new set of tyres, if already not done so.
Check for the brake pads.
Front wheel bearings give away at that milage and require replacement. Try to catch the sound of the same while test driving it.
Clutch might not give you any trouble at all.
Make sure to check the service record and finally take the car to an authorized dealer for a checkup before finalizing the deal.
Old 16th December 2007, 10:38   #144

I Thank all u guys for the advise and feedback, this is the best Auto Forum to be on.

Old 16th December 2007, 12:22   #145

Ritesh - If the car has done a genuine 40k & has been driven properly (read as not abused) then it'll not need anything apart from a set of tyres (also improbably considering the life the S322's give out) and regular servicing.

Clutch life is a easy 100k+ if cared for & the suspension will last you till 80k or so on our roads. Wheel Bearing etc. have no problems usually. Only thing that might need careful examining is the Tie-Rod Ends & the Steering Rack as these are components with a known rate of premature failure.

If you want to ask anything more specifically feel free to post.
Old 17th December 2007, 09:10   #146

Does this work with all dealers/A.S.Ss?

Do they have a system to check/evaluate cars? If I'm picking a new car, can I drive into a dealer and request them to check the car out and give me some feeback? Or, is it that it works through contacts?

Any experiences ?

Rex

Originally Posted by susan3004 View Post
Make sure to check the service record and finally take the car to an authorized dealer for a checkup before finalizing the deal.
Old 17th December 2007, 09:26   #147

Originally Posted by Proxima
Another point is the huge discounts that were available for Balenos, dont pay more than 4 lacs. If you can stretch, go in for a new SX4.
@Proxima, the 6.5L price for Vxi is after all discounts. An SX4 will be too much of a stretch IMO.

Originally Posted by narayan
SB - invariably kerala vehicles quote higher price than in TN - dont know why though
Yes, Kerala prices are higher, though I also don't know why. I know guys who used to have a business of buying cars in Chennai/TN and selling them in Kerala at a good profit.

OT: Is that pic of your OHC from our Yelagiri trip ?
Old 17th December 2007, 14:31   #148

hi everyone
We are currently looking for a used quallis.

Today the used car agent(we have dealt with him earlier also) called us regarding a 2003 Quallis RS C4 done 85,000km, I have tried with carwale but RS C4 isnt listed in the 'versions' options.
In any case the cost of the RS models lies between 5.2Lakhs and 3.8Lakhs according to carwale.

Can anyone quote a price for the RS C4 version. Also can some one tell me the features of this version.

We are basically looking for a quallis which has bucket seats and the rear seats which are side ways which can be folded incase of more lugauge and access from the rear door. Also with power steering and AC.

BTW, did the quallis ever came with bucket seats in the middle row???

We havent checked the vehicle nor the price, we will be having a look at the vehicle on tuesday or wednesday.

Last edited by kkr2k2 : 17th December 2007 at 14:33.
Old 18th December 2007, 18:41   #149

i am planing to sell this zen. If any takers (preferably from TN since its TN registered) please PM me. Thanks in advance.
Old 22nd December 2007, 23:59   #150

Originally Posted by supremeBaleno View Post
@Proxima, the 6.5L price for Vxi is after all discounts. An SX4 will be too much of a stretch IMO.

Yes, Kerala prices are higher, though I also don't know why. I know guys who used to have a business of buying cars in Chennai/TN and selling them in Kerala at a good profit.

OT: Is that pic of your OHC from our Yelagiri trip ?
no during yelagiri trip it was KL - now its TN - taken during a trip to jaipur....