Old 20th September 2012, 11:31   #5641

re: The "USED" Car Price Check Thread. (Online tool : Page 1)

Originally Posted by ckranjan View Post
I am looking for a used petrol car for myself. My running is approx. 500 KMs/Month. My company is auctioning the following car. What should be a fair price.

Name : Honda City
Year : 2006.
KMs : 125000
Condition : Very Good. History available. New Tyres.
City : Ajmer

Do not know how much to bid for. Need your Help.

Hello Rajan,
like Jignesh said, do you really want a car that's run 125000kms? Co.owned cars are usually driven by numerous drivers. So chances of wear & tear are higher. Just give this car a pass.
Varun.

Originally Posted by sam_hyd View Post
My friend is looking to buy this car:

Honda City V MT
Make: August 2011
Mileage: 6000
Condition: Excellent
Asking Price: 7.5 Lacs

Please advice, whether it is good buy or not.
Hello Sam,
The ideal price would be around 6.75L. My cousin brought a City V(9000 kms) last month, for 6.8L in Hyderabad. So Chennai price should be near about.
Varun

Last edited by powertrain : 20th September 2012 at 11:37.
powertrain is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th September 2012, 12:22   #5642

Originally Posted by Jignesh View Post
Hello Ckranjan,

Firstly why go for a Car that is already six years old & used for 125000 kms?

Still if you are very sure of the quality of the Car then you may try to buy it for approx Rs. 2,00,000

Originally Posted by powertrain View Post
Hello Rajan,
like Jignesh said, do you really want a car that's run 125000kms? Co.owned cars are usually driven by numerous drivers. So chances of wear & tear are higher. Just give this car a pass.
Varun.
Thanks guys for your help. I understand what you say. I was only considering it since i was told that its in excellent condition. I think i'll let it pass and wait for other options. i am in no hurry.
Old 21st September 2012, 15:28   #5643

Hey Guys,

I am in the market for a Used Diesel Sedan for daily use (Self Drive). I was waiting for the Duster and the Quanto, but both are out of my list for different reasons. Anyway, kindly help me determine the price of the following.

Model: Fiat Linea MJD Emotion Pack
Year: 2010 (month not sure)
Color: Golden (Beige)
Driven: 45,000 (a bit too much?)
Owner: Individual, Single
Condition: Average/Good (He has sent me some pics but will not be sure till i see it in flesh)
Quoted Price: 6lacs

Carwale.com evaluation says around 5.65lacs is a good price. What are your suggestions on the above car?

Any other deals in Mumbai that anyone can suggest from individuals for Diesel sedans.

Last edited by Zenster : 21st September 2012 at 15:30.
Old 21st September 2012, 15:59   #5644

Guys, I need your help and desperately. Came across a Skoda Octavia vRS listing on Carwale. Have spoken to the poster. Details as follows:

Model: Skoda Octavia vRS
Year: February, 2006
Kms. Done: 50000
No. of Owners: 2
Asking price: 300000

Here's the link.

The car is at a Mahindra First Choice, Lajpat Nagar. Claims to be completely refurbished through 118 checks et al.

I'll get around 2L for my Spark PS, (late-2010 model, 25k). Works out to 1 lac for a vRS!

I'm tempted to say the least. However the following points have raised a flag:

1. The dealer has a history of cheating. Link

2. Why is a vRS going for so low?

Can anyone please help. I will check the car out personally. However, need advice on correct pricing, potential red flags and ways to avoid getting fleeced.

Last edited by lordavenger : 21st September 2012 at 15:59. Reason: Spelling Error
Old 21st September 2012, 16:51   #5645

Originally Posted by lordavenger View Post
Guys, I need your help and desperately. Came across a Skoda Octavia vRS listing on Carwale. Have spoken to the poster. Details as follows:

Here's the link.

The car is at a Mahindra First Choice, Lajpat Nagar. Claims to be completely refurbished through 118 checks et al.

I'll get around 2L for my Spark PS, (late-2010 model, 25k). Works out to 1 lac for a vRS!

Can anyone please help. I will check the car out personally. However, need advice on correct pricing, potential red flags and ways to avoid getting fleeced.
The link shows car has 3 owners, I doubt, If kms mentioned are genuine. check the car out personally, See tyres are new or OEM, Check out the date on them, Do look at the spare tyre too.

Check the car thoroughly, Whether any accident spots are there or not.

Do MAKE sure that car is in good condition, Before taking a call.

Sameer
Old 21st September 2012, 17:10   #5646

Here's the link.

Looks tempting,it sure does,considering it will cost just a lakh,after disposing your spark.But remember its a skoda,and maintaince bills will increase,a Honda Accord will be much easier to maintain,but wont provide you the grin which a VRS can

Last edited by akshay4587 : 21st September 2012 at 17:13.
Old 21st September 2012, 17:36   #5647

Originally Posted by lordavenger
Guys, I need your help and desperately. Came across a Skoda--------------- snip---------------------- red flags and ways to avoid getting fleeced.
Like I mentioned, that vintage, that mileage and that dealer?
Be very very VERY sure,or walk away.
Old 21st September 2012, 18:38   #5648

Here's the link.

My advice - Run !! 3 owners, such a low price, Skoda cost of ownership - looks like a accident case or a very highly run/modified car.
Old 21st September 2012, 21:16   #5649

Hello Friends,

I am getting 2009 Tata Indigo CS LX TDI with following details:

Make: March 2009
Model: Tata Indigo CS LX TDI
ODO: 31,000
Condition Good. (from outside it looks very good)
Asking Price: Rs. 3,35,000

Shall I go for the above Car? What do Tata Indigo Owners say?

Old 21st September 2012, 21:19   #5650

I have a 1999 ZEN LX Model bought in 2009 for 1.25L from the 3rd Owner. It is a Delhi car re registered in Trivandrum. I changed all 4 tyres to Bridgestone tyres. I bought a Ritz VDI in Feb 2012. I am trying very hard to sell the ZEN for the past 6 months. The rates quoted are so low (according to me), that I did not sell it. The Highest quote I got was 68000/- . This is Trivandrum where generally prices are higher than in places like, say, Cochin. WHat should I do? Sell it at 68,000?
Old 21st September 2012, 21:30   #5651

Guys, Getting a deal of Honda City.

Model: Honda City 1.5V
Year: May 2011
Color: Silver
Kms Clocked: 11500
Owner: Individual (Dad's friend)
Condition: Excellent! The car is pretty good and I have got all details about it as its owned by my dad's best friend.
Asking Price: 6,00,000 and can even get to 5,75,000.

Should I go for it or buy any other sedan like Elantra near Diwali?
Old 21st September 2012, 22:44   #5652

Originally Posted by YashD View Post
Guys, Getting a deal of Honda City.

Model: Honda City 1.5V
Year: May 2011
Color: Silver
Kms Clocked: 11500
Owner: Individual (Dad's friend)
Condition: Excellent! The car is pretty good and I have got all details about it as its owned by my dad's best friend.
Asking Price: 6,00,000 and can even get to 5,75,000.

Should I go for it or buy any other sedan like Elantra near Diwali?
Man, It's a steal. Go ahead, Before anyone takes it away

Sameer
sameerg001 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st September 2012, 22:49   #5653

I strongly recommend not to go ahead. Any European car which has changed hand more than twice means that it has perennial maintenance issues and that too Skoda! I have experienced this with my first car (Fiat Palio).
Old 21st September 2012, 23:10   #5654

Originally Posted by sameerg001 View Post
Man, It's a steal. Go ahead, Before anyone takes it away

Sameer
I have driven the car several times and have even used it for a whole month but just confused that due you think buying a used car makes sense?
Old 22nd September 2012, 01:36   #5655

Originally Posted by YashD View Post
I have driven the car several times and have even used it for a whole month but just confused that due you think buying a used car makes sense?
If your running is not much high, to justify a diesel engine car for you, It sure does make a lot of sense to pick this one.

A new honda city V costs anywhere around 10L OTR, You're getting it for less then 6L, That too a year old car, with just 11500 kms on ODO, Which is nothing.

And Honda's car ages well, So IMO this is a perfect buy, Considering the car is in excellent condition.

Sameer