Old 2nd September 2012, 20:41   #5521

re: The "USED" Car Price Check Thread. (Online tool : Page 1)

Originally Posted by Red Liner View Post
Are you sure? Everybody tells me to avoid the car by a bargepole at this price, so I'm wondering if I am committing harakiri over this deal...
I m damn sure its a good deal to buy a POLO 1.6 at 5.6 lacs and less which is about 1 year old.

Hope you told all those people that it is a 1.6 and not a regular one
Old 2nd September 2012, 21:07   #5522

Originally Posted by prashant316 View Post
I m damn sure its a good deal to buy a POLO 1.6 at 5.6 lacs and less which is about 1 year old.

Hope you told all those people that it is a 1.6 and not a regular one
Thanks Prashant. Am still ruminating over this deal...not convinced yet and am not sure why. Read a few posts back that a Polo 1.6 got sold for 4L in Hyderabad!
Old 2nd September 2012, 21:14   #5523

Thanks Prashant. Am still ruminating over this deal...not convinced yet and am not sure why. Read a few posts back that a Polo 1.6 got sold for 4L in Hyderabad!
4 lacs is a steal

why dont you keep this on stand-by and hunt for another 1.6 polo and compare the price. But dont wait for too long or you may regret like me for having let go of a car i really want
Old 2nd September 2012, 21:33   #5524

Originally Posted by prashant316 View Post
4 lacs is a steal

why dont you keep this on stand-by and hunt for another 1.6 polo and compare the price. But dont wait for too long or you may regret like me for having let go of a car i really want
Cars can always be bought man...just gotta be a little patient I just dont want to jump the gun.

Let me wait until the others on this thread are back from their week-end jaunts.
Old 3rd September 2012, 09:58   #5525

@Red Liner. Having driven a Polo 1.6, I would like to comment the below
- Its nowhere an enthusiast drive. Its simply not entertaining.
- It has power but the its rough. It cannot even come close to a Jap / Korean in refinement.
- Polo 1.6 were always sold for a 50k+ discount.
- Petrols have lost their value big time.
- I would rate the normal (non-S) Fiesta a better choice than the 1.6 Polo.
- Used Fiestas are available for a song.

As mentioned, few posts back
- 1.6 Polo sold for 4.xx in Hyderabad
- 1.6 Fiesta SXI 2009 bought for 3.00 in Bangalore

For a 5-6 lakh budget in Bangalore, you could look at
- 2009-2010 Cedias
- 2010-2011 Fiestas
- 2007-2008 Civics

I somehow feel the Polo is very over-priced. Apart from good build, looks, interiors quality (not looks), there is nothing much going for it. It just does not have the right engines to do justice.
dipen is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2012, 17:35   #5526

Hi Friends,

How much can I expect for a well maintained Tata Indica v2 DLS (non turbo), October 2008 model, some more details:
  • 64000 KM's run
  • Neo alloy wheels (set of 4)
  • Mileage between 15-18 with A/C always on
  • Complete service history available
  • Michelin tube less tyres (can do another 10K KM's easily)
Overall its in very good condition, except a few scratches on front and rear bumpers.

Srinivas.R
Old 3rd September 2012, 17:50   #5527

Originally Posted by delta5 View Post
Yes, I know, but my father is not happy on spending close to 6lakhs on a used car
That is another story about spending x amount on a used car. 6L would get you a new car from a segment below.
If you ask me about the Jazz, it is worth it. Based on condition etc. and possible expenses, its more of a negotiating task.
5.5 sounds ok, but maybe a middle of the road offer like 5.7 could do the trick?

Originally Posted by GTX007 View Post
The buyer(who is a relative of mine) was actually interested in an eon earlier. Then I gave him this offer. If I bargain too much he might go in for an eon. Should I ask for more?? Thanks in advance.
I would not sell to a relative or friend. too many complications later, I speak from experience, I have learnt it the hard way.
Practically speaking, if the dealer is offering you 3.25, you should ask for 3.5 elsewhere, assuming he would make 25K on a sale.

Cars can always be bought man...just gotta be a little patient I just dont want to jump the gun.
some cars are worth jumping the gun for. that is totally subjective though, you will know it when it happens to you!
ps - I am not talking about the Polo offer, but just making a general statement
selfdrive is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2012, 18:37   #5528

My brother-in-law who purchased New Hyundai Eon 6 months ago for 3.20L, recently exchanged it for a used Nissan Micra (diesel). The bad part of the story is he sold his Eon for 2.10 Lakhs Rs. and bought the Micra for 5.5 Lakhs. (5.5L - 2.10L) he had to pay additional 3.4L. I felt when I heard that he sold his 6 months old 5K ridden car for 2.10L and purchased 2011 Jan Micra from the auto dealer. (I hate purchasing cars from dealers.)
Old 3rd September 2012, 18:45   #5529

Originally Posted by Blue Thunder View Post
I think this is happening to me now....more details later
Awesome when that happens, but do ensure that you try and have a bit of practicality innvolved in the decision making. Some of these find a nasty way to bite us back. which I hope is not the case for you!

Originally Posted by mercedised View Post
I felt when I heard that he sold his 6 months old 5K ridden car for 2.10L and purchased 2011 Jan Micra from the auto dealer. (I hate purchasing cars from dealers.)
Inlaws should be outlawed. They never listen, do they?! but again, even I am someone's inlaw and I am sure they would think the same way about me!

anyhow, I guess this just reflects a poor decision on his part when buying the Eon. He tried to correct it, but lost money there. I hope he makes it up by saving a lot of money on diesel!! But for saving 20 bucks, he will have to spend 40 everytime

Last edited by selfdrive : 3rd September 2012 at 18:47.
selfdrive is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2012, 18:53   #5530

Originally Posted by selfdrive View Post
anyhow, I guess this just reflects a poor decision on his part when buying the Eon. He tried to correct it, but lost money there. I hope he makes it up by saving a lot of money on diesel!! But for saving 20 bucks, he will have to spend 40 everytime
But, how the heck could one accept a depreciation of 1.1L for a 5 months old untouched car? Adding to that he is a Financial advisor in a Telecom company and duped by a 12th pass car dealer. The Micra he purchased had a rattling gear-shift and somehow when I inspected the car it appeared tobe a accidented car (the gaps were uneven). Although, I told him, but as you said I was outlawed.
Old 3rd September 2012, 18:54   #5531

Originally Posted by mercedised View Post
My brother-in-law who purchased New Hyundai Eon 6 months ago for 3.20L, recently exchanged it for a used Nissan Micra (diesel). The bad part of the story is he sold his Eon for 2.10 Lakhs Rs. and bought the Micra for 5.5 Lakhs. (5.5L - 2.10L) he had to pay additional 3.4L. I felt when I heard that he sold his 6 months old 5K ridden car for 2.10L and purchased 2011 Jan Micra from the auto dealer. (I hate purchasing cars from dealers.)
A classic case of panic buying. Buying a diesel car just because a few people would've asked "why you bought a petrol car.now fuel prices will shoot through the roof " conveniently ignoring the premium one pays extra for a diesel over a petrol and the daily running usage. Its the only question people ask me in my office when they look at my car!

and this has to be a record for the resale value of Nissan. Dont think even in US Nissan commands such a resale value(5.5L where a new car is around 7L)

Last edited by shadows123 : 3rd September 2012 at 18:55.
Old 3rd September 2012, 18:56   #5532

Originally Posted by Blue Thunder View Post
I think this is happening to me now....more details later
Hey, is it the Civic you talked about couple of days back? Waiting to hear from you on this
Old 3rd September 2012, 19:05   #5533

Originally Posted by dipen View Post
@Red Liner.

As mentioned, few posts back
- 1.6 Polo sold for 4.xx in Hyderabad
- 1.6 Fiesta SXI 2009 bought for 3.00 in Bangalore

For a 5-6 lakh budget in Bangalore, you could look at
- 2009-2010 Cedias
- 2010-2011 Fiestas
- 2007-2008 Civics

I somehow feel the Polo is very over-priced. Apart from good build, looks, interiors quality (not looks), there is nothing much going for it. It just does not have the right engines to do justice.
Thanks Dipen. Have skipped the deal. The Civic in your list is on top of my radar. If I wait a bit and save up more money + wait for the fuel hike, play on the civic discontinued story, then I should be able to get myself a nice deal. Add a suspension kit thereafter, and the car should do enough justice to keep me happy for a while (plus its clearly a segment above the Scorpio in every imaginable way). I dont mind waiting - the right car will find me if it has to

Last edited by Red Liner : 3rd September 2012 at 19:07.
Old 3rd September 2012, 20:15   #5534

Originally Posted by Ketan View Post
I'm going to get a new car soon. The query is regarding mr dependable, 1.9 PalioD. ELX.
Its a 2005 November model and I'm thinking whether I should find a new home for her! Its been a real good experience with it and never had an issue so far. Lots of wonderful trips, happy miles and memories associated during this 67K+ odo as of date.
I have the FIP issues popped up for few months now and using workaround all the time, no issues with that. My questions are.

> I'm going for SUV, dont ride much in the city but major use is going to be highways and occasional city usage (was same with my PalioD also). Does it make sense to keep PalioD for wife/parents knowing that we are not going to put considerable miles on it once I have the new car!! or better to find a new home rather keeping her parked most of the time (was thnking to keep the car considering the low resale value).
> In case if I decide to find her a new home, what can I expect? its in very good condition except FIP which I'm planning to get fixed (shoud cost around 20k!! or less!!). How much should I expect?

Thank you.
Originally Posted by YC.BALENO.CHD View Post
Does it makes sense? YES.

Will it have a low resale value? Hell YES.

Keep the car if it has been responsible for some happy motoring and has given you a trouble free experience. As you said, you won't get much by selling it. Regardless of how well maintained it is.

Regards.
Originally Posted by CANPUSH View Post
I made the mistake of selling my Palio 1.9D ELX two years ago. I still regret. Price you get for Palio is very low. It serves as good car till odo reads 150000 kms. Consider keeping it. If you take her for a ride even once a week, still it will keep itself in shape.
My old car, PalioD is not being used much my wife uses it sometimes for her 2 km commute a day to her school (very close to house) and sometimes she finds scotty o be quicker than the car - recently I used it for a short highway run and it was performing just fine, as usual.
My car wash guy was asking me if I want to sell the car, I said yes, if you find someone show it to him and he got a couple guys.
I told the FIP problem in the beginning itself and told him that that's the reason I'm coming to 1.75 from 2L. Apart from that, there are no issues, it has got 5 alloys, AutoCop XS (with auto roll down module), Pioneer player with USB facility, battery replaced just a month back and insurance renewed 1.5 months back since I was planning to keep the car.
We finalized it at 1.7 (verbally) and later while returning the key he said that he will come back to me in another couple of days time after he consults his numerologist.

Do you think 1.7L is a good price for my PalioD? (I still have lots of emotions attached but my wife says we may not get this same price after sometime)
Please help me decide.
Thank you.
Old 3rd September 2012, 20:30   #5535

Originally Posted by Ketan

My old car, PalioD is not being used much my wife uses it sometimes for her 2 km commute a day to her school (very close to house) and sometimes she finds scotty o be quicker than the car - recently I used it for a short highway run and it was performing just fine, as usual.
My car wash guy was asking me if I want to sell the car, I said yes, if you find someone show it to him and he got a couple guys.
I told the FIP problem in the beginning itself and told him that that's the reason I'm coming to 1.75 from 2L. Apart from that, there are no issues, it has got 5 alloys, AutoCop XS (with auto roll down module), Pioneer player with USB facility, battery replaced just a month back and insurance renewed 1.5 months back since I was planning to keep the car.
We finalized it at 1.7 (verbally) and later while returning the key he said that he will come back to me in another couple of days time after he consults his numerologist.

Do you think 1.7L is a good price for my PalioD? (I still have lots of emotions attached but my wife says we may not get this same price after sometime)
Please help me decide.
Thank you.
I think it's a fairly reasonable price. A friend who used to own a 2005 Palio D recently sold his car which had 80,000 km on the odo, for 1.3 lacs after it developed a fuel injector problem that the A.S.S. was quoting a crazy sum to replace. He was facing the same problem as you, owning three other cars, but not wanting to part with this one.
one-77 is online now   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com