Old 28th October 2024, 21:53   #15916

Re: The "USED" Car Price Check Thread

Wanted to share the latest loophole/"system glitch" at RTO level - personally know of it happening in HR and MH; happened with my old car too sold earlier this year via new car exchange and transferred from HR26 to Hisar RTO.
Name transfers are happening without change in owner serial numbers, major winner in this is the second owner.

Car sold A > B > C. B should be second owner except name change happens without # change. C or D are buying cars, on paper, with one ownership but could be more.

Last edited by rayjaycleoful : 28th October 2024 at 21:55.
rayjaycleoful is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th October 2024, 21:21   #15917

Originally Posted by Tanmay_868 View Post
Bhpians do share your method of evaluating the right price of a preowned vehicle.
If it's a dealer you are buying from, I generally check if the price is in line with what other dealers are offering. If yes, you should knock off about 20% on the price, if you instead purchase from a direct seller.
07CR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd November 2024, 15:16   #15918

Hello, fellow bhpians. I am writing this to seek your opinion about buying a 2017 VW Ameo TDI DSG run about 50000kms. The car is listed in cars 24, available in Kolkata. They have posted a price of 7 lacs , which I guess can be negotiable. Some reason for being interested in this car is because it's diesel and automatic. I know it has the DSG. But still, there's no proper diesel automatic under 20 lacs in India currently ( excluding AMT). So what's your opinion on this ?
Old 2nd November 2024, 15:39   #15919

Fellow members, I have been in the market for a 330i g20 for a few months now. I have found a 330i Msport Alpine white make 2019 Aug run, with a quoted price of 32.5L, with the vehicle condition being 7.5/10 with minor scuffs visible on the rear bumper and some on the bottom areas of doors.

I was looking for some feedback on what would be an appropriate price for the vehicle as orangebook suggests 26-27L to be fair price.

Also, how is the long term ownership and reliability as I plan to keep the vehicle for 4-5 year from now.

Please note that any and all feedback is appreciated and valued as I plan to close this deal soon.

Thank you for reading and sharing your opinion in advance.
TurboBiscuit is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th November 2024, 12:29   #15920

Originally Posted by Mitadru View Post
Hello, fellow bhpians. I am writing this to seek your opinion about buying a 2017 VW Ameo TDI DSG run about 50000kms. The car is listed in cars 24, available in Kolkata. They have posted a price of 7 lacs , which I guess can be negotiable. Some reason for being interested in this car is because it's diesel and automatic. I know it has the DSG. But still, there's no proper diesel automatic under 20 lacs in India currently ( excluding AMT)
How long do you wish to keep the car? If its less than 2.5-3 years, it could be considered, but otherwise its a NO GO.

Reasons-
  1. 7 lakhs for a VW DSG entering 9th year is very high! Especially in a city like Kolkata (one of the lowest prices across India), and cars24 don't even negotiate on the prices.
  2. Its a discontinued VW DSG entering 9th year,No Warranty and the expenses to run and maintain would be massive.
  3. It was also not a sales blockbuster so procuring parts would be a headache.
  4. VW-Skoda cars usually are best enjoyed in the <4 year period and post that these cars start throwing random tantrums. I personally prefer absolutely niggle free cars and hate such tantrums.
  5. You could buy a used Amaze CVT Diesel for around similar or slightly lower price and enjoy a fuss free, economical ownership experience. The Diesel CVT in Amaze is a gem!
Old 5th November 2024, 13:25   #15921

Originally Posted by 07CR View Post
How long do you wish to keep the car? If its less than 2.5-3 years, it could be considered, but otherwise its a NO GO.
We are not planning to keep it more than 3 years. Our current secondary car, Hyundai Santro xing, is 16 years old. This will eventually replace the Santro. We'll upgrade to an EV some years down the line, and are waiting for the prices of the small EV'S to drop. In the meantime, this would help bring down the running costs, as the primary is a fuel drinking Slavia. And regarding Amaze diesel, it's rare to get one, let alone and automatic. If you can send the link of one, I'd happily consider it.

Last edited by ampere : 24th November 2024 at 22:26. Reason: Formatted
Old 5th November 2024, 13:51   #15922

Hello, fellow bhpians. I am writing this to seek your opinion about buying a 2017 VW Ameo TDI DSG run about 50000kms.
Check for the tax due amount in 2027. And yes, 7L is a bit too much for a discontinued VW in Kolkata.

Last edited by ampere : 24th November 2024 at 22:26. Reason: Trimmed quoted post
Old 5th November 2024, 13:53   #15923

We are not planning to keep it more than 3 years. Our current secondary car, Hyundai Santro xing, is 16 years old. This will eventually replace the Santro. We'll upgrade to an EV some years down the line, and are waiting for the prices of the small EV'S to drop. In the meantime, this would help bring down the running costs, as the primary is a fuel drinking Slavia.
Since you already have a slavia, do you need another VW? I am assuming this car would be designated only city duties and the slavia would take care of highways.

I would suggest some reliable car brand (not just gearbox), a Honda city/amaze CVT/Verna diesel/petrol AT. Not to forget 7 lakhs (CARS24 price is non negotiable) for a nearly 9 year old car which was probably around 9-10 lakhs when it was launched is blasphemy! I won't pay a penny above 4.5 lakhs for a stupendously good condition top end model.
07CR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th November 2024, 21:33   #15924

Someone who bought the vRS 230 in 2017 would have bought it for about 28-29 lacs on road in Mumbai. Maybe 30-31 lacs. Not more than that.

He has listed his almost 8 year old 32,000km car for 25 lacs. I am interested in the car but an 8 year old fuel guzzling German should have at least 50% depreciation in 8 years.

As a buyer, I am simple not able to wrap my head around this kind of pricing in the used car market.

Similarly, a 2014 S4 V6 333hp with ~49000km on the odo is listed for 24,75lacs. Original price must've been around 50 lacs on road. Maybe a little more.

From what I see of the owners, I think they would have maintained the cars fairly well.

What thoughts from experts? These listings seen on T-bhp classifieds.

With this kind of ask by sellers, I will have to stick to C3 turbo AT - the vrs of the 10 lakhs price range in the new car market.
sjain2054 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th November 2024, 22:12   #15925

2016 model Urban Cross powered by Abarth, 2nd owner and 25,000 kms on odo. Looks clean and good mechanical condition. What's the good price for this?
Old 23rd November 2024, 11:00   #15926

Hi Bhpians,

Need your advice on whether the price offered below is reasonable?

Model: Ford Aspire 1.2 Petrol
Variant : Trend
Colour: Red
Year: Nov 2015
Mileage: 58k km
Insurance: Comprehensive till Nov 2025
Full Service History available in Ford Pass: Serviced from the same service Center for 9 years (Fortune Ford Tolichowki, Hyderabad. Also, have all paperwork for services carried out , with the latest one done in Jan 2024
Tires: Apollo Amazer 4G (changed in Nov 2021, with 16k km done, should last for at least 25k km or 2.5 more years)
Spinny offer after inspection: 3.01L (I haven’t negotiated with them, this is their initial offer). Skoda is offering 2.6L + 40k exchange bonus

The "USED" Car Price Check Thread-img_5692.jpeg

Latest picture below after I did my DIY turtle wax ceramic coat at home. I personally love the way it looks. Even the Spinny guy who came for estimation was like wow, this looks like 2 or 3 year old car. He was like why are you selling it, no rattles, good suspension and steering feedback is great too. But, the upgrade bug has hit me hard with the way Slavia looks dope on road and it is super fun to drive the 1.5 DSG.
The "USED" Car Price Check Thread-img_2887.jpeg  

The "USED" Car Price Check Thread-img_2874.jpeg  

The "USED" Car Price Check Thread-img_2886.jpeg  

Old 24th November 2024, 06:25   #15927

Guys, I am considering a 2019 Skoda Octavia 1.8 L&K trim Quartz Grey car.
Driven about 43k kms and asking price is about 17L.

Is it fair priced?

I can see this model was priced around 25 lakhs back in 2019.
Old 24th November 2024, 22:07   #15928

Originally Posted by aswin88 View Post
Insurance: Comprehensive till Nov 2025

Spinny offer after inspection: 3.01L (I haven’t negotiated with them, this is their initial offer). Skoda is offering 2.6L + 40k exchange bonus
That's a good price you are getting. I sold my Aspire also from Nov 2015 couple of years back for 3.5, Mine was automatic with 1.5L engine. Mine had 35K on odo. Try negotiating a bit more with Skoda and give it in exchange.
yashg is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 25th November 2024, 11:35   #15929

Originally Posted by aswin88 View Post

Usually Spinny will increase that offer by 10K. You can always push them for that. Alternately post on OLX if you have the time. You will definitely get a better offer.
Old 25th November 2024, 17:07   #15930

I have shortlisted 2 used cars AUDI A4 35 TDI (Technology Pack) 2019 model, done 61K kms from Audi Pune, quoting 26L and a BMW M330i 2018 model, done 17K kms from a local dealer in Pune, quoting 33L

Need your views on the above and also if the quoted price is fair. I personally feel that A4 is overpriced by 2L and the 330i by 3L, would be great if you provide inputs and help me making a decision on one.