Old 21st March 2018, 22:43   #361

Re: Quick Diy

Originally Posted by Leoshashi View Post
In some other news, R2D2 Sir once commented I have some potential to be a detailer.
Not just a detailer. Heck! You ought to own a car dealership whether for Maruti or any other manufacturer! I'm sure you will display the same dedication and attention to detail that has been the hallmark of the GG thread. Believe me you will WIN customers.

People can own (and drive) cars Shashi, but very, very few can literally love and maintain one like you do. And this is from a person who has been made fun of (in an admiring way..or so I think) by my friends/colleagues/relatives/neighbours for being very Parsi-like (AKA detail oriented and obsessed) with my car and bike care. Seriously, this is one of my favourite threads on T-BHP.

Well I tried it out on the hood of a friend's Black Ritz which had heavily oxidised paint and lots of swirls. A 10 minute job resulted in this: I let him buff the final step, and his smile explains it all
See? I wasn't far from the truth now, was I? Well done!

Last edited by R2D2 : 21st March 2018 at 22:45.
R2D2 is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 25th March 2018, 12:16   #362

re: The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27

Our beloved Golden Goose is no longer a minor. She is now eligible for voting and marrying.

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20180325_105219.jpg

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img20180325wa0013.jpg

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img20180325wa0014.jpg

Happy Birthday, Dear 5641.

Last edited by Leoshashi : 25th March 2018 at 12:19.
Leoshashi is offline   (28) Thanks
Old 25th March 2018, 12:42   #363

re: The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27

Our beloved Golden Goose is no longer a minor. She is now eligible for voting and marrying.

Attachment 1745115

Attachment 1745116

Attachment 1745117

Happy Birthday, Dear 5641.

Congratulations on 18 years with the Golden Goose, LeoShashi Sir.

She still looks like she just left the showroom!

Wish you many more happy miles with the car.

Prathik

Last edited by Prathiiik : 25th March 2018 at 12:44.
Prathiiik is online now   (6) Thanks
Old 25th March 2018, 21:34   #364

Our beloved Golden Goose is no longer a minor. She is now eligible for voting and marrying. Happy Birthday, Dear 5641.
Happy birthday to GG A hug from me to the now grown up car. This thread is an inspiration.
R2D2 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 26th March 2018, 09:18   #365

Happy birthday to the 18 years 'young'. The car is person looks like she rolled out of the showroom just today! The care bestowed by Shashi is simply exemplary.

Best wishes for the upcoming years ahead.

Saket.
saket77 is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 26th March 2018, 14:22   #366

Belated Birthday wishes Golden Goose.

The only thing that's missing in the photos are 'Delivery Area' backdrop/billboard
Prodigy07 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 26th March 2018, 14:33   #367

Happy 18th Birthday, GG!

Shashi sir, hats off to the way you've maintained him over the past 18-years and it shows. Looks like as he rolled out of the showroom just yesterday. Keep up the good-work!

On another note, when are you finding a suitable bride for our GG. Abhi toh iski Shaadi ki Umar aa gayi . Keep us updated with the match-fixing as well

Varun
Varun_HexaGuy is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 29th March 2018, 20:10   #368

Originally Posted by Prathiiik View Post
Congratulations on 18 years with the Golden Goose, LeoShashi Sir.

She still looks like she just left the showroom!

Wish you many more happy miles with the car.

Prathik
Originally Posted by Varun_HexaGuy View Post
Happy 18th Birthday, GG!

Shashi sir, hats off to the way you've maintained him over the past 18-years and it shows. Looks like as he rolled out of the showroom just yesterday. Keep up the good-work!

On another note, when are you finding a suitable bride for our GG. Abhi toh iski Shaadi ki Umar aa gayi . Keep us updated with the match-fixing as well

Varun
Thanks a lot guys. No "Sir" please.

Originally Posted by Prodigy07 View Post
Belated Birthday wishes Golden Goose.

The only thing that's missing in the photos are 'Delivery Area' backdrop/billboard
Originally Posted by saket77 View Post
Happy birthday to the 18 years 'young'. The car is person looks like she rolled out of the showroom just today! The care bestowed by Shashi is simply exemplary.

Best wishes for the upcoming years ahead.

Saket.
Originally Posted by R2D2 View Post
Happy birthday to GG A hug from me to the now grown up car. This thread is an inspiration.
Thanks a lot for your wishes.

Update: Parts for the rear wiper and fog lamp project have started to pour in from various parts of the world.

Both these things can be done for as little as 3k, but since I absolutely detest jugaads, it's always the OEM way for me. Hence getting parts of LHD Maruti 800 for that perfect factory finish. Budget has been revised umpteen times, but I guess finally things are now in control.

Pure Japanese Stuff

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20180321_125819.jpg

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20180321_125824.jpg

Motor Assembly. Maruti 800 used a link along with rear wiper motor.

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20180321_125933.jpg

Rear bumper with fog light provision

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20180329_172613.jpg

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20180329_182151.jpg

Shashi
Leoshashi is offline   (20) Thanks
Old 13th April 2018, 21:09   #369

Alternator Overhaul: This is the first time in it's 18 years of life when the alternator was comprehensively overhauled, cleaned and installed back. Issue was weak horn output at full load. Secondly, I'm soon going to install OEM rear fog lamp and wiper, which will put extra load on the system.

While the Bosch system declared both the alternator and the battery as fit, I wasn't happy with the way the charging voltage was dipping below 12V during idle. We changed the regulator assembly, and currently the system is maintaining around 12.5V at maximum load.

The electrician was on leave, hence got my hands dirty with my SA. He did majority of the job, whereas I was given the responsibility of cleaning things.

Decreasing the Load: I have also ordered Philips and Osram P21 and P21/5 bulbs. Went for the best ones, as I simply don't trust chinese ones. Will be replacing brake light, reverse light, HMSL, rear fog lamp bulbs and number plate lights with LEDs. Looking at close to 140W savings if all are turned on at once.

Order was placed on Powerbulbs, with the total amount being around 5000 rupees for 8 units. I hope the custom guys don't increase my expense. Some friendly BHPians who have shopped from powerbulbs in the past, tell me that it takes around 2-3 weeks to reach.

Update regarding fog lamp: All the spares have reached, except a bezel which goes around the fog lamp opening.

Time for pics:

My SA, doing all the jobs himself

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20180321_113205.jpg

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20180321_111139.jpg

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20180321_105401.jpg

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20180321_103829.jpg

The Regulator Assembly

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20180412_155603.jpg

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20180412_155649.jpg

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20180412_155656.jpg

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20180412_160515.jpg

This bulb will be replaced with Philips LED in some time.

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20180410_132631.jpg

Bracket, fog light assembly and the bumper

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20180412_210944.jpg

I later realised that the coupler is mounted in that hook.

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20180412_224022.jpg

Waiting for the bezel

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20180412_224112.jpg

Shashi

Last edited by Leoshashi : 13th April 2018 at 21:14.
Leoshashi is offline   (19) Thanks
Old 13th April 2018, 23:34   #370

The rear fog lamp will make the car even more distinctive! I'm yet to come across a better maintained 800 (or any Maruti from that era). Take a bow.

The alternator in our car also has also started showing lesser charging value. The tone of horn changes when the turn indicators are used with headlamps on. Didn't bother changing the regulator as we might be letting go of the car soon ( picked up a '01 zen lx for city runs.)

Last edited by --gKrish-- : 13th April 2018 at 23:36.
--gKrish-- is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 14th April 2018, 21:54   #371

Had a chance to see the car when Shashi came to my shop today. It was great meeting him and seeing the car in flesh. Indeed both of them are lucky to find each other. It was overwhelming to meet a bhpian in such a small city.

Have you installed the rear fog light? I don't remember seeing it.
Blow Horn Ok is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 14th April 2018, 22:19   #372

Originally Posted by Blow Horn Ok View Post
Had a chance to see the car when Shashi came to my shop today. It was great meeting him and seeing the car in flesh. Indeed both of them are lucky to find each other. It was overwhelming to meet a bhpian in such a small city.
The pleasure was mine. It was indeed lovely meeting a BHPian. Your setup was awesome. I was pleasantly surprised to see such premium detailing products in a city like ours.

Some pics:

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20180414_173439.jpg

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20180414_173541.jpg

Have you installed the rear fog light? I don't remember seeing it.
No sir. Waiting for the bezel to arrive from Japan.

Shashi
Leoshashi is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 30th April 2018, 21:41   #373

Kindly excuse for poor quality pics, my trusted Galaxy S7's camera got shattered today morning, hence a crappy Moto cam is entrusted with the shooting jobs.

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img_20180430_095900312.jpg

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img_20180430_120236109_hdr.jpg

Decreasing the Load:
Some other development in the above mission. Bought Philips Ultinon H4 LED replacement bulbs, and while I was skeptical about the beam throw, it has exceeded my expectation, and I am more than happy with these bulbs.

The installation is pretty simple and is absolutely plug and play. The only thing which one has to take care of, is that there should be a 70mm gap behind the HL for the heatsink to sit properly. Other than that, you don't need anything. Remove the stock bulb, unscrew the heatsink from the LED, install the LED in HL, put back the dust cover and then screw the heatsink back. After connecting the ends, you are done.

What impressed me, was that the oncoming traffic suffered absolutely no glare, despite such a bright vision to the driver.

Package:

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img_20180430_162215578.jpg

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img_20180430_162237182.jpg

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img_20180430_162406834.jpg

Dimensions:

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img_20180430_162247870.jpg

Comparison with standard H4 Philips Xtreme Vision Plus

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img_20180430_162437005.jpg

Pitch dark, Parking space:

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img_20180430_185740518.jpg

Parking LEDs ON

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img_20180430_185746190.jpg

High

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img_20180430_185752885.jpg

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img_20180430_185810745.jpg

Low

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img_20180430_185815548.jpg

My SA wished to see the LEDs himself, hence we waited for dusk.

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img_20180430_191910836.jpg

MASS front space, OFF

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img_20180430_192304164.jpg

MASS front, LOW

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img_20180430_192309766.jpg

MASS front, HIGH

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img_20180430_192314037.jpg

Random Street with street light, LEDs OFF

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img_20180430_192827593_hdr.jpg

Low

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img_20180430_192851480_hdr.jpg

High

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img_20180430_192847076_hdr.jpg

Dark Street, LEDs OFF

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img_20180430_192931384_hdr.jpg

Low

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img_20180430_192918202_hdr.jpg

High

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img_20180430_192924475_hdr.jpg

Ground, LEDs OFF

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img_20180430_193321490_hdr.jpg

Low

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img_20180430_193330236_hdr.jpg

High

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img_20180430_193342717_hdr.jpg

Turned the car a bit, so that the boundary moves a bit farther ahead

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img_20180430_193405608.jpg

High

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-img_20180430_193413426_hdr.jpg

Also changed the front parking and number plate lights:

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20180420_185159.jpg

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20180420_184916.jpg

Last, but not the least, one snap of the Golden goose.

The love of my life - A 2000 Maruti 800 DX 5-Speed. EDIT: Gets export model features on Pg 27-20180427_090904.jpg

Shashi

Last edited by Leoshashi : 30th April 2018 at 21:44.
Leoshashi is offline   (20) Thanks
Old 30th April 2018, 23:31   #374

Also changed the front parking and number plate lights:

Attachment 1756736

Shashi
In this pic the car looks absolutely smashing. The lights go so well with the body and design. Adds a cool character to an already beautiful car.
Cheers to our beloved Golden Goose
Tanveer02 is online now   (5) Thanks
Old 1st May 2018, 00:26   #375

Bought Philips Ultinon H4 LED replacement bulbs, and while I was skeptical about the beam throw, it has exceeded my expectation, and I am more than happy with these bulbs.
The new white LEDs are just wow, they do improve the looks (during night time) of your car quite significantly. The white light looks so much cooler than the normal yellow colored light. But the one thing that bothers me about the white lights is that, they aren't very effective in illuminating the road when there is a light from the opposite side. How do these LED's fare in such a scenario? BTW, I am eagerly waiting to see the outcome of the rear wiper & fog light project.

Last edited by chiranjitp : 1st May 2018 at 00:33.
chiranjitp is offline   (7) Thanks