Old 16th June 2011, 11:46   #3121

re: The "USED" Car Price Check Thread. (Online tool : Page 1)

^ I think that is a good price if the vehicle is clean (read accident free). A new LDi in Mumbai should be around 6.5l+ and Dezire has a waiting period. Even if it is a 2010 model a 1l+ knockoff on the on road price is a good deal. Be prepared to shell out an additional 15k for the impending insurance though.
Old 16th June 2011, 11:55   #3122

Re: how much to expect for 09 BMW 530d?

Hey. I am searching for a old shape 530 D. Lemme know if you want to dispose the same please.
Old 16th June 2011, 12:20   #3123

sir, 30 L is pretty less. What have you quoted is correct, or might be more.
mikon is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th June 2011, 12:23   #3124

To Laura or not to skoda ???

Hello there ...

One among the first post people around .

So a BIG hi to all Bhpians ..

I am planning to buy a second hand sedan.

So went around the second hand dealers in Chennai and saw a few skoda octavia's . ( fell in love with this car that my previous boss had owned )

Octavia rider 2004 - 73k - second owner - 4 lakhs

Octavia l & k 2006 - 65k - first owner - 6 lakhs

These two cars I had zeroed in as these two had decent service records .

Other cars were totally zero or when asked about service and insurance history , the dealers did not respond properly .

So while searching I came across a Laura with 69k on the odo and full service history and new tyres, while tding I saw that noises were there in the suspension ( the tip to switch off the audio when test driving a car was very useful ) during bumps et al.

I can stretch the budget to 8.5 lakhs . Is it advisable to get the Laura or go in for one of the octavias

Or just run away from the skodas altogether.

We want a diesel sedan , we currently have a swift vdi. And this is going to be our second car . We travel atleast 2000 kms a month .

Anyways , am addicted to this site and looking to Pete my swift soon .
Old 16th June 2011, 12:28   #3125

On launch of the F10, the dealers liquidated the old 5 series at a 10lac off the list. So that made it about 39 lacs on road.
The max you can expect is 32/33 lacs. Understand, a person buying a 30+ lac car would consider that its an old shape and tech.
Old 16th June 2011, 13:02   #3126

Re: To Laura or not to skoda ???

Hi Amneo,

Welcome to T-Bhp..!!

IMO, Skoda's are excellent vehicles but backed poor Service centers that's what makes many of them here think twice before owning Skoda, otherwise I think it is a total paisa vasool gaadi.

Reliability wise, well, every maker's car does break down, doesn't it ?

I prefer Laura over Octavia for the more gizmos you along with it. Take one you zeroed on to the good mech and have it checked before buying it.

Else, do consider buying new vehicles, with the budget you have (+/- few thousands) you can get Fiesta, Verna, Manza, Sx4 and Vento D trendline

Happy Motoring,
Rajesh
2500cc is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th June 2011, 13:34   #3127
dot

Originally Posted by mikon View Post
30 L is pretty less. What have you quoted is correct, or might be more.
The onroad price of the 530d was about 50L. So first year depreciation will be about 20%, which brings the price to 40L. Second year 10%, so that brings the price to about 35-36L.

The thing is, high end cars depreciate a lot, so normal rules may not apply.

Anyone has any view on this. Help will be highly appreciated.

Originally Posted by SB1061 View Post
Hey. I am searching for a old shape 530 D. Lemme know if you want to dispose the same please.
The car is in Cochin!

Last edited by dot : 16th June 2011 at 13:36.
Old 16th June 2011, 13:47   #3128

Originally Posted by rudder View Post
I think you should expect around 4L to 4.10L. I own a 2007 SX4 Zxi in Gurgaon. Have driven it around 52K and am contemplating selling it. The car has been immaculately maintained and all service papers are available. I presently getting offers around 3.8L (post negotiations).
An SX4 ZXi in Bangy should get more than that I guess. The basic reason is the highest RT in Bangalore.

Originally Posted by vibhu_f430 View Post
Hey guys, own a SX4 ZXI 2007, done 30k kms. How much can i expect for my car ?
Please call up true value and check the price for this car. That should the ideal price be +/- 10,000/. I personally expect a 5L for this car imagining the current OTR would be at least 9L.

Last edited by swiftnfurious : 16th June 2011 at 13:49.
Old 16th June 2011, 13:48   #3129

I would stay away from the Laura, since its got much more electronics. And also the PD engine is more delicate than the Octavia's tdi.

Between the 2 I would say the Octy. Unless you get a low run Laura and the service history etc is known. Otherwise it could end up being a big expense after a few months.

The problem with high run cars is you never know how the previous owner treated it, how and when it was serviced etc. For a Jap car you could still take the chance, but not for a complicated car like the Laura.
Akshay1234 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th June 2011, 14:10   #3130

You did not mention if it was a Laura Petrol (TSI) or not, but i would advise get the Laura completely checked at Vinayak and get an estimate how much you would need to spend after buying.
Old 16th June 2011, 14:13   #3131

I've heard of them going at 22-25L for 3-4 yrs old & 30-60K kms. The max 've heard is a 3yr old 530d with around 25k kms at 28L.
Old 16th June 2011, 15:59   #3132

Originally Posted by dot View Post
The onroad price of the 530d was about 50L. So first year depreciation will be about 20%, which brings the price to 40L. Second year 10%, so that brings the price to about 35-36L.

The thing is, high end cars depreciate a lot, so normal rules may not apply.

Anyone has any view on this. Help will be highly appreciated.
I would say realistically speaking you could get maybe a couple lacs over 30 for the car. What we have also failed to factor in with the depreciation calculation (apart from the factthat it is a luxury vehicle and will hence depreciate faster) is that there is a new model (thew current gen. 5 series) on the block now. That by itself is sufficient to knock off 10% from the previous gen model's resale value.
Cesc is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th June 2011, 16:43   #3133

regular servicing is pretty decent. but accidents, parts, etc. will cost you dearly! if u just want an initial upfront cost but have dough to pay for repairs (accidents, part failures) then it is a very good choice. don't expect the ownership to be cheap just because the initial cost is less.
androdev is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th June 2011, 00:27   #3134

Originally Posted by mayankjha1806 View Post
You did not mention if it was a Laura Petrol (TSI) or not, but i would advise get the Laura completely checked at Vinayak and get an estimate how much you would need to spend after buying.

I am sorry,

It was the laura Diesel. And Am from Chennai . So trying to find out a good Skoda A.S.S centre . and yes have been going through the forums. SO much of info , so taking my time before purchasing the car. Thanks you
Old 17th June 2011, 08:45   #3135

Originally Posted by bharathreddyt View Post
Now that I've the cash in my bank, I went around Hyderabad looking for a decent LPG hatch that won’t burn too much into my pocket. I'd earlier zeroed in on a used WagonR Duo, but having seen what’s available for around 2,80,000lakhs, now the Santro Eco and an Alto too came under my radar.

So here's the data:

3. Santro Eco – 2008/2009 (did not note this well) - Black – 28,000KM – Rs.3,30,000 – Hyundai Advantage –no dents and minor scratches, pretty clean interiors too. The car looked really promising: black color, 1yr Warranty + 3services et al. This deal would need me to stretch my budget by around Rs50,000. Given that a brand new Santro Eco comes for Rs.4,67,000, I’m not really sure if this were a good bargain.

4. Alto LXi – 2009 – Brown – 15,000Km – Rs.2,00,000 – Dad’s friend is its second owner and did not use it for more than 10,000 Km. Minor dents, sure looks like a 2yr old car. The car isn’t LPG and neither does it have the space or power that a WagonR or Santro provides, and it would be a bit of a compromise.

Yet, this deal seems really tempting for quite a few reasons:
a. Carwale evaluation for a 15000Km driven 2009AltoLXi –is around 2,50,000. It doesn’t take the number of previous owners into consideration though.
b. We’d buy this from a close acquaintance and hassles of ownership transfer would be real easy.
c. I’d save around Rs.80,000 in which I could get an LPG kit for around 25,000 and tuck away the rest of my hard earned money into some other investments!!

So dear gurus of TeamBHP, what do you say about the Santro Eco (#3 above) and what about the Alto (#4 above)?
Unusual to TeamBHP, I did not see any replies. :-( Its okay!
I finally booked a used Black Santro Eco 2008 - 28000Km for 3,15,000 @ Hyundai Advantage. I'm to take the delivery today or tomorrow. The car comes with 1yr/20,000 Km warranty on engine and gearbox + 2 free services.

There were a few small issues with the car in its present condition but the dealer said he'd get them all fixed in the service today.

So what do you say about the deal?